We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tradewinds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
poway, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, friendly, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Greeted by a nice front desk lady Christine. Clean room, everything worked, beds comfy. Great location for a walk to Morro Rock, the beach and the embarcadaro. We had a good connection for the wireless internet which is a must for my son and his minecrafting on the Kindle. I would recommend this hotel to someone who wants to be close to the attractions and wants a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello mark j

Thank you very much for giving us such a nice review. We are vary glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us. Please call us directly @ (805)772-7376 for questions or to make your next reservation with us.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    124
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
76
151
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed from July 22 to July 24, 2013. Our senior rate was $117 per night. While the room was comfortable we felt it was overpriced by at least $30.00. There are other towns north of Morro Bay that have non chain hotels I would check out next time. Also, the breakfast was limited and the space was very small. There were only 3 tables each with 2 places. You needed to be there when the doors opened. However, that was not too much of a problem as the doors did not open until 7:30 AM. When I told the manager at the end of our stay I thought this was way too late to open the breakfast area his response was that's what all the motels in Morro Bay do because that's what people want. I was told if I had told them I needed breakfast earlier they would have tried to accommodate me. However, while there was a sign stating the breakfast hours the clerk failed to mention them at check in and my wife and I forgot to ask.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello rkap10,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We strive for the best and will accommodate our guests as best we can. Our breakfast hours have been the same since we have been here. It is our peak season here on the central coast and the rates are higher at all the hotels here in town. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations. Please feel free to call us at (805)772-7376.

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I always select Best Western because I can usually find one where I want to be in the city I go to and I know I won't be paying excessive prices. I like the continental breakfast that goes with the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Sharon D,
We really appreciate your feedback and are very glad to hear that you enjoy Best Western consistency. It is something people rely on and we are proud to live up to it. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Thank you

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked this hotel 2 days before driving down from SF to LA based on the more or less half way location of Morro Bay. The nice small town has three huge smoke stacks from a power plant located right in the middle of the town on the waterfront which is the reason for some quite good prices in local hotels. If you're from California you probably know this, if you're from far and were just reading hotel reviews like me it may be a surprise. We had a room facing a fence that was blocking a noisy industrial size air conditioner so even though we had no need for AC and slept with the window open the noise was always there.
Breakfast area is tiny with about 6 or 8 seating spaces but you can take the food to the room. Food was very basic - below the not very high standard in other Best Westerns. We arrived late, had dinner in the rice restaurant row near the harbour, slept and left. Compared to the other places we stayed in during our trip this was the most undistinctive and just plain average one.

Room Tip: I think it was 222 with no view and over a huge AC unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello PoleApart1,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We strive for excellence and are sorry that you were a little unsatisfied with the room you were in. We are in a tourist location however this is home for many people and the air unit was one of our neighbors. If we had known there was an issue we would have been happy to help. We hope you will give us another opportunity to meet your lodging needs.
Thank you

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARSON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly staff. The location was very close (less than a 1/4 mile) to the Embarcadero along the water front. Our room was nice and clean. The breakfast was average - oatmeal, waffles, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, boiled eggs and muffins. Good internet speed. The only minor issue was the traffic on Beach Street. We could hear the cars pass by but after a long day of sightseeing we were tired enough to fall sound asleep. We enjoyed are stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Vchurt,

We want to thank you very much for leaving us feedback about your visit with us. We appreciate the nice comments about the staff and the room. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and it is nice to know that you appreciated it. We are sorry about the traffic but it is peak season and it is hard to stop.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Kala
(805)772-7376
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel were always friendly and helpful. We got there two hours before check-in, and they worked hard to get the room ready (and so we went to lunch). Breakfast choices included no protein, only carbs (so we went out for breakfast). The hotel was good for our purposes, which was just for a place to sleep on our way from one place to another. Beds and pillows were comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello WIlliam N

Thank you for your review. It is important for us to understand from your perspective so that we can make improvements that need to be done.
If you let us know that you will be arriving early we can make arrangements to have the room ready upon arrival. Our breakfast is good and accommodates mostly everyone, however I understand wanting a little more for breakfast and Carla's right behind us is a great breakfast alternative to ours.

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very comfortable and quiet. Two blocks from waterfront, exceptional value for the rates charged. Very well run hotel and the staff is great. Would highly recommend! my second stay at this hotel and have been very pleased both times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Joseph M,
Thank you very much for letting us know that you enjoyed another stay with us. We love seeing our valued guests return. It is wonderful that you took advantage of our location and relaxing area to take a little break from the hustle and bustle of life.
We look forward to your next visit with us, please call us directly to create your next reservation at (805)772-7376.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.