We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loudly Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Save Saved
You added Inn at Morro Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loudly Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The room was fine but the you could hear a natural conversation in the room next door as well as folks walking about their room above. The room next to ours was occupied by a family and the noise level was shockingly loud. Anyone walking up or down the stairs or upstairs walkway was loud enough to wake one in deep sleep.
They have remodeled the rooms which looked pleasant enough but lacked any sort of functionality. For example, the bathroom had no counter space (literally none) and the edge of the sink was canted downward so anything you set on the edge slid into the sink.
The service was lacking, we asked that our room not be made up when we left for the day but the cleaning crew ignored the 'do not disturb' sign. We called the desk to ask for a quieter room and they said they would call and let us know if there was a cancelation or not but nary a sound was heard.
The dinning room was lovely, the view romantic and relaxed, the food very nice. However, they had one poor soul serving 5 tables plus the bar, he was doing his best and was very professional but the service was frustratingly slow.
Updating the rooms and improving the aesthetics has not created a comfortable, private space for vacationers and poor customer service just further deteriorates the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tycaan, Front Office Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Hello,

It is most pleasing to hear you enjoyed our dining room and views…..Personally, after 3 years here, I have not been able to get enough of the views.

We would like to thank you for staying at the Inn and apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. Our guest’s feed-back is appreciated and indispensable.

Next time you are traveling this way please stop by. We would like another shot at giving you a great stay. There is 24-hour front desk staff that would be glad to ask noisy neighbors to keep noise levels down on your behalf.

Please contact me directly if you decide to choose us for another stay…..

Sincerely,

Tyler Anderson
Front Office Manager
Inn at Morro Bay
805-772-5651 ext 1703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    109
    64
    29
    20
See reviews for
62
159
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I love one of kind locations and this is definately a one of kind location! You can't get a view like this for the price anywhere else. This hotel is currently under renovation as it's an older property. I stayed in a newly renovated room and it was very nicely done. There are many different room configurations here since it's an older property they had to deal with the original footprint of the property and rooms. It is so peaceful and serene here, the staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnIAMB, Director of Sales at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I couldn’t agree more – Morro Bay is a great hidden gem on the coast and we are proud to offer our newly renovated hotel as the perfect location for a getaway. I am pleased that you enjoyed the new look of our rooms and that our staff exceeded your expectations in our service to you. Thank you again and we welcome the chance to host you on your next visit to town. Please feel free to contact me should you need further assistance.

Best regards,
John Lozano
Director of Sales
John.lozano@inatmorrobay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My newly fiancee and I stayed here as part of a central coast road trip. Parts of the inn was being updated so there was construction. The noise level wasn't so tolerable on a Sunday morning around 9am. The room was very spacious, however, I didn't like that the TV was behind some cabinets. In my opinion, I think it would have been better to have it wall mounted instead of hidden. When we came from Hearst Castle at night, the room was cold and freezing. We tried to turn on the fireplace, but it wasn't working. Calling concierge didn't help much because they didn't pick up their phone. Luckily, my fiance was able to find a blanket in the closet that kept us warm. I wasn't sure if it was the blanket or the bed sheets that made us itchy but we tolerated because it kept us warm and we just got engaged. I liked how the room had a small balcony overlooking morro bay. The upgrades in the bathroom were very nice. We were looking forward to the jacuzzi in the room according to what our confirmation letter said but I guess it was a trade off for the dual shower heads. Hopefully, when the construction and updating the place, it would be really nice to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tycaan, Front Office Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Congrats on the engagement!

We are glad you enjoyed the view from your patio. We are known for having sunsets that are absolutely astonishing.

After reading your review it seems most of your inconvenience could have been easily taken care of by our Guest Services department such as; Construction noise, fireplace, and outdated confirmation information. As the head of the Guest Services department, I would like to apologize and assure you these issues will be addressed.

Our room are finished being renovated and looking better than ever….no more noise! Please call me directly when booking your next reservation, as I would like a chance to make up for your last stay.

Sincerely,

Tyler Anderson
Front Office Manager
Inn at Morro Bay
805-772-5651 ext 1703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We were not happy with our visit to the Inn at Morro Bay. Although we reserved the smallest room category, we were surprised at how tiny the room actually was. The bathroom was too small for a sink, so the sink, without a counter, was placed quite near the bed. The room was clean. The worst part of the hotel was the unfriendly and snobby front desk person. She was also very strict on the check-in time; she would not permit us to check in at 2:30, even though the hotel appeared to be empty.

