We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Apple Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I wanted to enjoy Morro Bay without spending a lot of money. This Best Western wasn't on the beach but it was very clean, the breakfast was good, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts on our hotel and staff. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    132
    56
    15
    13
See reviews for
112
189
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taft, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great Motel, great people. My wife and I are looking forward to a return trip very soon, would recommend it to everyone. The motel is close to everything we enjoy including fishing, antique stores and great restaurant's. The motel will give you a list of "Pet Friendly Restaurant's.

Bill N.

Room Tip: If you take your pet, ask for a room with two queen beds. We were in room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If your sole interest is being close to the ocean - then this is great. You can see the ocean from the parking lot - right across the Pacific Coast Highway. The continental breakfast includes waffles, hard-boiled eggs and decent coffee.
The room is quite spartan. The TV is barely a 19" screen, the beds are crammed into the small space and you can just walk between them. The bathroom is small, has NO fan and a COLD tile floor. Plus the shower seems to leak creating a lovely puddle every time someone uses it. (Maybe just my room) The no fan thing is an issue because a great deal of steam is created and the only solution is to open the window behind the toilet and let in the fairly cold air. This was in early March - so maybe in the summer it works...
All this would be tolerable if it was a bargain price - but for OVER $100 per night...

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100 range are perpendicular to the beach. Rooms in the 200 range are parallel so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not find our hotel met your expectations. We are confused though about the TV problem since we have new flat screen 32" TVs in every room, with a DVD player. We wish that you would have brought all the issues that you were having to our attention while you were here so that we could have been able to try and solve any problems. We hope that you will come and stay with us again and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just a quick birthday getaway. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good (waffles, sausage, cold/hot cereal, toast). Water pressure and heat were great. Room was nice and clean. The only issue we had was that the walls were a bit thin and the adjoining rooms didn't help--doors don't blocks out sound as well as walls, duh. It also didn't help that the people next door kept getting late phone calls on loud ringers. Overall, hotel=good; other guests=poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our service and our breakfast and we hope that you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

loved this little motel in Morro Bay, great dog welcoming motel, they did not distain our pooch and had a welcome basket for him...close to beach (driving) and has great restaurants on the embarcadero.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for talking the time to share all your positive thoughts. We strive to make all our guests happy as well as their family (pets)....Please remember us again if you come to visit Morro Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had never taken our dog on a trip before. This was a very good experience. The staff was helpful and the room was clean. It has a nice area of grass for the dogs and nice seating area for their owners. It was less expensive than some of the other hotels in the area. The beach is right across the street and it is walking distance to a few great restaurants and the grocery store.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff is grateful for your wonderful comment. We hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

On a rambling 5 day road trip w/ no particular destination in mind, my girlfriend and I found ourselves in Morro Bay w/ her dog. A few phone calls later we had a room on a rainy Thursday night at the BW El Rancho. The property is dog friendly and they pamper your pet w/ a welcome basket of treats and assorted items useful for your stay. There is plenty of lawn space and area where your dog can play or go for a walk. The room was nicely appointed w/ everything one needs for an overnight stay. This was my first trip w/ a dog and in the past I've stayed in hotels where when I've gotten to my room there's a strong odor of "pet" permeating the room. Not here. Our room, although designated for pets, smelled fresh and clean…and the room was very clean. I don't remember exactly what we paid but it was very reasonable. The also served a somewhat limited, but adequate, continental breakfast and w/ a couple of dog biscuits for our pooch…it was perfect.

Room Tip: There's a pool available for when the weather is warm and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for stopping to stay with us on your trip! We always love having four legged visitors too! We hope that you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary hot breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios with BBQ grills for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking. Pets are also welcome at this Morro Bay hotel, for a small fee of $12.00 per pet per night, providing the hotel has prior notification of the pet's arrival as only a portion of the rooms are pet friendly.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State Beach. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.