We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Air Inn Morro Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Air Inn Morro Bay to your Saves list
Sea Air Inn Morro Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   845 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Newly renovated and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at Sea Air Inn for two nights. Our double room was small but comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and modern; it also had a window which I really liked. It allowed fresh air to come into the room everyday. The location of the hotel was excellent; we could get to the bay and all of the restaurants easily. Parking was also very easy; even though the lot was small, there was plenty of (free) street parking. The only downside was that the walls were very thin; you could hear the TV playing in the room next to us and guests walking up and down the stairs. The price of the hotel was slightly more than expected, but given the convenient location, we would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    27
    24
    28
See reviews for
15
59
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel was a great deal. The rooms are being refurbished as well as the outside. The only problem I found was the office smelled so strong of curry. It was clean comfortable, but thin walls. It was walking distance to the boardwalk too. Would come back here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We were pleased with size of the 2 rooms we had booked for 1 nights stay in morro bay, it was a shame they could not give us adjoining rooms, and a ashame the welcome was not so enthusiastic as some. That said the rooms were relatively clean although our toilet was nastily discoloured and we also found a previous guests belongings by the floor of the bed. No explanation was given when I reported this, nor any apologies. Overall a reasonable hotel but nothing special.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Well, the location was convenient if you don't mind the remodel construction that wasn't announced before we booked. Sounded like someone dropping tools and stomping around early each morning. The workers tiling of the walkway that literally led right to our door was also a nice touch. Then the parking lot, which does not accommodate as many cars as rooms was just a blast. Add the owner rudely telling us to move our car over a foot because we were parked on the white line (so was every other car in the lot, because they tried to squeeze parking for 30 cars in a 20 car lot). I have nothing against ethic foods (Indian), I just don't want to be forced to smell them everyday. I would rather smell the "Sea Air". After staying there a week, and noticing about 98% of the hotels close to the Harbor look the same, older hotels, recently or under remodel, I will pick another hotel next time. I can forgive most remodel annoyances, but rude owners who charged me a small fortune to stay at their hotel and then treat us like beggars? not happening!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaAirTeam, Owner at Sea Air Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly I'll respond to your false statement about our parking lot. Our parking lot has 25 spots for 24 rooms. This means all rooms get one spot. Also this guest stayed in our Junior King Suite with a max occupancy of two persons. The guest violated the occupancy rule and we allowed it without a charge for the extra person. However, this guest brought two vehicles, a sedan, and a massive truck. We were fine with that too and I personally moved my car to the street in order to accommodate the extra car, however, when the truck arrived at night they parked in such a position that it took up two spots. Our hotel sells out everyday and other guest were effected by this guests inconsideration. In the morning we kindly asked them to just park in the spaces appropriately and they were very upset and rude to the staff member who approached them. We have no idea what set them off. Also the tiling, which is finished now, only started at 11am (check-out time) and ended at 3pm (check-in time). I understand you stayed for a week but work was only going on for 2 of the days you were here so this claim of yours has no basis either. Also if you hated our hotel so much then why did you come into the office on your check-out day and ask if we could accommodate you in one of our rooms with two beds from August to December?? The real reason this guest is upset is because they weren't allowed to stay for 5 months. Hotels in Morro Bay haven't seen a drop of paint since 1960 and some even longer, if you can find a newer and nicer hotel than ours I wish you the best of luck! I have never responded to a review like this, every single aspect of this review is slanderous and just plain out false.

Thank You,
Sea Air Inn
Chairman-CEO LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agua Dulce, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We love Morro Bay! The Sea Air Inn location can't be beat. Easy walking to the waterfront. Appeared to be in a state of repair and remodeling. Our room (126) was on second floor with a water view out of the bathroom and a tiny recessed window in the main room. Newly renovated in the bathroom. Stall shower lacked any shelf for shampoo or soap. Love that most of these smaller motels have upgraded to flat screen TVs. We met a friend and used the second floor patio for entertaining. Good value and great location.

Room Tip: our room (126) was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

As an American living in India for the last six years, I felt right at home here at Sea Air Inn ,Morro Bay. From the curry smells in the office registration area, to the dingy common area carpet and second hand unit furniture...not to mention the 3rd rate cable TV package that didn't include 14 of the supposed channels (HBO among them), and a room 123 wifi that didn't work, I could only imagine myself back in Chennai...ugh!

Room Tip: Choose another area motel, of which there are many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaAirTeam, Owner at Sea Air Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying at our hotel. All the furniture in the rooms is brand new, and right out of a domestic factory in L.A. All furniture was custom crafted, assembled, painted, waxed, and polished by hand all for Sea Air Inn. I personally went and saw the amazing operations I could send you pictures if you like? This supposed "second hand furniture" costed us during the renovation approximately $125,000. After spending that kind of money and personally unloading it from the truck I cant bear it being called second hand. Our cable service is the same as all the other hotels in town except we did just get a boost in TV channels and quality. You are correct there are many hotels in town, which begs the question why did you choose us? If the smell in the office and bad room was as bad as you say why did you never come to the office and ask for a refund?? We would have gladly sent you on your way to find a better hotel! Our hotel is the newest and most modern in town good luck finding a better place with such a competitive rate offering all the luxury amenities we do! The day you stayed the front desk staff ate out from Dominos, geez I had no idea Dominos smelled like India! Maybe you weren't in India as you may think, maybe you were in a different country but who knows??

Thank You
Parody Response
Sea Air Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Unsure of value but considering we showed up in town at 2 pm on a Friday, we felt we were lucky to find a vacancy. The room was newly renovated and absolutely beautiful. The location was perfect. There was no pool but we were not looking for one. We could hear the washer and dryer through the walls but it was only in the afternoon and everything was quiet by the time we went back to our room for the night. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Air Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Air Inn Morro Bay

Address: 845 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Air Inn Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Air Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Air Inn Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Sea Air Morro Bay
Sea Air Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Air Inn Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.