We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
San Diego, California
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at this pet friendly motel for 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay and got great value.

We had our little terrier with us and needed a pet friendly motel to stay at. We checked many hotels/motels in the area for costs and this was by far the best deal so we took it. We were bit concerned though that at the lower cost, the place wouldn't be up to par but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff there was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but very clean, had a pet bed and pet treats for our dog along with a list of all the restaurants in the area that allow dogs which was extremely helpful. The room had all the amenities you would expect, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, DVD player hair dryer, coffee and coffee maker, alarm clock, A shower stall (not a tub/shower) with the best water pressure we have ever had in a motel room. At the office, they have many dozens of movie DVD's to check out and watch. They had a standard continental breakfast every morning but the eating area is very small and crowded. They have a swimming pool but the water was not heated therefore, not usable. They have a big grassy area to take your pet to go potty and plastic bags for you to use to pick up after your pet.

Overall, we were vey happy staying here, got great value and would definitely do so again if in the Morro Bay area. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always like having four-legged visitors as well two! If your were looking for a tub, they are available in our double queen rooms. Please just let us know next time you visit and we will book for you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    100
    39
    11
    9
See reviews for
82
146
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

clean comfortable room at an affordable price. breakfast was minimal with weak coffee. the location was great, ocean view. grounds well kept. dinning area was cramped. I will continue to stay at Best western Hotels, always clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Best Western El Rancho. We are working on a better brew of coffee! One of the great features of our grounds is the many areas to sit outside to eat. We have trays available to take your breakfast outside to enjoy on one of the patios. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We usually look to Best Western first when searching for motor inns on our leisure travel. We've learned that the consistency that we find in almost all BWs is important. And since most are pet-friendly, we've noted those that fit our travel needs. This is the 4th stay at this BW and won't likely be the last unless our travels don't take us to Morro Bay. Each member of the staff we've met has been overly friendly and helpful. The property is not the newest of the BWs, but has clearly had a careful hand in refurbishment. The décor is in keeping with the coastal setting, and the lobby seasonal and holiday-specific decorations (very cool Halloween on this stay) are really cute, with even an album with the collection of those decorations in the lobby. It's a small, one-story facility well located near the US101. Highway noise may bother some that are particularly sensitive, but never has been a problem for us. The pet-friendly rooms have a sweet little greeting for the pets, complete with a bed-throw if four-legs uses the bed, information on local veterinarians, dog-parks, and current pet events (oh and forgot the bag of doggie biscuits. There are certainly fancier BWs, but this is a realy great price value and very clean, friendly, and bright.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope that your four-legged friend had a good time as well. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Most of the accommodation in Morro Bay area are very basic and this Best Western is no exception. We had a king bed room and it was reasonably clean and cozy. The room wasn't terribly huge but should be spacious enough for most. The bed was comfortable but the pillows lacked support. Bathroom is definitely on the small size. Even with just a shower and a sink with very little counter space, there wasn't a lot of room to move around.

Front desk staff was friendly. The breakfast room is fairly small but you can sit outside if weather is pleasant. The motel is directly facing the highway so don't expect a fantastic view. Beach access and the rock is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We have done our best to work with the building as it was built in the 50's .. We try to create a real home away from home atmosphere. Thank you for taking time to review our property. Good luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I visited my daughters and their families which it had been a number of years since seeing them. The weather was perfect and my accomodations made me feel right at home. Seeing and being with them was beyond words. The only disappoitments: one flight was cancelled and quickly replaced with a new flight and one flight was late arriving which caused me to miss the connection, but a new flight brought me home the next day. It was indeed.. a trip to Heaven.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are always thrilled to hear about our satisfied guests. Please come and visit again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Cute décor, decorations and outstanding staff. Upon check in the young lady could not have been more helpful or patient. The rooms looks very nice and were clean. This year the pool had water in it however we were told the heater was not working. Also, if you want a bathtub you are out of luck. These rooms only have showers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our little home away from home. We appreciate your feedback. We would however like to suggest that on your next trip you might consider booking one of our rooms with two queen beds they do have tubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We always enjoy staying at this hotel. It is not right downtown in Morro Bay but we see that as an advantage in that we are away from most of the other tourists. There is a great access to the ocean which is just a short drive across the highway--usually the beach is deserted. The staff is especially friendly and the hotel was nicely decorated for Halloween. There are lots of seats outside to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are always thankful for our many return guests. Please come and visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary hot breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios with BBQ grills for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking. Pets are also welcome at this Morro Bay hotel, for a small fee of $12.00 per pet per night, providing the hotel has prior notification of the pet's arrival as only a portion of the rooms are pet friendly.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State Beach. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.