We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Morro Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tradewinds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Great Location in Morro Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed four nights, and used this as a homebase as a reviewer suggested. The Bed is really nice and eveything, everywhere was clean. They have a gardner that maintains all the flower pots daily, all different, with the names of each. Best dinner was the Galley for Seafood. Worst was Great American Fish Co. The Dockside was best for fish and chips. But I was told the Fish Tacos were beyond compare at the Galley. If we had eaten there twice, I would have had them. The beach was a negative for me,
They don't scrape the kelp debries, and that draws flys. So really, just a walking beach. There is a garden/kitchen shop on the left side of the main street, just past the surf shops. If you want Unique, this is the place.
This Hotel is a Easy distance to Paso Robles. Get the winery list at the chamber of commerce, this gives you times, maps, prices for tastings. Pismo Beach has a great sugar sand beach at the Pier. Cambria and Cayucos are nice and have very good Antique Shops. And the secret at Cambria is Moonstone Beach across hyw 1. Best sea food there is the Sea Chest. Opens at 5:30p. Dinner only.
I would def stay there again, Kara the manager goes out of her way to help. Cont. breakfast is passable, but the breakfast place next door, Carlas makes a Fantastic CB Hash and Eggs.
The spa deck was nice, just read and had a Brew. Stairs, no elevator, and room 111 was quiet and in the corner.
I ll be back.
Mike
Tucson

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    126
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
78
159
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We hold an annual golf tourney in Morro Bay and we used to stay at the Day's Inn. Good thing they said they were booked a couple of years ago because this place is much better. The rooms are unique, with different styles available. Also, the service was very good. The GM of the property -- Monir Ahmed -- went out of his way to let me use his computer and print some things in his office. We are now staying here for our annual trip. Also great location with walking distance to all of the best restaurants, etc. Oh, and they also have free internet access, unlike the Day's Inn!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here due to price and the fact that they had renovated the rooms. Check in was easy and the grounds were fine. If you don't mind stairs, stay upstairs, but away from the spa. We heard the motor running in our room, even though it was 2 doors down from the spa. Stay on the far side of the motel. It is much quieter and a bit more isolated. The breakfast place next door is good; try that rather than the motel's offering which is sparse. Then walk down to the waterfront. Lovely walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Pulled into this motel because it looked well cared for with flower boxes etc. The owners/managers have done a good job considering the design is old-school motel. It's very convenient with only one block to the waterfront.

Rooms appear to have been recently renovated and while not large are well designed and have all the expected amenities. The managers (owners?) were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Read the other reviews and decided to give this place a shot. Let it be said that I am not a big fan of cheaper hotels like Days Inn and Best Western as a rule. However, Morro Bay doesn't have anything above this level and so we chose the Best Western Tradewinds by the good reviews here. Ended up really loving it!
The hotel has obviously been renovated recently, with granite in the bathroom and nice half size refrigerators for the rooms. Each room comes with its own AC/Heat unit that is new and worked like a charm. It was cold, so we had the heat on a lot and it heated our room in minutes.
Probably the biggest surprise came with the bed. I am a bit of a princess and wasn't expecting much for 100$/night. But the bed was amazing! I was able to sleep comfortably and seriously contemplated stealing my pillow :)
Another fun addition to this place is the jacuzzi on the second floor. After reading other people's reviews, we brought our suits to try the jacuzzi. It was awesome, just enough room for 4 adults comfortably. The water was a perfect temperature and it was a great spot to relax and have a beer with friends.
This place is clean and comfortable, very close to everything in town and absolutely will surpass your expectations for the price. The continental breakfast was nice and don't skip out on the jacuzzi. Hint ** in case you forget your beer opener, the handles on the nightstands work great :)

  • Liked — comfort of the bed, jacuzzi, value
  • Disliked — nothing...it was great
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markm1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

Our family enjoyed a wonderful vacation at this Best Western hotel. Our room was a great deal, was clean, had helpful staff, and is very close to the ocean. They offer a discount for if you have AAA or AARP. The rooms are spacious, recently renovated with granite bathrooms/countertops, and included a refrigerator and other nice amenities. The breakfast was good and we had no complaints.

The biggest bonus for me was that this hotel has a great location and is a a quick walk to all the restaurants near the ocean front - on a side note, the restaurants have great seafood. The place was well maintained, and had nice flowers/plants out front. If you are visiting the nearby areas (Hearst Castle, Cambria, San Luis Obispo, or Paso Robles wine country) this hotel is a very good deal and a quick drive. I would recommend this hotel and will very likely go back soon.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location. Was very close to the ocean front restaurants
  • Disliked — Nothing. This was a relaxing vacation with great sightseeing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We were very pleased. We noticed that it was given good reviews so we decided to give it a try. It also was reasonably priced. We had no regrets whatsoever. My wife is extremely sensitive to cigarette smoke, and she was pleased from the moment we walked in. Then I noticed they had a refigerator, and fast wi-fi for our laptop as well. The bathrooms and shower were exceptionally clean. They had not one, but two suitcase fold out tables. And best of all, Dorns restaurant, was only a block away. We could walk there. We definitely will stay there again. We opened our bathroom window to find out we had a beautiful view of Morro Rock and the Bay. We highly recommend this hotel. If you're a couple that wants a romantic stay, you will not be dissappointed. They even have an outdoor jacuzzi on the second floor, same floor that we were on. We didn't get to use it, but it looked private and inviting. Give this place a try.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.