We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tradewinds to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Visalia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel. It had a great breakfast area. The room was very clean and well kept. I liked that it was quiet also. I tried their spa. It was very relaxing and I could see Morro rock from the spa. I will definately visit there again.

Room Tip: stayed upstairs and the view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    143
    55
    12
    3
See reviews for
90
184
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Because I reside in Fresno, I frequent the Central Coast. I travel a lot and have stayed in many motels, but I would have to say this is one the cleanest rooms Ive ever stayed in! They even went the extra mile by providing a "clean remote" with a solid surface front that can be completely sanitized. Often coastal properties are older and show wear from the weather and the travelers; this property has been completely remodeled. Granite lines the walls of the tub shower, as well as in the sink area. New contemporary furniture, new paint and crown molding, new fixtures, flat screen tv, great beds (each with 4 fluffy pillows) and spotless housekeeping make for a great stay. The property is one half block up from the Embarcadero, restaurants and shops. There is a jacuzzi on their sun deck and you can see Morro Rock and the ocean from there. This is a real jewel for a moderately priced motel. They provide a small continental breakfast with coffee, juice, waffles, etc. This is not the Ritz Carlton with a spa and bed turndown service, etc., etc.; however, in its class...it excels. I will return again and again! There best room rate is the internet rate. I should also mention that the check in staff were wonderful with many "thank yous" for staying at the property. This is really one great property and oh so affordable. They provide microwave and a 4 foot refrigerator for those that want to stay several days and store goodies for picnics and hikes! So you can plan a trip to the ocean and not "break the bank". It is an non-smoking and no pets facility. Parking is on site. They also have internet availability in each room and oodles of channels to choose from on the TV and very good reception. It is on Beach St so it can be a little noisy, but the new dual pane windows muffle the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side can be hot from facing the south sun; but theres a/c and fan in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I am so thankful to this hotel. We had such a bad experience with the Econo Lodge across the street and decided to try this one out. VERY pleased. Friendly staff and also the room was clean, smelt great, and was very comfortable. High Priced, but definitely worth it if you are looking for a nice place to stay. You could see the waterfront from our room! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinukala, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your feedback is important to us. We strive to meet and exceed our guests needs.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in this motel for 2 days. its a decent motel, clean room, friendly staff. Continental breakfast is not that great. just a block away from Embarcadero, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Our first time to Morro Bay and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The Best Western is located on Beach road and is maybe 100 ft. from the Embarcadero and all of the nice shops and restaurants. We checked in and were offered an upgrade to a sea view room. We decided to pay the extra $20/night. The sea view was nice (ocean and Morro Rock) however you're also looking out of the parking lot next door and some houses that partially block the view. However, we were able to see a beautiful sunset over the water from our bed the first night which was very memorable.

The room was nicely done with a large comfortable bed, refrigerator, and microwave. Amenities were fine. The breakfast in the morning was good with waffles, pastries, cereal, etc. The owners and staff were very nice and helpful. All in all, this would have been a solid 4 star rating except for the noise.

Obviously, I can't hold the owners responsible for noisy guests such as the people talking loudly in the parking lot at 6:30am or the neighbors coming in and talking loudly after 11:00 PM, but it is part of the problem. Noise just traveled through our room. Traffic on Beach street could be heard both approaching the hotel through the front door and passing through the back window. The second day, the trash truck drove down the alley at 6:00AM. Other than the noise, I'd have no problem staying here again. Because of the noise, we will look elsewhere next time we come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

It's been a couple years since our last visit. The owners seemed to remember us. This time two rooms. Again we used it as a home base. We had the comp breakfast each morning since there were four of us. It was plenty and fresh. This time was a little more noise than we remembered. But overall its a nice clean local place. You "could" walk to dinner on the Embarcadero, steep hill on the return. Its only a short street to the bay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hotel is located a block or two from the ocean and really close to lots of shopping and dining. The rooms are clean but pretty small. The owner (male) could use a little personality, very unfriendly. His wife works there too and was much more easy to deal with. I would definately recommned staying there for the price and it's great location..........

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tradewinds

Address: 225 Beach Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Tradewinds 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a centralized location, upgraded amenities and outstanding customer service at an affordable rate. Situated one block from the waterfront, the hotel boasts 24 spacious and well-appointed non-smoking rooms, featuring flat-panel televisions, cable satellite television with HBO®, and free high-speed Internet. Each morning, guests are welcome to enjoy a delicious complimentary continental breakfast before relaxing in the Jacuzzi hot tub or spending the day sightseeing. Business services available and free parking. AAA rated 3 diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tradewinds Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tradewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.