We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sundown Inn to your Saves list
Sundown Inn
640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Simply awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am extremely spoiled when it comes to hotels and live around 240 nights per year in top hotels around the world traveling on business. I usually prefer big chain hotels since they give me upgrades, free nights etc. I checked tripadvisor for hotels in Morro Bay and this small motel stuck out immediately due to the great reviews for budget motel. I am very happy that I gave it a shot and highly recommend this unique little refuge of tranquility. It felt like staying over at my moms guest room for a couple of nights. I enjoyed chatting with the owners - A genuinely friendly couple from Taiwan that keeps their motel in pristine condition while running a successful business with obvious pride since more than 30 years. The rooms are spacious enough, quite comfortable, interestingly stylish (Miss Marple would love it) and really very cozy - they simply have a good atmosphere. The wifi was actually faster than in most big hotels, TV channel selection was good, the shower was nice and the antique massage bed function worked amazingly great. The fridge and microwave were a plus. Owner gave me extra coffee, coupons for breakfast discount at restaurant around the block and a lot of kind hospitality. Two minute walk to waterfront district with all the restaurants, cruises, kayak rentals; two minute drive to the park and 15 minute walk to the rock. Perfect stay for $65 per night - thank you very much/xie xie ni. I will be back.

Room Tip: The walls are a little bit thin - try to stay at corner room or change room in case of noisy neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    119
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
164
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is what budget travel should be all about. A beautiful, sparkling little motel in a charming seaside town. I travel to Morro Bay regularly and simply love the Sundown Inn. It's cute, very clean, close to everything, and has outstanding management.

The decor is very nice. Flat screen TVs with wifi that actually works. The shower is great!

I like to check in - rest for a bit- then walk down to the waterfront. Morro Bay is slower and feels more relaxed than the other seaside towns. I cannot recommend a place more highly. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our plan was one or two nights in Morro Bay, then 3 nights in Pismo Beach. We ended up staying 4 nights at the Sundown Inn and took day trips north to Cambria, hiked along the coast in the state park Montana de Oro and great beach walks. We left for Pismo after 2 nights, spent one night there, then returned to this hotel for 2 more nights. It seemed to be a dividing line from a southern California feel (Pismo) to a central coast, more rural feel (Morro Bay). The owners of this hotel are very nice, it felt more like a bed and breakfast atmosphere. The location is downtown Morro Bay, and the price is truly a bargain. I felt like we went back 20 years in time.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay on our way up the coast. The owner Ann, couldn't have nicer and extremely helpful when it came to getting around. Only a short distance to the water. Enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was a solo traveler and I stayed for about 5 nights after discovering it on Trip Advisor. I actually really adored this little motel! The decor may be a little vintage but it adds to the charm, in my opinion. I loved the little details such as the decorations surrounding the mirror as well as the real glass tea cups. As everyone else mentioned, this place is super clean! The owners were very friendly and would ask me how everything was going when we saw one another outside.

Bear in mind that this is an older motel so cars are parked right outside of your window. Well a couple of the nights I was there, a loud diesel truck started up around 5-6am and it woke me up each time. This was just an annoyance more than anything. Clearly not something the motel owners can control.

The room was pretty small, but it was perfect for me. I'm not a picky traveler and I was gone the majority of the time anyway.

If you're looking for something like a Hilton - look elsewhere. This is a perfect no frills, clean place in a wonderful location.

By the way, try Top Dog (coffee shop) just up the road from the Sundown Inn! They have a great selection of food and beverages!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's surprisingly clean given the old-fashioned decor. Really nothing to complain about but don't expect an unforgettable journey back in time. I would recommend it for a one-night stay in Morro bay but the real question is: do you really need to stay in Morro Bay?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were just looking for a clean place to stay as we were on a roadtrip. Looked up some tripadvisor reviews and decided for this place, it was dirt cheap, around $60 the night I think. Of course, for that price, don't expect any designer furniture, etc but it was very comfortable, very clean and the service was prompt. The bathroom seemed like it had been renovated recently. I would not spend a whole vacation at this place, but for a one night stop while on a roadtrip it's perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.