We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Front Street Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Front Street Inn & Spa
Save Saved
You added Front Street Inn & Spa to your Saves list
1140 Front St., Unit C, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
kailua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the lovely Big Sur room. Loved the redwood decor, the photographs and furnishings. Made me feel like I really had traveled to Big Sur. The room was very clean and comfortable and the view of morro rock and the harbor was unbelievable. We loved sitting on the couch and watching the people on the harbor walk and all the boating activity. There are commercial boats that catch crab, black cod and prawns. You can buy these fresh at the local fish market up the street. Everything is within walking distance. It was great to leave the car parked while we explored on foot. Had my birthday dinner at Frankie and Lola's. next door. The food was very good, but the service was slow. Oh well, just gave us more time for our botle of wine.
The Spa part of Front Street Inn is called BayBeauty Spa. We had a wonderful couples massage in a special room with Ann and Jeanette. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable. I also had a facial with Val. My skin never felt better.
All in all we loved Morro Bay and the Front Street Inn & Spa. Hope to return for my birthday next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    12
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hideaway is a wonderful place to escape to!( My husband says I'm funny in My head!) Really beautifully designed! I can't wait to go back!!! And....Windows on the Water for dinner...be sure to get there way before sunset!

Room Tip: Both rooms quite nice. We had a private staircase, but the other has an elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The wife and I got a couples hour-long massage in the Spa, and got a tour of the hotel. Will decidedly return to this property... The ladies that did the message were great - just the right amount of pressure and worked all the knots out of my neck and back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Big Sur room, I chose that one because I liked the slightly rustic feel to the furniture. Very roomy, comfortable and clean. Big couch, comfy chairs for relaxing and enjoying the view - or the tv I suppose, we didn't have it on much! Comfortable king size bed. The room was very quiet, at night with the windows open we heard only an occasional seal barking. Perfect. I expected to hear early morning cooking noises from the bakery downstairs, but we didn't. The Inn is right on the embarcadero, great location and view. A very short walk to restaurants and shops, little longer walk to the rock and the beach. Spacious, private, quiet, convenient location - we found it to be just as advertised. A perfect fit for the friendly beach atmosphere of Morro Bay. We'll be back!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wonderful place. Get the "Hideaway" if it's available. I tried to reserve it online, but website said it was booked. Turned out it wasn't. Looked at them both, Hideaway is much larger and the private entrance was nice. The Big Sur room is right off the spa lobby which I doubt is a problem because I imagine the lovely spa is quiet even if it were busy. Only thing not mentioned, though you can kind of see it in the pictures, the great view looks out across a small parking lot and the road.I almost don't want to mention this small caveat. It sounds worse than it is, the view is amazing. There was a cool old telescope to watch fishing boats come in as well as sea lions, birds and otters.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Front Street Inn is comprised of two separate rooms on the second floor of a basic mini-mall. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms are very cozy, spacious, and inviting. Both have king beds with cushy pillows and comforters, and comfortable places to sit and enjoy the great view of the main street, boats, and ocean. We could hear the sea lions barking outside and a distant fog horn during the night. Very cool, as well as soothing, to urban ears.

We stayed in the Hideaway, which had a king bed, two sofas (one in front of the tv and another that faced the view), a gas fireplace, a small fridge and coffee pot, and a large bathroom with jetted tub. It was very comfortable. I had the feeling that I was staying at a friend's really awesome guest room, not a hotel, which we happen to appreciate.

The only small detail that I would change is the bedding. My husband probably thinks I'm ridiculous but the proprietors really ought to consider non-printed, solid sheets. Floral bedding seemed a bit too homey and odd in a rented room.

Last thing I need to mention is that the French bakery on the first floor has delicious pastries and cookies. As a bakery snob I know what I'm talking about! It's a perfect breakfast option.

All in all, Front Street Inn was a wonderful place to stay and we plan to go back as soon as we're able.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemite
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Wow, what a special place, the view is out of this world, the room is so so comfortable, & the aroma of the French bakery downstairs (Deborah & husband) is truly amazing, and the owners of the Front Street Inn & Spa - Tom & Val (Lulu - the dog) are TOPS!! just what it takes to make a memorable stay. We can't say enough good things.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms both are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Front Street Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn & Spa

Address: 1140 Front St., Unit C, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Front Street Inn is a small waterfront hotel on the embarcadero in Morro Bay. If you're sailing into Morro Bay, look for our green roof and three gables. From every window in your room you can watch the fishing fleet, visiting yachts, the harbor, the Rock, the sandspit and the ocean beyond. Our spa treatments are performed upstairs in two specially appointed rooms across the hall. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Street Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.