We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tradewinds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellsburg, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A very nice stopover. Good amenities and convenient location. Nice and friendly staff. First time using this inn, but would use again next time in town. Value was good for room and breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello Paul S,

We want to thank you very much for your review. At the Best Western Tradewinds we strive for excellence and it is always nice to know what our guests think and enjoy about their stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    144
    56
    12
    3
See reviews for
90
186
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This was a spur-of-the-moment reservation for an Aug. Friday evening in Morro Bay, CA, The room would have been a bit more than we prefer to spend on lodging but we had a Best Western Rewards certificate that we could apply to the reservation. The room was comfortable with some attractive embellishments (e.g., crown molding), a refrigerator and micro-wave. The proprietor was very friendly. The continental breakfast included cereals,small muffins, scones, waffle batter, juice and fruit. Most importantly, the coffee was fairly good.

From the motel, one could walk a short ways down a hill to the various restaurants along the bay shore. The beach, with the imposing Morro Rock at one end, is a short-drive from the motel. That particular evening was warm and clear, the surfers were out and families and friends were enjoying themselves on the sand. The sunset views of Cayucos and mountains to the north and northeast were especially scenic. All in all, Morro Bay is a fun but low key place to visit and the Best Western Tradewinds was a comfortable place to stay. Canoeing and kayaking in the secluded bay/estuary is a highly recommended activity - fun, relaxing, and scenic, with abundant bird life and marine mammals such as harbor seals.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello Bill H,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Tradewinds. We love to hear about the things our guests enjoy while they are with us. It sounds like you enjoyed everything our little town has to offer. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

On our drive up the California coast, we stopped in Morro Bay and were very pleased with this motel. In addition to comfortable and clean rooms, the motel has the advantage of being within walking distance of restaurants and shops in the town of Morro Bay. We were pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello krtex,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always like to hear what our guests liked about their visit with us. We strive for excellence and do our best to provide you with the most enjoyable accommodations possible.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I haven't stayed in a typical motel in some time. The room was small but clean. The bathroom was updated with granite surround and tile floors. Location was good, and staff was very friendly. My only problem with this place is the late time they open the office for some coffee and breakfast. Unless you are staying here a few days, most people on a stopover look for early coffee.They don't open up until 7:30. There is a coffee maker in room, but I hate those packaged creamers, and don't use these coffee pots. It is a mom and pop place, but it carries a best western name, so you expect it to be more of a hotel then motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello mittmott,

We thank you for your review and yes we are a mom and pop hotel. We are on the central coast of California in a small beach town, there are no fancy hotels here. We find that our guests usually enjoy the location, the rooms and the little things that come with it.
Thank you

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This was a beautiful motel located one block from the bay. The room was clean and comfortable with very nice furnishings and a comfy bed. The bath room was very clean which I truly appreciate! The manager was very helpful and kind and gave a great recommendation for dinner. Overall it was a truly pleasant experience and I would chose this motel again when I return to Morro Bay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Z306PWmarkt,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words. Our hotel has a lot to offer and a great location. It is so nice to hear the things that you appreciated the most like the cleanliness. We take pride in running a nice hotel for our guests.
Thank you

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were delighted to have come upon this little hotel! Our room had a beautiful view of Morro Rock, and was just a short walk away from the shops, dining and breath-taking ocean scenery. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The room was very clean and the breakfast was adequate. We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello Barbara C

We are so glad you stumbled upon us! It is always fun having new guests and finding out what they enjoyed most about their visit and stay with us. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

arrived at 5pm. Check-in was at 3:00 pm - Asked to see rooms to check out the "full ocean view" The room over looked the parking lot behind motel. room was not ready; the lady at the desk exclaimed that "in a perfect world, rooms would be ready." She did, however, after checking with the man with the accent, allow us to cancel our reservation. We went to the Sail Inn and had a REAL FULL OCEAN VIEW!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello

We are sorry that you did not want to stay with us. We are a business and take our reservations seriously, especially since they are made of people's free will, and we have cancellation periods for specific reasons. When a reservation is made it is not a negotiation process of price (since that is what you were asking for was a reduction of price, and used the housekeeping as an excuse as to why we should give you a reduced price) or a negotiation of responsibility for the reservation.
We prefer to entertain guests that want to stay with us and were very happy to let you out of your reservation for that reason. We are very happy that you ultimately enjoyed your stay in Morro Bay. Hopefully in the future such events will be avoided when making a noncancellable reservation.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Tradewinds 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.