We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner response”
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Morro Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Owner response”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are so happy to read of your wonderful stay with us. Thanks for appreciating the wine & cheese time...it is fun for us too! We hope to see you again on your next trip to our beautiful spot on the map.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    39
    22
    8
See reviews for
45
109
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wasco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

loved everything. The wine and cheese hour was the best :) The front desk was so nice and made us feel so comfortable. This was our first time at this best western. We plan to go back soon. hopefully we can get the same front desk again he was awsome you can tell he truly loved his job. the only complaint is i wish the wine and cheese hour was a bit longer lol. but other than that everything was great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are so happy to read of your wonderful stay with us. Thanks for appreciating the wine & cheese time...it is fun for us too! We hope to see you again on your next trip to our beautiful spot on the map.
Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel has like 7 parking lots for 20 plus rooms, kind of unfair advertising it has parking, right? First came first took is very interesting principle but in US 99% of hotels always have parking on site. Breakfast is hotel coffee and cereals, that's it. Soundproof non-existing, you hear all sounds from people in adjacent rooms and above.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We apologize for your less than satisfactory stay. However we do indeed have free covered off street parking with enough spaces for every room plus a couple extra. Our deluxe continental breakfast includes coffees,juices,milks,cold & hot cereals,hot waffles,hardboiled eggs,yogurt, muffins, danish & breads for toasting and a hot breakfast sandwich. Hopefully the next time you are in our area you will try us again. Regardless we wish you happy travels.

Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wow, is all I can say. My wife and I were traveling up the coast for Thanksgiving week. We stopped in Morro Bay and thought about camping. We looked at the hotels and there are many but this place had some third story rooms that looked right at the rock. We thought it would be too much but it was November and they gave us a great price. Free internet and wine get-together as well as breakfast in the morning we thought how could we pass it up. We are so glad we didn’t camp. We had the best room with sunset views and looking at the boats.

The room was big and had everything we needed in a hotel room. If you need 5 star hotel this may not be it but in Morro Bay where everything is older and more cultured who would be looking for 5 star snooty place. Another great thing is you can walk to everything you need.

Room Tip: Third story if you can, probably a lot more expensive in summer though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are so happy to read of your excellent stay with us. Don't forget your swim suits on your next visit, our hydrotherapy spa is wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When pulling up to the hotel I was a little concerned as it is dated, but once inside there is no evidence of the 1970s. The beds are comfortable. There is a refrigerator and microwave. I particularly like the wall separating the sleeping area from the bathroom which provides a nice privacy screen. Some of the rooms have views of Morro Rock. Breakfast is adequate. Their waffle maker makes 4 small waffles which is nice for those not wanting a large waffle. Their waffle toppings are limited as is their cereal choices. The parking lot is very tight for those with larger vehicles. The hotel is within walking distance to the boardwalk and Main Street. It is a great overnight stopping point for those heading to Hearst Castle from Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We also have complimentary wine,sparkling cider and cheese and crackers every evening from 5 to 7 pm. We look forward to providing you with another pleasant stay on your next trip to the Central Coast.

Happy travels,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Every year my wife and I go up to Morro Bay for her birthday and stay at the San Marcos Inn. Over the years we've tried some of the other hotels in town but you cant beat the San Marcos Inn for location and price. The Hotel staff are more than helpful and are happy to serve you. Three story bldg. with inside corridors and an elevator, also an inside large hot tub with a nice view. Great bay view rooms each with there own little balcony or at a lower price the city side rooms with there own baccony's. Wine cheese and crackers every afternoon at 5:00PM in the lobby. Just one block to the embarkadaro with enough shops and resturants to satisfy everyone. Be sure to visit the bakery on the east side of the street for some great and fresh pastries to take back to your room for a little snack. My only complaint is that they don't serve breakfast until 7:30 AM. Just minutes to Morro Bay golf course (the poor mans pebble beach) and to Verg's Landing for some deep sea fishing. Be sure to check out on your computer "things to do in Morro Bay" before you come because I can't list everything.

Room Tip: Bay side room's more expensive than city side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We love to hear from repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how much you enjoy all Morro Bay and we have to offer.

Pleasant journeys,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place to stay, beautiful accomodations, 2 blocks from south side of Embarcadero. Luxurious bed. Really enjoyed my 1 night stay here. Beautifully tiled large hydrotherapy spa, about the side of a mini-swimming pool I had all to myself. Have a good complimentary breakfast - hard boiled eggs, waffles, pastries, etc. Would have liked the ocean view,but it was $30 more. Rooms are interior corridors on 2nd and 3rd stories with open atrium between. Carports are on ground floor. This is a great place to stay and affordable. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra $30 for ocean view, it's worth it. Motel is within easy walking dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. We look forward to seeing you again.

Pleasant journeys,
Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.