We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn is "our" place, love it, and will always returns.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Save Saved
You added Inn at Morro Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Inn is "our" place, love it, and will always returns.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've spent 8 of my last 10 birthday getaways at the Inn. The bayview rooms are fabulous. There's simply no reason NOT to return to the Inn again and again. The unique location next to the bird colony on the bay facing the dunes is soothing and scenic. It's a perfect place to slow down, relax, and watch the tides and the wildlife come and go. The peace and quiet is disturbed only by the sound of distant foghorns, the occasional barking sea lion, and calling birds.
I also can't say enough about the staff too. Our recent stay was made particularly special by the wonderful Judy Bivens, the guest services supervisor. She honored my sentimental request for a particular room location and then took it a step further by sending up a delicious fruit and cheese platter. She was efficient, funny and generous and even came over to check on us at dinner one night while we gorged on delish Morro Bay oysters. Kudos to Malcolm at the front desk and bartender Morgan too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    111
    69
    35
    18
See reviews for
68
172
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The renovated rooms are really nice and it looks like they try very hard to keep the grounds beautiful and well maintained.
Spectacular view of the bay, the hotel is right on the water.
The restaurant and bar are nice too, we only had drinks and an appetizer there, it has a great view of the bay too. The happy hour margaritas were good, so was the fried calamari.

There are a couple of drawbacks about this place.
The rooms have no AC and we could have used some at night while trying to sleep, it was too warm at night.
There is a seabird rookerie (cormorants I think) right next to the hotel, in a couple of huge trees and there is bird scat everywhere.
It's the first thing you smell when leaving the room, it looks like they try very hard to keep up with cleaning up though.
If you like to commune with nature you will love it.
We did not use the Spa or Fitness, so I cannot comment on those.

Also, the hotel is not near the Embarcadero where all the restaurants and shops are.
You have to drive there, it is about 2 miles away.
Parking is easy on Embarcadero.
There are some exceptional restaurants there.
Getting to The Rock is easy from there too.
The next time we go to Morro Bay we will stay closer to there.

Room Tip: The rooms that say " Partial Bay view" have a great view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Maybe it's because I've been coming to the Inn for the last twenty-five years, but there's just something about the place that is so dreamy and romantic, well, really all of Morro Bay is dreamy. The light on the water and the rock is so beautiful. You have to see it to appreciate it. And the Inn is the perfect place to view all of it. We last visited for our 10th wedding anniversary in mid-March and the cormorants were pair bonding in the trees next to our room. We enjoyed watching & hearing the strange sounds they make! So whole it's not a five-star hotel, it's a place to come back to again & again. Definitely rent one of the water taxis for a ride around the harbor where you can see seals, otters and various water foul up close!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked a "bay view" room through Venere.com to secure the correct room location,it was more expensive than other rooms but we wanted to secure that all important room with a view, at check in I was allocated a "partial bay view" and the option of paying an upgrade price for the room I expected, even when I produced the email that didn't mention the word "partial" but only "bay" the disagreement continued, eventually the hotel conceded and gave me the correct room, not a pleasant start to my 2 night stay. The room delivered the view and the accommodation we had hoped for, good size room with white California louver shutters, nicely fitted kitchen and seating for 3, a definite plus was the best bed I've ever slept in,the view was spectacular, the sunsets even better. The area is alive with wildlife an extra special touch was morning visits from the seals, this location will be the lasting memory of this 3 week trip to California.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at this three-star hotel in August. For those who are looking for a relaxing, serene (and, yes, bird-filled) location to take in all of the natural beauty of Morro Bay, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

The hotel is a series of buildings going uphill from the bay, so most rooms have varying degrees of a spectacular bay view. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Nothing too fancy, but the beds are particularly comfy. There is a pool area, and most rooms have balconies. The Inn at Morro Bay is on the far edge of town, right next to a bird sanctuary and a golf course. It's about a mile's walk to the downtown area, or there is a trolley that runs a regular route. Parking in the main business are was not much of an issue for us.

The bar/restaurant is located in the main building with the registration desk. The staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful. We has breakfast twice and dinner once in the restaurant. The food was quite good, and the prices were fair value. Be aware, the kitchen can get overwhelmed if a bunch of people show up for breakfast within a short time, so don't be in a hurry (of course, you should not be in a hurry, generally, in Morro Bay).

We paid around $175 per night, with a $50 per day food and beverage credit, booking on their internet website. We felt that we received very good value for this price. One caveat: the credits come in $50 vouchers which must be used in full when presented, or the balance is lost -- not a credit where the balance can be carried along. This should b e made clear on their website.

We would definitely return to the Inn at Morro Bay if we again were looking for overnight accommodations along the central coast.

Room Tip: This place is all about the views. The rooms are all nice, you pay more for better views of Morro B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a king garden room. The room was clean a little small no area in bathroom for grooming items . It would have been nice to have some extra pillows and a note pad and pen in the room.We arrived early and Christian at the front desks was able to get are room early she was wonderful great smile very friendly and accommodating perfect person for the front of the house. The food and service at the restaurant and bar were excellent. We wanted to watch a football game and the F&B. manager Leslie was kind enough to have a wonderful young women Valita take care of us she is as nice as she is pretty The grounds need some work the Jacuzzi had sand in it. The carpet in the halls had lots of stains and many areas in and around the Inn are in need painting . I spoke with Leslie the F&B manager and she shared with me that soon a remodel will be starting. We had one problem that are room was still not cleaned by three in the afternoon. I understand the that the weekend was busy we just should of been told about the delay and we would have planned are time accordingly . The young women who cleaned are room was great her name is Andromeda. There is a young women Lisa that SHOUND NOT be working in hospitality. When we arrived not one smile she look like she would rather be anywhere else but working at the INN. When we called about our room not being cleaned at three she could had cared less and told me the house keeping staff was very busy " not my problem" I want to enjoy my stay and not think about the inner working of the Inn. I complained to Leslie about Lisa . Leslie had housekeeping take care of are room right away . Bottom line we are going back for a four day stay and celebrating New Years Eve at the Inn. I would recommend this Inn as an good value for the money very good food and service the rooms are clean and the location is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I started our 10-day vacation up the coast of California at the Inn at Morro Bay. We stayed two nights and were very pleased! The service was excellent and the room we had overlooking the bay was great. Our room had a nice porch for us to sit on and watch the sunsets. The restaurant provided a nice selection for both dinner and breakfast and the wait staff was very attentive. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 400 building which overlooks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Address: 60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.