We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Morro Bay to your Saves list
Inn at Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Hilmar, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Happy with the accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The inn was full the weekend we were there but it was still quiet. Our room was immaculate and very large and comfortable. Even though our room was set back from the main lobby and restaurant we could still see the ocean in the distance. This was possible because the rooms are set up in sections and the restaurant and lobby area that sit directly in front of the ocean sit lower than the rooms that are further back. We had a large fenced in patio with a small table and chairs that was nice to sit at and enjoy the ocean air. The fence was made of wide wooden pickets so it wasn't really designed for enjoying the surrounding views but we had a nice big window in our room that provided a great view. The room had a bright and airy feel with white wooden shutters that let in plenty of light. Everything in the room from the furniture, to the contertops and slate flooring in the bathroom seemed to be recently updated and in great condition. The fireplace was nice but it was a little too warm for us to be able to enjoy it. We made the mistake of turning it on for a short period of time to check it out and we had some trouble cooling the room down afterwards. We weren't able to find a thermostat and only had a ceiling fan to try to accomplish this. We had a small refridgerator in our room and an icemaker nearby. The pool area was nicely kept and there was a hot tub as well. We only saw one family using it during our stay. The grounds are very well maintained and pretty. We ate at dinner at the inn's restaurant and the food was just OK, I had a margarita with dinner and it wasn't great either. Our server was pleasant enough but a little disorganized. We had to keep asking for things (like silverware after our food had already arrived). One nice touch was that the restaurant's bar area had live entertainment that was very good. There was a gentleman playing acoustic guitar and singing classic rock. He had a great voice and he played at just the right volume to create a nice atmosphere without detracting from the guest's ability to converse. There was a comfortable sitting area with a fireplace making it the perfect place to unwind after a tiring day of sighseeing. Overall we were quite happy with the accommodations and would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    126
    83
    42
    23
See reviews for
83
201
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here in early August 2013, 2 adults and 2 kids (8 & 12). The rooms are nice and clean, as are the bathrooms. The first floor doors open to parked cars, but if you get a room in the 500s just past the cars is the bay. Still a nice view through your window.

We stayed 2 nights and were comfortable and happy with this location. It is about 2 miles from the Embarcadero with lots of restaurants, shopping, etc. The Inn offers a restaurant with lounge and live music on the weekends. It has a wonderful view of the water. We didn't got here, but it looked nice.

The pool is nothing special, but looks nice if you'd like a dip.

We would stay here again and only complaint was the very slow check in process if you arrive at 4pm, be prepared for a line.

Room Tip: The south end of the 500 building is next to a bird rookery - lots of poop on cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

What a terrible waste, I had previously stayed at this hotel 11 years ago and had a lovely stay with a fantastic meal in great a great bar. What a difference time can make, yes room has had a make over with a nice bathroom but everything else is awful especially the bar. Half furnished with old garden furniture (glass on table chipped and dangerous). Many families turned away as no tables available even though there was an empty unused restuarant attached. After a long drive image being told there was no room available for you to have a drink or meal especially when there is nothing else around. Complained to reception staff who could not have cared less !! STAY AWAY

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Arrived on a dull grey day in August! Yes it happens especially Morro Bay Area. After exploring this lovely town and harbour which teems with bird life and friendly seals went to the hotel. We had opted for a king garden room. Because we had a 1st floor room we had a sea view also. Good large and very private balcony. Could have sat there for hours watching the different birds sweeping by. Bed large and very comfortable. Rooms are lovely and quiet. Nice sized pool although too cold this day to use. We had a meal in the restaurant which has huge panoramic views of he bay. Very friendly staff and excellent fresh cooked food. Good selection of reasonably priced wines. We also had breakfast next day. Large selection of different juices and hot dishes for breakfast. Try the eggs benedict! All in all a very good hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights over the weekend in room 402. Bed was awesome, fireplace was nice and the view was spectacular. The staff was very friendly and kind, willing to help and accommodate any need. Stayed with our six month old twins and had plenty of room for two adults, the kids and the two pack and plays. I will say bathroom counter space is non-existent. In the afternoons the room did get stuffy and we had to keep the doors open but the bay breeze was nice. Many people complain about the bird sanctuary next door. Maybe for some rooms facing it could be a problem. We did not notice them until we went to the parking lot. I plan on staying here again and highly recommend this Inn to anyone planning on staying in Morro Bay. My only regret is not staying longer.

Room Tip: I highly suggest on spending the extra money and getting a partial or full bay view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Morro Bay was our last stop on a 10 day road trip up the California Coast. We planned to stay at the Inn for 2 nights and were looking forward to a relaxing respite from being in the car. With that being said, we arrived at 3:00 pm, and they turned us away for a 4:00 pm check-in. With a 4 and a 6yr old desperate to be out of the car this news was disappointing. Anyway, the room was nicely renovated, but we had a bay view room and it was not what we expected. The room was hot and the ceiling fan was oddly placed over the desk instead of by the windows. The windows had no screens so we had to sleep with the windows literally open (someone could walk right into our room!) so we would not roast all night. No breeze from the bay and during the day the sun beat down on our room. Only a shower, no bath tub, which was not an issue for us, but if you have really small kids this could be an issue. And the final kicker, was all of the bird droppings. My husband quickly realized we needed to move our car or else it would be covered in bird droppings. Overall, the stay was Ok. We checked out a day early b/c the room was uncomfortable and we were not impressed with Morro Bay in general. The pool area is very nice. Ironically, Morro Bay seemed to have good food. Taco Temple is fabulous and definitely worth the wait. We had breakfast at Carla's Country Kitchen which was also really good but ultimately we flew the coop.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a bay view room. Stay in a suite or room around the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July to escape the unrelenting Central Valley heat. We stayed in the 400 wing near the water. I was pleasantly surprised to find the room newly renovated and found the decor very tasteful. The pluses were that the bed was very comfortable and the room was comfortably spacious. I loved the the way the shower had been redone and found the small tiles on the flooring provided a stable surface to prevent slipping. My husband felt the pressure was too low but I was okay with it. I also loved the vanity mirror lighting in the bathroom. The bathroom was nice and spacious. However, I wish there had been some counter space instead of just the small ledge under the mirror.

The gas fireplace only gave off a small flicker. We've found this is fairly common in other inns. Maybe for safety reasons they are not allowed to turn up the flames.

When we checked in, there were two hotel check in ladies sitting at desks. One was busy with a customer and the other was doing something on the computer. The one on the computer seemed really intent on whatever she was doing and didn't look up and acknowledge me for several minutes which I thought was rude. When the other lady was available, she said she would help me. We were helped by Kayla who provided a good service experience.

We only ate in the restaurant one time, for breakfast. Again, we walked in to be seated but there was no hostess to greet us and the waiters were busy or in the kitchen. Finally one of the waiters lead us to a table. I suggest having a hostess at breakfast. The food was excellent and the waiter we had provided excellent service....wish I could remember his name. We didn't eat dinner there because the menu was limited and pricy. Would have been nice to have more options/price ranges, including options for light eaters.

I hope they replace the chairs in the dining room soon. I did not care for the design and color besides that they are awkward to get in and out of.

Used the hot tub one time and enjoyed it. The temperature was good.

Keep in mind that Morro Bay is bird sanctuary and so it is very likely that you'll get bird do-do on your car while parked. Fortunately, they have a place to rinse your car.

Overall a good stay and would probably return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Address: 60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.