We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really ? #2” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Save Saved
You added Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   540 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Free Aquarium Tickets !
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Really ? #2”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Are we having an earthquake or did someone in another unit flush a toilet.
As you will note from my previous reviews, I am not in the habit of writing bad reviews however
I must echo a previous reviewer' s comments. Perhaps we had the same room ,seat covers and all. I knew by the reviews that I was not getting a 4 star booking but this place is way overpriced. If you want to visit Morro, book a nice hotel for the same price in san Luis abispo..
Ok, it is clean but far from quiet.. If you are on the first floor and shrek just checked into the room above you, good luck.
Not recommended by me.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Wow, I am surprised ! I am also sorry that the guest above you was, as you put it, "shrek". Generally we dont get too many "shreks" but unfortunately on your trip you got one. Next time just let me know and I will put you on the top. Have a great day ahead! Thank you for the review.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    68
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
32
87
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were travelling down the N.Pacific highway to LA. It was fine for one night but wouldn't want to stay any longer.

Room decor was tired, and the bathroom felt quite dirty. Shower wouldn't have been very good had I needed to wash my hair. Good size room though and as I say, fine for a place to crash.

Nice location and in walking distance to the restaurants down at the dock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your input. we will most definitely look into the matter and fix up whatever may be needed to make you feel at home. We hope to see you next time. Have a good day.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Morro bay is a lovely place and everyone we met was really helpful and friendly but its like being in a different world. We drove up in 104 degrees but 3 miles out we hit the mist and lost visibility, sun and heat. The inn is really central and you can walk to ever thing you need. The room was clean and wifi easy to access and appreciated. There was a fridge and coffee machine. All you need for a short stay. However breakfast was dismal. We didnt bother. Went to bakery on waterfront instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

An older motel but the room was clean and comfortable with plenty of towels coffee machine and well stocked bathroom
A problem with the TV was fixed promptly by a pleasant young man and we had a good night's sleep listening to the seals in the bay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff.
That TV had a life of its own on that day. I am glad we got it taken care of. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central valley, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The room was spotless which I appreciate more then more modern furniture. The location was great and the area was really quiet which we appreciated.
The bed was really comfortable. We stayed in May and will be coming back.

Room Tip: If you want a fancy motel room it is not for you. It is very clean and quiet the furniture is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here this past weekend. It was worth every penny. My only concern was the stain on the carpet at the entrance of the room. Run a shampooing machine and there would be no issue. I like a firm bed and fluffy pillows, this place meets my bed requirements. The water was HOT, with the number of rooms on the property, up anticipated a hot water issue. There was also free WiFi, but I suggest you you use your cellular provider if you are using your smartphone, laptop or tablet, its may be a bit slow. one can not fault the hotel, could be the bandwidth of the ISP.
We love family businesses, this place DEFINITELY is that. The owners were kind. The older man, I, guess he was the father of the owner, was awesome. I would stay here again. The continental breakfast had muffins from Costco, there was freshly cut fruit, great coffee and cold cereal. If you are looking for a place to stay, pick this place. Don't give your money to La Quinta or EconoLodge down the street. Keep money local.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff.
I am glad that you like the family businesses after all that is what keeps the city and america going.
Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here one night and it was more than perfect. The only thing I'd make a negative comment on is the breakfast (which we didn't have because it was more than basic, almost non-existent: just juice, coffee in the reception area which is very small. The non-existent breakfast is a shame. But the room (upper floor) was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihir P, Manager at Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Thank you for the breakfast input I will most definitely look into it. I truly appreciate it as well as our staff. Have a wonderful day ahead and we hope to see you next time.

Thank you,
Mihir Patel and
Sandpiper Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Address: 540 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. Free Continental breakfast. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.