We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local hobby photographer who goes often...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sub Sea Tours and Kayaks

Sub Sea Tours and Kayaks
699 Embarcadero #9, Morro Bay, CA 93442
805-772-9463
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sub Sea Tours - bay cruise offering above water and below water viewing.Humpback Whale Watching - May through October, watch the humpback whales feed and frolic near Morro bay on the Central Coast.Gray Whale Watching - Gray whales migrate through the area as early as November until March. Over 24,000 whales pass by Morro Bay to and from Alaska and Mexico during these months. Stand Up Paddleboards, Canoe, and Kayaking - self-guided tours in the bay.
Morro Bay, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local hobby photographer who goes often...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've been out with the Sub Sea Tours boat Dos Osos many times (I should have a cot on board!). Great fun every time. The Captain respects the whales and keeps a safe distance, but manages to get close enough for those great photos. The Captain and deck hands are knowledgeable and passionate about the local wildlife. You will learn something new every time.

While nature is fickle, if the whales (or something else interesting) are in the area, they will find them. Dress in layers - can be warm or cold from one minute to the next. Check their Facebook page (Sub Sea Tours Kayaks and Whale Watching) for current conditions. Many photos can be found on Flickr (Sub Sea Tours group).

Just a side note -- don't confuse the whale watching trip with the shorter trip around the harbor. And of course they rent kayaks, canoes, and stand up paddle boards. Have fun!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best we are here now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The best here now. Sub Sea Tours Whale Watching TODAY Monday Aug. 5, 2013 , 2 PM

Join me AGAIN on a special LAST MINUTE photographer / docent / friends whale watching experience. Discounted $30 special rate. (Normally $40 adult, $35 senior)

Whales ( Humpbacks...) are again in abundance just off our coast now says Captain Kevin Winfield. calling in from the Sub Sea Tours, Dos Osos boat.

Sub Sea Tours is at the base of Pacific Avenue at 699 Embarcadero Road in Morro Bay, CA.

Arrive well before departure time to sign in! You should call Kevin Winfield or Mario or Elizabeth at 805-772-9463 same as 772-WIND (mobile: 805-748-2201) for a reservation.

Photographers or docents and their friends, when you reserve your seat, say you are from Photomorrobay to get our $30 discounted rate! This is not an exclusive photo/docent tour, so other tourists will be on board.

Bring a fairly long lens, 70-200, 100-400 mm are popular. No tripods. Monopods ok but may not help. Bring water, layered clothing, sunblock, fresh batteries and cards for your camera. I hope to see you there.

More info at Sub Sea Tours and Kayaks, Morro Bay Charters, 699 Embarcadero Road #9
http://www.subseatours.com/ http://www.subseatours.com/whale-watching-morro-bay/
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sub-Sea-Tours-Kayaks-and-Whale-Watching/118305161950
See past photos and post your photos to http://www.flickr.com/groups/subseatours/pool/ same as
http://www.flickr.com/groups/1518356@N22/pool/
Directions and map http://bit.ly/whalewatch6-6-13 same as
https://maps.google.com/maps?ie=UTF-8&q=map+Sub+Sea+Tours+699+Embarcadero+%239+Morro+Bay,+CA+93442&fb=1&gl=us&hq=Sub+Sea+Tours+699+Embarcadero+%239+Morro+Bay,+CA+93442&cid=0,0,4950881230604710036&ei=LzOtUenCOebAigLEsoGwAg&ved=0CJwBEPwSMAQ
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sub-Sea-Tours-Kayaks-and-Whale-Watching/118305161950

"Mike" Michael L. Baird mike@mikebaird.com flickr.bairdphotos.com

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved the whales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were a little worried about the size of the boat for the whale watching trip but it worked well with the semi clam waters. You may want to take Dramamine if you have motion sickness problems, we had one guy get a little sick. They warn everyone to dress in layers and bring a coat because its an open deck boat and the temp in usually about 50 to 60F and when you add the wind it feels colder. About half the people on our trip needed to use a blanket or extra coat that the boat supplied. It only took about 20 min to spot the first whale and before long we were watching 3 humpback whales. We followed the whales for a couple hours, sometime the whales would dive and it would take a few minutes to catch back up when they surfaced. You have to pay close attention or you will miss most of the action. We had two whales breach on our trip and I missed most of the first one. It lasts about 3-5 seconds. You will see more blowing and tail flaps than breaching but we still had a good time. Use the restroom before you get on the boat as its a challenge on board.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must have picked wrong day.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Guide was nice. Had this really loud annoying music playing loud in underneath part of boat. 45 minute tour and saw fish for less than 5 seconds. Not the guides fault, you can't control nature. I hope most trips have better luck than ours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is a blast! And the employees are super helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have now rented kayaks from Sub Sea two times, each with different friends who have flown home with me to SLO County. Because we are all fairly adventurous, outdoorsy grad students/anthropologists/archeologists, we are usually looking to try something new. Kayaking was an awesome choice because we got to be under the sun and on the coast, but also got to explore shells, rocks and birds on the shoreline of the Morro Bay harbor. We even saw a few sea lions and otters! It was beautiful. The staff was awesome and super helpful. The procedures to rent a kayak were simple and overall it was an inexpensive way to have several hours of entertainment. I last went in November and the weather was beautiful too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Sea Tours and Kayaks also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sub Sea Tours and Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sub Sea Tours and Kayaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.