We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Little Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sundown Inn to your Saves list
Sundown Inn
640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

I spent two nights at the Sundown Motel while waiting for my car to get fixed.
From the outside, it looks like a 50s-style motel that was recently renovated - U-shape, courtyard for the cars, room entrances right from the parking lot, just one story. The facility is definitely older, but the rooms have been renovated in the most delightful way, plus everything's functional, very clean and smells good. My room had a recent model microwave, fridge and coffee maker, and a coin-op "Magic Fingers Massaging Bed" control unit that looked like it had been teleported in from the 50s (in new condition!). I didn't try it, but I'm sure it would have worked like everything else.
To top it all off, the motel is in walking distance from downtown Morro Bay with all the shops and restaurants.

There's free wireless internet which worked well for me (I was working remotely all day). Signal strength got a bit spotty every now and then, especially when someone had parked a car into the line of sight between my laptop and the lobby, but nothing that opening the room door and sitting in the entrance wouldn't have fixed :-)
Oh yeah, and the lady in the lobby was very friendly and made me feel welcome.

In summary, the Sundown Motel is probably not the right place for a honeymoon stay, but if you need a good, comfortable, clean place to spend a few nights in Morro Bay, I warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    108
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
157
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Great Motel, independently run with rooms given their own gentle stamp of the orient. Quirky, but not in the way that you miss out on any essentials. Very quiet, yet close to the attractions of Morro Bay. Stay here with no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Found this place in a coupon book. The coupon was for Sunday through Friday (we stayed on a Friday) walk-in only (no reservation). When we first checked in, all the room for coupon use were taken, however, they gave us a room for a discount. They were very accomodating and friendly, the room are homey and clean, quiety and comfortable. They only bad part was the wireless internet signal was weak. Still highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We needed a quick overnight on our way down the coast. We found this motel in one of the roadside hotel books, and couldn't have been more delighted. It lacks curbside charm at first glance with a rather plain jane appearance. But our room was exactly right for us. A lot of little things that other motels don't have were there. Such as: Three comfortable chairs, a nice table and additional cubby for a computer, a fridge, coffeepot and microwave (no continental breakfast), a lovely shower, frilly little touches here and there, good lighting for reading, a large walk-in closet, reliable plumbing, and everything was immaculate and well-maintained. There is a lot of owner pride here, and quick service with any requests. The tv was great, it was quiet, and the room was spacious. There was free dsl also. We will definitely seek out this motel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Great location, very clean, awesome price, friendly professional desk. It's a mom and pop store but they take a lot of pride in their location and they aren't greedy!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.