We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN El Rancho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We are never disappointed with this hotel and stay there about every three months. The staff are especially friendly. It is a short drive to a beach which is usually deserted--just across the HW101. We used to switch hotels every tine we visited Morro Bay but now stay at the El Rancho every time. We enjoy sitting outside and eating our breakfast by the pool. Especially good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoy staying with us when in Morro Bay. It is wonderful that you enjoy breakfast by the pool and the close beach access. Thank you for making us your go-to hotel in Morro Bay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    95
    39
    11
    9
See reviews for
81
140
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We have stayed in this motel several times. Since our previous stay, the motel has had a facelift and is even nicer than before. It is especially dog friendly, with a welcome basket including a towel for wiping sandy paws and a sheet to cover the lovely, white duvet on the bed, so the dog is welcome on the bed and a list of dog friendly eating establishments. A special touch, especially appreciated by people traveling with their dog.
The carpet seemed new and the room was spotless. My husband was enthusiastic about the hot breakfast offered and that helped us get on the road faster.
Kudos to management and staff for creating an inviting, clean and secure environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our recent changes. We are so happy that you enjoyed our pet amenities, new carpet, and deluxe continental breakfast with three hot items. We hope that you will stay with us again as we continue to upgrade our property any way we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This was the last stay of a 10 day trip from Maine to California and was definitely a highlight. We have 2 beloved mini-schnauzers and were really bowled over by the personalization in the room for our pets. The accommodations were great, the staff exceedingly friendly and welcoming of pets first rate. Some simple regulations were nicely conveyed for the consideration of other guests who do not have pets or prefer to avoid pets altogether. I appreciated this a lot because I think it’s really important for pet lovers and non-pet lovers to be able to have a great stay at a motel. The location was great and we were able to do some hiking, check out a fantastic beach, the incredible Morro Rock and an excellent seafood restaurant right on the water – all within an overnight stay. I would not consider another place the next time we come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the central building have views of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us while in Morro Bay. We are very happy that you and your two mini-schnauzers enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you and your pets again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed there for three days. Grounds and rooms very clean and the entire place is well maintained. We slept well and our neighbors were as polite and quiet as could be.

Really added to our pleasure on our long weekend!

Room Tip: Call in advance to confirm a pet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank yo for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will let our maintenance and housekeeping staff know that you appreciated their hard work. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The BW El Rancho is a place I have stayed before with my family - many years ago. It is an old-style, 1960's era motor lodge, but the owners have done a good job keeping it up to date. The front office ladies were very friendly and helpful, there are DVD players in the rooms and a small library of movies in the office one can borrow. The grounds are kept up nicely (the Christmas decorations were going up while we were there), and the sunsets from the pool area are beautiful.
The property is a bit north of downtown Morro Bay and the Embarcadero, so you must drive to see those areas. The value for the room is relative - a little pricy for the type and location, but most every place in Morro is expensive, so this was one of the better deals in town.
A light but filling breakfast is available in the front office, but seating is extremely limited. You can take your breakfast back to your room, just don't leave anything edible on the room table. The place does have sugar ants lurking within (they found an open bag of Jelly Belly candy I left out). Use due care and this will not be a problem.
The little Mexican restaurant across the parking lot was a plus. It's not affiliated with the motel, so I will just say that the food was good and the beer was cold!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noticing all that we have done to keep the property clean and up to date. We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with ants, but thank you for bringing it to our attention so that we can solve the problem. We hope to see you again next time you stay in Morro Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed one night and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and the manager said they were updating all their rooms. We found ours extemely clean and comfy, plus very quiet even with the main highway across the road. The breakfast was great. The heated pool was fantastic - even at 9pm. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed our clean, comfy rooms, heated pool, and deluxe continental breakfast. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My family of 3 stayed at B/W El Rancho for 1 night. Morro Bay is a 5 mins. drive from Cayucos. It was very last minute and luckily we got the last double double room at the B/W for under a $100. Although it is close to a main road and highway, the room was quiet.The beds were comfortable and the room clean and well maintained. It had an HDTV, fridge, microwave, & coffeemaker. It does not have A/C. It does have a heater in the room. The bathroom was very clean, though the curved shower curtain allowed a lot of water to drip onto the floor while taking a shower. Strange.

The breakfast was very good; the best I have eaten at a B/W (waffles, cereal, bagels, muffins, toast, juice, coffee/tea). The eating area is very small but nicely decorated; it is inside the office/lobby so be ready to take the food back to your room if you don't get there early.

They have an outdoor pool which the staff claim is heated to 82 or 83 degrees, but when we took a dip, it was very cold. There is a small laundry on site with one washer and one dryer but it is outdoors and it was sandy and dirty when I got there.

There is a Mexican restaurant across the parking lot for lunch or dinner but we went to the waterfront area in Morro Bay (Embarcadero) for dinner, which is really nice.

It is a good option and is above average for a motel, so don't hesitate to stay here if you just want to rest. But, if you aren't in a rush then you could also go a bit farther to Beach St. or Harbor St. There are many hotels, including another B/W, and these are closer to the water and the area has a nicer setting (so not a highway view) and is more friendly to walk around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the clean, comfortable room, and expanded continental breakfast. We apologize that you were unhappy with the temperature of the pool. We wish that you had brought the cleanliness of the guest laundry area to our attetion while your were here as we would have immediately remedied the problem. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, DVD player with complimentary movie rentals and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary hot breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios with BBQ grills for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking. Pets are also welcome at this Morro Bay hotel, for a small fee of $12.00 per pet per night, providing the hotel has prior notification of the pet's arrival as only a portion of the rooms are pet friendly.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State Beach. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.