We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front desk staff; breakfast choices not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tradewinds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Orange, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great front desk staff; breakfast choices not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel were always friendly and helpful. We got there two hours before check-in, and they worked hard to get the room ready (and so we went to lunch). Breakfast choices included no protein, only carbs (so we went out for breakfast). The hotel was good for our purposes, which was just for a place to sleep on our way from one place to another. Beds and pillows were comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello WIlliam N

Thank you for your review. It is important for us to understand from your perspective so that we can make improvements that need to be done.
If you let us know that you will be arriving early we can make arrangements to have the room ready upon arrival. Our breakfast is good and accommodates mostly everyone, however I understand wanting a little more for breakfast and Carla's right behind us is a great breakfast alternative to ours.

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    124
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
76
151
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very comfortable and quiet. Two blocks from waterfront, exceptional value for the rates charged. Very well run hotel and the staff is great. Would highly recommend! my second stay at this hotel and have been very pleased both times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Joseph M,
Thank you very much for letting us know that you enjoyed another stay with us. We love seeing our valued guests return. It is wonderful that you took advantage of our location and relaxing area to take a little break from the hustle and bustle of life.
We look forward to your next visit with us, please call us directly to create your next reservation at (805)772-7376.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tradewinds hotel is poor by Californian standards, our room was dark and gloomy - maroon furnishings - and the paintwork was grubby. However the bathroom was clean and the breakfast good. The spa area was filthy and clearly hadn't been used for a long time.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on an upper floor well away from the ice machine. Our room was near the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Esherbelle,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We try our best to provide a nice, clean and comfortable atmosphere for our lodging guests. The furniture was replaced a couple of weeks ago and the spa is maintained daily and used pretty frequently.
We are hoping you will give us another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations and lodging needs. Please call us directly at (805)772-7376.
Thank you

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked a back corner room, based on TA advice for a quiet room. Got the 2nd floor large corner room with 2 queen beds, which was very quiet (although no view). Room was immaculate, including a sanitary cover on the TV remote! We had to slip our reservation to the next night due to a late change of plans, and Kayla was great, helping us to avoid the cancellation penalty (we were 20 minutes past the deadline when we found out ). At checkin, Christine was outgoing and helpful, suggesting we see the elephant seals on our travel up the PCH. Hotel location is great -- easily walked downhill the 2 blocks to dinner on the waterfront at the Great American Fish Company, then back uphill for a nap. Luckily we saw the Rock at early dinner (4 pm); by 6 the fog had rolled in, completely obscuring everything. Later, in the fog, walked back down to the waterfront to see what else was around. Lots of places open and busy. Breakfast at The Tradewinds was good; yes, the dining area is tiny, with only 3 tables, but Kayla gave us trays to carry food back to our room if we wanted. We were well rested and well fed for our second day driving up the beautiful PCH.

Room Tip: Corner room upstairs and in the back was very quiet and roomy, but with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Gigi135,

We were blushing over your review of us and thank you for that. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to take in the amazingness that is the rock before the fog rolled in. It was very nice of you to mention all the things you did appreciate about our property and we hope that helps others when they are looking for lodging in our area as well. We hope you got to see the elephant seals along the way!
We look forward to your next visit with us and you can call us directly to create your next reservation at (805)772-7376.

Kala & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was very clean and had great amenities (good size refrigerator, flat screen TV, view of Morro Rock, convenient to the waterfront and to downtown) and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice also, with plenty of food, including oatmeal, hot waffles and hard boiled eggs. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello SueR44

We want to begin by thanking you for all the wonderful things you said about our hotel. Thank you!
We have also just put new furniture in our rooms so you will have to come back and see it. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit with us. We are very lucky to have such wonderful guests. Please call us directly to create your next reservation at (805)772-7376.

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacoima,ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved the location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great with a perfect view of Morro Rock. We stayed a couple of days as part of a road trip going down the coast. The only down side was that we couldn't stay longer! Can't wait to go back. Thanks for everything.♥

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello Doreen C,

We appreciate your feedback and with the information you wrote we have gathered that you had a great time and we are very happy to hear that. I think the main problem we have here is that time goes by too fast and you need more of it. We do look forward to your next visit with us and would love to create your next reservation at (805)772-7376.
Thank you

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a nice place to stay, the rooms were nice, the staff was very friendly and it's right by the harbor and restaurants.

We had reservations for two nights, but our son, who was not with us, had a heart attack the first night. We had to leave and go to the hospital the next morning. The Tradewinds refunded our second nights room charge. I suspect that most places wouldn't have done that, so why not stay at a place that is above and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello 607 BajaBob_5,

Thank you so much for writing a review about us and we hope that your son is doing well and everybody is now in the best of health. We do hope that you will come back to see us very soon. We understand that things happen and it is better to understand our guests than try to hold on to money. Please call us at (805)772-7376 to create your next reservation.
Thank you again

Kala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.