We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Boulevard, California
1 review
“Very Clean, Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very clean rooms. Lots of amenities and towels available (definitely no shortages). Breakfast was a clean, cute, cozy little corner. It was kept neat and clean and the food was kept full. The pool area was clean and neat. The pool was actually heated, unlike so many hotel pools that are heated only in name. As for parking, it would have been nice if visitors stuck to parking in front of their rooms, because sometimes it was difficult to find a nearby parking spot. We had a problem with an adjoining room and it was handled very quickly and satisfactorily. We were told that the beds were queen size, but I think that they were only full size.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful compliments! We are happy that you enjoyed the property, breakfast, pool, and staff. Unfortuately we cannot change where other guests choose to park. We are glad that our staff was able to resolve the problem with the neighboring room quickly to your satisfaction. We hope that you will stay with us again during your future stays in Morro Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    118
    52
    14
    12
See reviews for
103
171
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

For the price we paid and the reputation of Best Western's as a whole, this was a big disappointment. The staff was great and the room clean and with updated amenities...However, the room was very small. Not even enough floor space for our belongings. We had to lay on the bed as the table and chairs were crammed up against the window. To sit at them we would have to pull the table out from the wall and window which would block access to the front door. Second negative was the lack of air conditioning. This is July and in spite of the location "near" the ocean, it was too hot and stuffy for just the ceiling fan....At these prices, there should be A/C...Freeway noise was also a negative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We apologize that you were disappointed with the size of our rooms and the lack of air conditioning. We are happy that your room was clean and that you enjoyed our staff. Unfortunately, we cannot change the size of our rooms. We hope that you enjoy all of your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Be aware that there are three different Best Westerns in Morro Bay-we found this out by trying to check in to the wrong one first.

The El Rancho is a classic motel along Route 1. Our room was immaculate and comfortable, with nice beds, a good shower, all the requisite toiletries, and a large TV. The large assortment of free DVDs are a very nice touch. No AC is not a problem, since Morro Bay gets coastal fog and is quite chilly at night-the ceiling fan cools the room down very quickly.

Unlike other reviewers, I thought the breakfast very average-yes, you can make your own waffles, but there weren't many healthier options. The fresh fruit was limited to some tasteless apples (it would be nice, especially in the summertime, to have something better!) the scrambled eggs were almost inedible, and the pastries were the mass-produced supermarket type. (However, other people seemed to be happily eating them).

I found the people at the front desk helpful and had no problem with them.

Pool is pretty small, mostly for kids (it's usually too foggy to want to swim anyway!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the clean comfortable room, large flat-screen TV, and the complimentary DVDs. We are surprised that you were disappointed with our breakfast offerings and the size of our pool. We hope that you enjoy all of your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Well let's start with the good. Rooms are clean, mattress and pillows good, shower has great water pressure. Now for the bad. Upon arriving, while my husband checked in I walked around the corner to check out the breakfast bar area as many of the reviews commented on the great breakfast. An older women who I am not sure was the manager or assigned to make your stay miserable came out from behind the counter and stood at the breakfast area stalking me as if I was going to steal something. We were told the room was not ready and to come back at 3:00. Not a problem. We asked if a king room was available and told no even though the website said there were king rooms available. We came back and checked in but the room was very small. There were no chairs outside the room to enjoy the view even though the view is something they brag about on their website. I could not enjoy the fresh ocean air as there is a Mexican restaurant in the same lot as the hotel so all I could smell from early morning until late at night was greasy food. Not something I look forward to at the ocean. The next morning we checked the website and there were king rooms available but the staff continued to lie to us while trying to book a king room right in front of us for quite a lot more. I felt sorry for those people who booked that terrible room for twice as much as we paid. Breakfast was only mediocre and the muffins were so stale they crumbled in my hand. There was a very small chafing dish with powered eggs and greasy sausage. The whole time that women who has some position there was stalking everyone being rude and unfriendly. To say the least we checked out, went to the Masterpiece hotel where we were treated kindly, and given a beautiful suite for the same price that little room was costing. We had a balcony, fireplace, great breakfast, and friendly staff. Skip the El Rancho-it's El-terrible!

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are glad that you enjoed the comfortable bed and pillows in your clean room. We apologize that you felt you were being "stalked" and "lied to" - we do not stalk our guests and we would never lie to them. The outdoor seating areas are not in front of the rooms - they are in the yard on one of several furnished patios. It is unfortunate that you felt we were lying to you aout not having a King bedded room available as we honestly did not have it available.

Our goal is to have happy guests - we apologize that we missed the mark during your stay. We are happy that you found other accommodations that better suited your needs. We hope that you thoroughly enjoyed the rest of your stay in Morro Bay, even though it was not with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel was very clean, spotless in fact! We left early in the morning before the office openened so we didn't get a chance to eat our complementary breakfast, so I can't review that.
Location is very close to downtown Morro Bay.
No view from our room (we were next to the office).
No Air Conditioning, but we didn't miss it while we where there as the night was cool, but this may be a factor during the summertime as I would not be comfortable leaving a window open for ventilation/cool air. The room did have a ceiling fan and a wall heater.
There is a binder with everything you need to know, and it is full of all sorts of useful informaiton, very handy.
As we were only there one night, we didn't log into the the internet, so I can review that either. We stayed in a true non-smoking room, which was clean smelling and free from any smokey smell.

Bottom line, very clean hotel. Great for a one night stop over on your way up or down the coast. This is a motel, so you should keep your expectations in line with that.
We would stay their again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy that you enjooyed your stay with us. We are very happy that you liked the cleanliness of our motel. We hope that you will join us for breakfast next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

You can't go wrong with this hotel -- the view of the ocean is fabulous, the hotel staff is remarkably attentive and polite, the rooms were sparkling clean, the collection of DVDs available in the lobby to select from is surprising...but on top of all that, the breakfasts are a big bonus! You can make your own waffles! How great is that! There are also scrambled eggs, sausage, a couple of juices, hard boiled eggs, and toast. So what if you're off and running a few minutes late because you lingered over the waffle, but that's what vacations are about, right?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come enjoy our clean rooms, large DVD selection, and wonderful breakfast next time you are in Morro Bay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

A good motel for a stopover in Morro Bay while driving up the Pacific Coast. Room not very big but well equipped with an excellent shower and comfortable bed. Good breakfast with a variety of items.Friendly host who gave good advice on local restaurants etc. A little on the expensive side but that was to be expected, especially so as Memorial Weekend was imminent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed te comfortable bed, good shower, great breakfast, and our helpful desk clerk during your stopover with us. We hope that you stay with us again if you are ever in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary hot breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios with BBQ grills for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking. Pets are also welcome at this Morro Bay hotel, for a small fee of $12.00 per pet per night, providing the hotel has prior notification of the pet's arrival as only a portion of the rooms are pet friendly.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State Beach. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.