We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE BUT NOISY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
YORBA LINDA, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“NICE BUT NOISY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful room with ocean view, but walls are paper thin...hard to get a good night sleep. Close enough to the beach to hear the seals bark. Beautiful décor and very clean and staff was great. I would stay again but I would bring some good earplugs. Seals were not as loud as the other guests unfortunately. Ask for third floor rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We apologize for the noise. When summer hits and we fill up it can get noisy. Come back and see us in the fall when things are quieter. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Happy Travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    84
    45
    28
    10
See reviews for
53
131
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

In our first visit to Morro Bay, we chose to stay close to the waterfront in the Best Western San Marco Inn.

The establishment is well-located close the waterfront and its attractions - a full service shopping center with fast food establishments is close by to the north-east about six blocks.

We were satisfied with our stay and the hotel amenities. They offer an afternoon cider and cheese reception and an adequate breakfast - both complimentary. The rooms are located on two floors - half with ocean views and half with inland views of some unbecoming neighbors' yards. The hotel grounds and facilities are well-kept and clean.

While this is not the spot nor hotel for enjoying your room or the nearby area, it is quite nice for an overnight stay. Consider also - with the layout of Morro Bay harbor and the waterfront, most of the establishments do NOT have a much better view or environment.

Room Tip: If your are going to spend much time in your room -- do ask for an ocean-fronting room with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We were happy to read that you enjoyed the view from your room. It's hard to beat. Our location is great for walking to excellent dining and ocean access. Come see us again.
Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Morro Bay is a charming, quiet city, especially off-season. I fell in love with the rock and managed atually to see the famous Falco Peregrine, of which the city is proud of, for a reason. We managed to get a room with a rock- view, and the sunset was astounding. Thats really the only part of the hotel that make it stand out. Otherwise very average. The daily happy-hour was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Come and see us again. We promise the rock will be here for you.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Rocked up late afternoon with a coupon which was honoured...many places don't. Unpacked then joined others in lobby for complimentary wine/cider and cheese. Generous quantities of both.....recommend the cider even though it's non alcoholic! Went for a walk down to the waterfront. What a great place. Plenty of restaurants and great views especially when the sun set. Room was good, bed and pillows ok. Breakfast next morning better than expected. Young guy in reception was genuinely welcoming. Would visit here again without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us. We hope to once again provide you with excellent accomodations and superior guest service.
Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped for a night on the way back to SoCal from San Francisco. There are 5 of us, so it seemed very small.

It was even close to morro bay shops, but I just didn't care for it too much.

Our room was very dark feeling during the day, and when we closed the curtains at night there were threadbare sections that let some light in.

I suppose it would be nicer if we didn't have our kids. The room was very very stuffy after a few hours, but too noisy to keep the slider open.

I liked the best western el rancho better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to meet your expectations. However we are in the process of upgrading all our window treatments and bedding. Nevertheless we wish you pleasant journeys.
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

What a nice, cozy place to stay. This inn had nice amenities, and was a very short walk to the waterfront. After having stayed in a lesser motel on the way up the coast, this motel was a delight with a wonderful staff, clean room and a beautiful view from our balcony. We were very pleased with the value of this motel.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are so happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Next time bring your swim suits so you can enjoy our hydrotherapy spa after a day of walking on the beach.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF_California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My dad and I took a trip to Morro Bay the week prior to Memorial Day weekend and stayed at the Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn. We had a room with a view on the third floor, something I really recommend. We spent a lot of time sitting out on the balcony enjoying the view of the ROCK as well as the Army Corps of Engineers ship dredging out the bay, which my dad really enjoyed : ) Initially there was only 1 chair on the balcony and I asked for another one and an additional chair was promptly left there for us which I really appreciated.

I found the staff at this motel very helpful and very nice in all respects. The breakfast was good, especially enjoyed the fresh waffles and the breakfast sandwiches which were a nice hot addition to the otherwise cold breakfast items. The wine and cheese from 5 to 7 was very nice also. The location of this motel is great, you just walk a block or two and you are in the midst of the Embarcadero where all the shops and restaurants are. Yes there is a bit of a hill coming back, but it isn't bad at all, gently sloping and most should be able to navigate it without problems.

There was definitely enough parking at this motel, we never had a problem. The one thing we did have a problem with was the shower in the bathroom. There was only a shower, not a tub, and the shower head gave 4 choices of shower spray, none of which were really very good for a great shower. The shower was also a bit dangerous in that the shower mat was small and didn't cover the entire shower, and when you did use it it tended to cover up the hole in the shower and cause a flood, something of a problem for a senior citizen!

Overall this is a very good place to stay, not fancy but a very nice motel with a nice staff willing to do everything they can to keep you happy. I recommend this motel to anyone looking for a place close to the Embarcadero, well within walking distance, who wants a breakfast included option with a nice wine and cheese option as well. Definitely worth the price!

Room Tip: The walls in the rooms are very thin, you can hear a lot of noise from other rooms. With this said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We were so happy to read of your pleasant stay in our beautiful little town. We will be happy to provide you with comfortable accomodations on your next trip to the Central Coast.
Sincerly,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.