We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap - So Prepare for Cheapness in Service & Quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Air Inn Morro Bay

Save Saved
You added Sea Air Inn Morro Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Air Inn Morro Bay
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   845 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Cheap - So Prepare for Cheapness in Service & Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I will make one positive comment - the location was great - only two blocks to the bay.
The rest echoes what other tripadvisor reviews highlight. I arrived at the property around 1 am. I had called in earlier in the evening to let the receptionist know that I will be coming past 1 am. It was a cold night, and the front office was closed with the lights off. Good thing I had the phone number of the receptionist - so I thought. We called the number - no answer whatsoever. We knocked on the door and repeatedly pushed the front office chime - after perhaps 15 - 20 minutes, a man finally came out. He was sleeping. I do apologize for coming late, but this was a frightening experience.
The property itself is basic - much more stripped than cheap motel chains. The staircases are skimpy (don't slip in between), and the room - it's carpeted, and I didn't quite manage to trust the beddings. There was a musky smell in the room. Window is thin, space is tiny, and bathroom needs updating. The heater is a gas heater on the wall - very outdated.
If you plan to spend any time to lounge in your hotel room, this isn't the place you're looking for. If you're traveling somewhere and need some stopover - you could consider this location, because everywhere else is basically overpriced. Be ready to hit those front office chimes though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    36
    27
    23
    25
See reviews for
13
54
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good location. Rooms are outdated. Decor is old and ran down. Walls and door are peeling. Walls are paper thin. Mold in the bathroom. In the bottom rooms you could see leaks in the ceiling. Wouldn't recommend staying down stairs as the ceiling looks like it is ready to fall through. Lobby has a very strong aroma of curry.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is just absolutely terrible. Not only do they refuse to switch rooms to a room with two beds (we had our daughter with us) without a $20 fee, the staff gave absolutely horrible service. We arrived at around 9PM and had to ring the doorbell and wait for around five minutes before anyone even opened the door. Then the staff was rude and said there were no roll-out beds available (not the most important point) but then when we asked for the free-wifi password he refused to write it down for us and just slapped down a piece of scrap paper in front of us and proceeded to say the password in a rapid fire we couldn't get down. We were getting pretty annoyed and then when we asked him to repeat it he refused and raised his voice and began yelling at us for not being satisfied. The final straw was when he cursed at us (repeatedly, thinking we couldn't hear) and our daughter was right there within earshot. We had booked this place on Priceline, so when we asked for our money back as a result the reception guy flat out refused to and claimed that he couldn't because we didn't pay them directly (what kind of excuse is that). But it was getting late and we were tired and didn't want to bother anymore.

Aside from terrible service, the rooms are nothing to look at either. It was clean (I guess) but old, and small and cramped with dingy lighting. The curtains were ragged. The soundproofing is terrible and whenever any of our neighbors opened and closed their doors we could feel the entire floor shake.

Don't stay here if you want to remain in a good mood and get a good night's rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I needed a stopover on a drive down south and got a $41 room here from Hotels.com . As a brief one-night stopover it was fine, but I'd be pretty disappointed if I'd booked it for a vacation stay. The room was clean and everything pretty much worked, but the place is pretty shabby and run down.

Most of the doors I saw not only had peeling paint, but the actual veneer was peeling back. The curtain had tears in it and the rickety table looked like they'd gotten it from a garage sale.

It's a shame because it's a nice location and could be a good hotel.

They really need to do a renovation,

Room Tip: Sounds like some of them have windows on both sides for view of water. Mine did not so I'd ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We liked our stay at the Sea Air Inn Morro Bay. It's not modern but the room was very clean and cosy! It had windows on both sides which we liked, two facing the sea /the rock. The staff was friendly. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stumbled upon this motel as it was our only option in the area during the weekend. We booked a double queen which appeared to have shrunk over the years. The entire place is in a poor condition and on the edge of breakingdown. It is a grimy environment and the staff was terribly unfriendly. The room was advertised with breakfast but the breakfast was brown water (they call it coffee) and some stale cereals.
This place has no idea what service is and every effort is too much.
Also the reception smells like curry.
Please take my word for it and avoid at every cost!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We only paid $50 over bookingcom for one night. The room was spacious and clean. Large Flat-TV.
Outside of the room everything is quite old and looks dirty, but inside everything was alright.
We had a room with bay view and were woken up by the sea lions... Really funny.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Air Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Air Inn Morro Bay

Address: 845 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sea Air Inn Morro Bay 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Air Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Air Inn Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Sea Air Morro Bay
Sea Air Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Air Inn Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.