We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windows on the Water

Windows on the Water
699 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2276
8057720677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the water in the Morro Bay, Windows on the Water celebrates the finest the Central Coast of California has to offer. Fresh, local and sustainable ingredients, an extensive wine and beer list of local and international labels, the best in local musicians each Monday, Thursday and Saturday night, and arguably the most dramatic view on the coast. Join us in the bar for a drink and bar specials and dinner nightly from our menu created by our award-winning executive chef, Neil Smith.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was our first dinner spot on a three-night trip to the CA central coast area. We were seated at a window overlooking Morro Rock, the harbor and bay, with the sun setting over the rock. Great view but we had to wear sun glasses for the early part of the meal. The food and service were very good, and wine by the glass was very reasonable. We both had sand dabs, which came rolled up on a pad of mashed potato. Parking on the embarcadero is tight, but we found a close by empty lot with spaces.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    49
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delight by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent restaurant with a beautiful view over Morro Bay harbor serving great food.
I can highly recommend the Dungeness Ginger Crab Cake as a starter followed by the Linguine pasta as main, both prepared most excellent. Actually one of the best meals I’ve had in the US. Defiantly worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The atmostphere and setting could not be better. The restaurant is located on the second floor over looking the bay with the Morro Rock in full view. The staff is friendly and efficient. The food delicious, especially the mixed green salad with pears and Stinton cheese and the lemon mousse dessert. Our only complaint was that the halibut was over cooked. Its saving grace was there was plenty of sauce to help the fish's dryness.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Beautiful view ! The food was very good . Excelent choise at Morro Bay city. Ask for a table by the window.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Memorable Memorial Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was quiet for a holiday weekend. With reservations we got an upfront window view - an essential when dining with the iconic Morro Rock in the background. Truly stunning. The drink and food selection was very on point with fresh selections well seasoned food. The cadillac margarita was very just right. Our server was gentle and informative. Nice time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Water also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Windows on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windows on the Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.