We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windows on the Water

Windows on the Water
699 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2276
8057720677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the water in the Morro Bay, Windows on the Water celebrates the finest the Central Coast of California has to offer. Fresh, local and sustainable ingredients, an extensive wine and beer list of local and international labels, the best in local musicians each Monday, Thursday and Saturday night, and arguably the most dramatic view on the coast. Join us in the bar for a drink and bar specials and dinner nightly from our menu created by our award-winning executive chef, Neil Smith.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular setting on the waterfront in Morro Bay. Elegant tables with sunset views. Beautifully prepared meals. The best restaurant on the waterfront!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    49
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Impeccable service, view, food, atmosphere. My lady and I were in the area for a 2 day getaway. We wondered into this restaurant for dinner and we're very pleasantly surprised. Thanks for everything.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really is Window on the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

When we arrived our table was not quite ready, so were shown to the bar area which was fine. We had a drink and watched the sunset through the Window. All the staff were efficient, friendly and the food delicious and the sunset beautiful. A wonderful evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bravo for a good Cosmo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stopped in at the bar for a Cosmo drink on my birthday. (Now please keep in mind, I have perfected this drink at home and am very picky). I almost never order them out because I am always disappointed. This one was excellent although a little on the small side. It was our first time there; the bar was beautiful, friendly, great views and the service great. We had other dinner plans so were not able to eat there but will def be back for dinner as we've heard the food is great.......stay tuned!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Smooth like butta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I stopped over in Morro Bay en route from SF to LA and got this recommendation from our hotel front desk. This place is incredible, the best seafood-scallops I've ever had (and I've had 'em all). The food quality is second to none. It's a tiny coastal "village" almost but it seems like Windows is competing with the best seafood restaurants in any large city -- they put their heart and soul into their food, and that, I appreciate!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Water also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Windows on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windows on the Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.