We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Cozy room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location. Cozy room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Most of the accommodation in Morro Bay area are very basic and this Best Western is no exception. We had a king bed room and it was reasonably clean and cozy. The room wasn't terribly huge but should be spacious enough for most. The bed was comfortable but the pillows lacked support. Bathroom is definitely on the small size. Even with just a shower and a sink with very little counter space, there wasn't a lot of room to move around.

Front desk staff was friendly. The breakfast room is fairly small but you can sit outside if weather is pleasant. The motel is directly facing the highway so don't expect a fantastic view. Beach access and the rock is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We have done our best to work with the building as it was built in the 50's .. We try to create a real home away from home atmosphere. Thank you for taking time to review our property. Good luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    104
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
86
153
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I visited my daughters and their families which it had been a number of years since seeing them. The weather was perfect and my accomodations made me feel right at home. Seeing and being with them was beyond words. The only disappoitments: one flight was cancelled and quickly replaced with a new flight and one flight was late arriving which caused me to miss the connection, but a new flight brought me home the next day. It was indeed.. a trip to Heaven.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are always thrilled to hear about our satisfied guests. Please come and visit again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Cute décor, decorations and outstanding staff. Upon check in the young lady could not have been more helpful or patient. The rooms looks very nice and were clean. This year the pool had water in it however we were told the heater was not working. Also, if you want a bathtub you are out of luck. These rooms only have showers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our little home away from home. We appreciate your feedback. We would however like to suggest that on your next trip you might consider booking one of our rooms with two queen beds they do have tubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We always enjoy staying at this hotel. It is not right downtown in Morro Bay but we see that as an advantage in that we are away from most of the other tourists. There is a great access to the ocean which is just a short drive across the highway--usually the beach is deserted. The staff is especially friendly and the hotel was nicely decorated for Halloween. There are lots of seats outside to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are always thankful for our many return guests. Please come and visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I thought the price of this Motel was a little over priced. The photos lead you to believe its located close to the rock, there is actually a busy freeway in between. On check in there was a mix up and a smokers room had been booked. Walking into the room the smell of smoke was so strong it was impossible to breath. The lady was helpful enough to come in and spray the room, it did nothing to take the smell away. I did ask if we could be moved to another room and there apprantley this could not be done. We did not bring in any luggage as the smell would of gotten into all our suitcases. Beds were comfy but smelly. I don't know why windows are not left open all day until next person checks in. We are smokers (but never book a smokers room) even so it was so uncomfortable, couldn't imagine if a non-smoker booked this room by mistake as we did. Very easy mistake to be made, it's not easily visible on the site we booked through. The out door area was nice and we spent as much time as possible sitting out there to air out the room. There was a mix up with the price of the room, apparently the hotel or site we used to book the room are not responsible for this and we just have to wear the extra cost, uncanny how no one is responsible. Wifi offered but did not work all night until the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We did look into your Expedia reservation and it does state on the reservation that you ordered a smoking room. We researched the Expedia site about the false information about our location. We could not find any pictures that showed Morro rock except in the distance behind our pool. Perhaps you were looking at another Best Western hotel in town? As for the problem with the price difference, Expedia has on its reservations the rate of the room and the tax amount as "unknown". The difference that I believe you are referring to is the tax amount. The front desk clerk that sprayed your room said that you seemed satisfied with the result of the spray and we were not aware that there were any further issues. We wish you safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabbeke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice room with spacious bathroom and shower. Parking in front of room. Small breakfast are but with seating outside. Breakfast ok. Beach is only 5 minutes away: quiet beach with view on Morro Rock. Village also near and worth visiting for cosy houses on beach front.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your time in Morro Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When I researched this hotel, I actually thought it was much closer to the water and the rock. Given that it was the offseason and we arrived rather late in the day for our one night stay (we were cruising the PCH from San Francisco to L.A.), there wasn't much going on in the sleepy little town.

The ladies in the office were very friendly and helpful. My husband enjoyed the heated pool as a refreshing treat at the end of a long day of driving. The room was no frills. I was surprised that there was no a/c. It was OK in September, but I could see it possibly being too warm in summer. The shower lost water pressure & heat briefly when I was in it (reminiscent of my years as a summer camp counselor). We also had bought some cookies at the local bakery after dinner, thinking we would take them along as we continued our journey the next day, but a lovely trail of sugar ants coming from around the pipe under the sink made a trail along the baseboard and up on top of the dresser/TV stand to devour them overnight. Breakfast in the morning was a bit sparse.

Not a bad stay. It was comfy and met our needs. Just not what we'd expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary hot breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios with BBQ grills for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking. Pets are also welcome at this Morro Bay hotel, for a small fee of $12.00 per pet per night, providing the hotel has prior notification of the pet's arrival as only a portion of the rooms are pet friendly.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State Beach. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.