We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best In Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is the 'gem' for customer service in the Best Western chain. The property is always clean, the breakfast is amazing, and the view is great! Another bonus is Blue Ray Players in the room and a selection of DVD's that can be borrowed from the front desk. This is the best location to stay at in Morro Bay, and you won't be disappointed. Oh, and the rates are great as well!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank You for your feedback. Wea re happy that you enjoy our clean property, deluxe continental breakfast, and view from the property when you stay with us. You must have been lucky enough to stay in one of our few rooms with BluRay/DVD players - good for you! - though all rooms do have a DVD player. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    132
    56
    15
    13
See reviews for
112
189
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The El Rancho is our go-to hotel when we want to escape for a few days. We've been visiting this hotel for years and the staff has always been friendly and helpful. We really like the updates they have given the rooms. Our well-behaved dog has always been welcome and they even left a doggie welcome basket in our room when we arrived. The off-leash dog beach is nearby and the staff provides a list of dog-friendly restaurants. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of our property. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your many stays with us and the many new upgrades to the rooms and breakfast. We hope to welcome you and your dog very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great manicured property, clean rooms, wonderful and helpful staff......After many years traveling and one who enjoys hot and 'full' water showers, this place is in my top three.
wonderful, stayed there longer than I should have but it was SUPER. Rooms are a little old, but the cleanliness makes up for any cons. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, no traffic noise, no distractions.......In the warmer days, they have a pool and a picnic area with BBQ pit.
continental bkfst was waffles, sausage, eggs, pastries, juices et al.......do not underestimate...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the clean rooms, great water in the shower, and our helpful staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The owners of this hotel are quite obviously proud of their property, and it shows! There may be fancier places to stay, but I love the "old school" feeling of this road-trip style hotel in Morro Bay. Friendly people (especially Sarah & Colleen!), they allow well-behaved pets - which is even fun for those of us that love dogs, but don't have one. The grounds have lovely plants & roses, the breakfast area is immaculate and the rooms are well-kept and have recent upgrades and nice amenities. Easy to get to, great location, very reasonable rates and associated with Best Western's rewards program - what's not to love?!? We'll be back! ~SHE

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our recent upgrades and our well-tended flowers. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your many stays with us. We look forward to accommodating you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We came away saying how friendly the place felt. We came at Christmas time and it was quaintly decorated. While not in town, it is right along the highway which was welcomed, and it was easy to find. The room was not grand, but in line with the price and comfortable. Nicer TV than we have at home.

Atop a piece of furniture was a small dog bed and other dog supplies, it made us miss our cats who stayed home.

Should we visit Morro Bay again, we would plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for giving your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our Christmas decorations and the flat screen TV. We hope that you will stay with us again - and bring your cats with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of a 4 day trip. We have stayed in Morro Bay many times, but this was a 1st stay at this location. I must note that is motel is NOT near the embarcadero, and is north of downtown. That being said, it's a nice location, and the beach is just west. Check-in went smoothly and the clerk was nice. Our room was small, but clean and it looked like it had been refurbished recently. The bathroom was an odd shape, with only a shower-no tub. And I saw some hairs that hadn't belonged to us-haha. That is a BIG pet-peeve of mine, so have to take some points off for that. Over all though, one of the best stays we have had in Morro Bay. Sorry to say, most others are run down and just plan ratty!!

Room Tip: The breakfast is nothing to speak of, but lots of morning places to eat in Morro Bay, and a supermar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were disappointed to see that our breakfast did not meet your expectations as we have recently added several new items. Thank you for pointing out the hairs left behind - we will definitely be holding training sessions with our housekeepers to ensure that they are properly cleaning the rooms. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in Morro Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

we came through morro bay in April 2012 on a road trip with our kids (aged 10 and 12 at the time).
it was a bit chilly (we aren't really outdoorsy folk) so after walking around the beach for a bit we just wanted to chill out after driving all day. there didn't seem like there was too much to do in morro bay itself (other than going to ooh and aah at the "rock" for a while!)

The kids loved the pool!
we thought it would be too cold (the air temperature was!) but the pool was like a BATH!

the motel is really lovely - just what you see when you watch movies!
a lot of people had dogs - but you wouldn't know this as we didn't see one dog hair in our room, and no dog smell - they must do a really good job clearing up after them!
the rooms are very clean and look refurbished, and it was a bonus that the kids could pick a complimentary dvd to watch in the evening.
hotel easy driving distance from shops and the "rock"
if we ever come on a road trip to california again, i would love to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you come stay with us again to enjoy our pool and DVDs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary hot breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios with BBQ grills for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking. Pets are also welcome at this Morro Bay hotel, for a small fee of $12.00 per pet per night, providing the hotel has prior notification of the pet's arrival as only a portion of the rooms are pet friendly.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State Beach. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.