We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great location or atmosphere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a great location or atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This motel is far from the cute downtown area. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're wanting to be near ocean front restaurants and the shopping part of downtown Morro Bay. This is one of the motels that has parking spots right in front of the rooms. The room was a little stuffy but there was no AC to put on and since cars were basically facing our room it felt uncomfortable to open the window at night. There were motorcyclists that were leaving and coming at all hours of the night which made our stay less than relaxing. I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Good luck on all your future travels.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    118
    52
    14
    12
See reviews for
103
171
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a stop and go hotel. Not a stay and vacation hotel. Overall clean. You can park in front of your room but definitely nothing fancy. Breakfast was crowded and uncomfortable. Okay for a pit stop but that is all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We would like to thank you for staying at our place and wish you safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Take a step back in time to when customer service is genuine and warm: that's what it's like staying at the BW El Rancho. This property has incredible decor, is immaculately maintained, and has friendly and gracious staff. This was our best stay in over 50 nights on the road this year, and we definitely will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you Dan for the compliments on our property. We take great pride in keeping our grounds looking nice for our guests to enjoy! We hope that you have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The room was very clean & comfortable. Very quiet even being next to the highway. Love the free Wi-Fi. Just a short drive to Cambria, Caycuos or many local wineries. The off season was a great time to visit the central coast for a relaxing & romantic weekend with my husband. Close to all the beached

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Yolanda, we are glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us! We do have lots of great activities around us and lots of good food and wine nearby. We hope that you have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risch, Switzerland
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Upon arriving, we were told by the young receptionst that she had only smoking rooms left. As it was a Saturday night, our chances of getting a decent rooms elsewhere were not the best, so we accepted clinching our teeth. It was in fact almost unbearable.
We asked the girl about dining options abd the necessity if making reservations ahead. She replied that reservations were not necessary. When we insisted, she said she was not allowed to reserve a table. Sure enough it was very difficult to get a table.
Breakfast was complimentary, but quality questionable. The tea smelt like coffee. This happebs when you use the same pot for coffee and tea (i.e. hot water).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Christina, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish that you would have let us know that the room was unbearable and we would have been happy to let you out of the reservation. There are also lots of dining options in Morro Bay and we are sorry that you did not get the experience you were hoping to have. We wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our Thanksgiving weekend vacation in Morro Bay. The property is fairly old, but well-maintained. Service was very friendly and welcoming - they even called us the night we arrived to let us know how to check in after they closed the lobby, since we were running late getting there. It's pet-friendly, and they still have rooms for smokers (an ever-rarer thing with hotels and motels these days). They've put in nice plantings around the property, and it had a pleasant little recreation area, with a swimming pool, out front.

The room was a bit cramped, but the bed was comfortable and the shower had great pressure and volume (although the temperature could vary a bit). We didn't sample the breakfast (other than coffee for me), but it looked like pretty typical fare for a property of this class.

Located on a frontage road along Highway 1 through Morro Bay, the freeway noise wasn't too loud for us, even with the window cracked open for ventilation. It's not right downtown, so getting into and out of the parking lot was easy, and it made a good base for our explorations around Morro Bay and SLO county. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and will likely return the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Matt we are glad that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving with us! We hope to see you again soon. Have a happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I liked this hotel, it is small and initimate and the people working there are vry nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is very good and home-like. they have hundreds of DVds you can borrow for the night and the area is really pretty right next to Morro Bay rock, surfers delight! i strongly recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for all your kind words. We pride ourself on all the EXTRAS we offer and it is wonderful you were able to enjoy them... Please come and visit again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary hot breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios with BBQ grills for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking. Pets are also welcome at this Morro Bay hotel, for a small fee of $12.00 per pet per night, providing the hotel has prior notification of the pet's arrival as only a portion of the rooms are pet friendly.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State Beach. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.