We would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay in Cambria at one of the many motels on Moonstone Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnIAMB, Director of Sales at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments regarding your recent stay with us. You have helped us in our continuing process of ensuring that our guests have the best possible experience while here. It is our desire to welcome you to our community with all of the excitement and gratitude that hospitality requires and I apologize that we fell short of this during check-in. I am pleased that you enjoyed the new look of our rooms and that we met your expectations of cleanliness and we are working on the counter-space issue. Please feel free to contact me should you need further assistance.

Best regards,
John Lozano
Director of Sales
John.lozano@inatmorrobay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

they are currently updating the rooms, and they are doing a nice job. I did tell the desk clerk that a shelf in the bathroom would be really helpful. There is a pedestal sink and no where to put anything. Definelty needs something
We had a peak a boo view of the bay from our balcony.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tycaan, Front Office Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed the remodel and the sneak peak of the bay view. Many other guests appreciate the fact that we have view specific rooms, but also offer rooms with a slight bay view.

In regards to the shelving……..we agree. Though, the remodel is completed, items such as extra shelving will be installed very soon.

Thank-you for the feed-back…..we hope to see you soon!

Tyler Anderson
Front Office Manager
Inn at Morro Bay
805-772-5651 ext 1703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvtravel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is an ok hotel in an incredible location; the rooms although not great are not half bad either. The beds were comfy and the room was pretty quiet, but the bathroom was crazy small especially the shower. The other big glitch is that some of the TV's are so old school that you can't access the movie channel. We actually thought there was something wrong with our remote and called the front desk, but they were like,"Sorry you just got a room with an old TV. Which is another downside to this property, I wouldn't call them too big on customer service. Still all and all it is not a bad place to hang your pjs for a night or two. If you ask for a room in the 400 building you will have some amazing views including one of the big rock. But no matter where your room is, this is an awesome location fi you enjoy a beachy rustic atmosphere.

My husband and I took an amazing walk soon after we checked in and found a fabulous restaurant on the water and basically never got back into our car till the following morning.See my review on the Bayside Cafe.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor that overlook the water are probably the best. The first floor gives you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnIAMB, Director of Sales at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I agree that we have one of the best locations in Morro Bay for beautiful views and scenery. I am pleased that you enjoyed the new look of our rooms and I am happy to report, that, with the renovation complete, all guestrooms have new flat-screen televisions. It is our aim to provide you with amazing customer service and I apologize that we fell short of this during your stay – we look forward to an opportunity in the near future to exceed your expectations in this regard. Please feel free to contact me should you need further assistance.

Best regards,
John Lozano
Director of Sales
John.lozano@inatmorrobay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nice remodeled rooms, but there are a few problems with this hotel. Asked for 1st floor, and was told, all King beds were on second floor, not good. So, we had to lug our bags up the stairs, because there is no elevator, not good. Beautiful remodel, but they need to spend some money on soundproofing the rooms. We could hear every sound from our neighbors rooms, TV, conversations, even snoring, and bathroom noises, not good. Nice remodel, but NO space for toileties, no shelves, no cabinets. I had to bring a small table from the other room, for bathroom essentials, not good. This room had nice paint, nice furniture, nice TV, beautiful bathroom tile, mirror, shower stall, shower head, and pedestal sink, but still a few problems-- that are not good. Also, had to get keys rekeyed 3 times, very inconvienent, not sure what the problem was. Nice buffett breakfast, but it was an extra cost. If these things were fixed --- this hotel would be the perfect place to stay. But not yet

Room Tip: If you want a king bed, be prepared to ask for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tycaan, Front Office Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed most of our new furnishings and updates. The remodel is finished and we are receiving great feed-back.

The issues you encountered during your stay are all ones that have been corrected or we can help prevent. Our team would most definitely enjoy a chance at giving you a better stay.

Please contact me directly when you join us for another stay…..

Sincerely,

Tyler Anderson
Front Office Manager
Inn at Morro Bay
805-772-5651 ext 1703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Address: 60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.