We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Yucapia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very impressed with the level of customer service. The clerk that checked me in was Michael and he was a great example of how to treat a guest. The rooms had an old fashion elegance to them and were very relaxing and comfortable. I had a great view of Morro Bay and recommend room 333. They have a wine and cheese social and that was very nice. I go up this way every year and diffinatly will be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. We look forward to providing you with another excellent experience. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    84
    46
    28
    10
See reviews for
53
132
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brea, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This place was great! We asked that there be NO fabric softener or room deodorizer in our room so we could breathe better (due to asthmatic condition) This place re-washed our sheets/pillowcases with Fragrance Free soap and our stay was WITHOUT any breathing problems like we have with other hotels rooms. Great accomodations!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M.Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with us. It was our pleasure to provide you with a Fragrance Free stay. We look forward to providing you with another enjoyable stay.
Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Best Western has always been my choice in any region. The management is welcoming and eager to provide the best of service. Rarely is there a problem. When this occurs, the management and staff have always made it right. Outstanding service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for feedback regarding your stay. We look forward to providing you with another pleasant stay the next time you are visiting our beautiful area.
Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a well run, friendly, and quiet Best Western. The building looks 1960s and rooms unusually focus on an inner courtyard. There is a nice warm spa that is pleasant to use. The staff are friendly and helpful. Sometimes the decor looks a bit tired and dated but I understand from other reviews there are improvements going on. It is centrally located and staff are knowledgeable about the area. We had a rear facing room, with a plain view because we were told it costs $30 to have a front view of the rock. Otherwise a good stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when you come to Morro Bay. Call us direct for the best rate and an ocean view room.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good quiet location just 3 blocks from waterfront at a very reasonable price. The rooms are comfortable, all of the staff were helpful, the breakfast was great, and the wine social between 5 and 7pm was relaxing. Is close to several restaurants and the town center, and a short drive to a number of points of interest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are fortunate to be in one of the best spots in town. Thank you for your feedback. Call us direct the next time your in our area for the best rate and exact room type you'll want.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

After reading all of the numerous bad reviews for this hotel, I was hesitant to book. But I figured that 20% of travelers are just miserable people who can never be satisfied or either they are trying to get free nights. This is actually unfair to the rest of us who simply want a good affordable place to stay for a while. The indoor Hydro Therapy hot tub was what convinced me to turn a blind eye to the bad reviews. I am so glad that I stayed here in a third floor ocean view room with a clear view of Morro Rock and it's ever changing colors. Since the chair at the desk was more comfortable than the ones on the small balcony, I often sat there with the sliding glass door open. I could even sleep with this door open, listening to the surf and the barking seals all night long. Morro Bay is the kind of place that just sets into one's soul and forces them to chill out. I spent a lot of time next to Morro Rock during the day, as well as watching the seals near Giovanni's. A side trip to Montana de Oro State Park was also a treat. This is a small town, but there is an Albertson's only a few blocks north to stock up on groceries and fine wines. Giovanni's also has great prepared seafood for take out. I only ate at one restaurant, which was well worth it (Tag's Dockside) This hotel only has 32 rooms, 16 on each of the upper two floors with the first floor being parking. Since I stayed in the off season, I never had to park on the street as others have said. However, if one is staying in the peak season and planning on a late arrival, then be prepared to park on the street because they don't have 32 parking spots. I personally found this arrangement to be quite charming because it felt like a private villa instead of a massive hotel. One could also use this place as home base for driving north on the Paciifc Highway up to about McWay Falls for a long day trip. I was just content to stay put near Morro Bay for three days nad then drive back north on CA 1. By the way, the staff, cleanliness, and comfort were just stellar. I also had no problem with "paper thin" walls as others have said. The marine warning alarm going off on the west side of Morro Rock every 30 seconds or so was the only noise that was slightly annoying. There is also no heater or air conditioner, so be prepared to adapt to this with the ceiling fan or blankets.. I had no problem with it. This is a very eco-friendly place, with no smoking allowed anywhere, which is just fantastic for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
The staff would like to say thank you very much for the glowing review of your stay with us. We are so fortunate to be in such a lovely area of the coast. It would be our pleasure to once again provide you with another wonderful stay the next time you visit California.

Sincerely,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located two blocks from the Embarcadero, and provides a great view of Morro Rock from the ocean view rooms. The social hour, with wine, cheese and great company is a perfect way to unwind after check in. Staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. The Jacuzzi is large and open til 10:30PM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
You said it all for us. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Be sure to get on our Repeat Guest Specials list for an even better rate.
Best regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.