We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price - Super Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sundown Inn to your Saves list
Sundown Inn
640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
El Dorado Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Price - Super Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and well cared for. The owner was always working on the Inn while we were staying. She always asked how things were and was helpful. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    103
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
143
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Adorable clean and comfy. Very hospitable owners. This is like the motels of old. Can be noisy in am because you hear the cars coming and going in the parking lot. Not ritzy.....just a great little motel. Mazel tov.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in 2010, but just remembered to leave a review - the place is run by a Taiwanese family who were really kind - they told us where to eat, and were also very warm and friendly. The hostess is a Taiwanese mother of 4, and she's VERY, VERY CLEAN! I am usually very particular about hotels and don't feel clean when I sleep in their beds, but for once during my 2 week trip, I slept feeling like the sheets were clean.

Highly recommend!

It's located about a 10 min walk away from the seaside. Very idyllic place <3

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed one night in Morro Bay end of April. It seems to be a holiday destination but at that time the year it was very quiet. The Sundown Inn is run by the owners, a nice couple that really care that customers are happy. The night started very well until the guest next door went in. There were very noisy, arguing at 3 am. Finally at 5 am she went in the car, banging the door starting the engine an blowing the horn. We went out an told her off. She excused stopped the engine and went back in their room. I told the manager the other morning and although this noise wasn't their fault we got a 15$ discount. With nice guest this is a very good place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Been staying here as my first choice for years. The rooms are always clean and the rates offered are a real value. The rooms are modest but offer microwave and refrig with a coffee maker. WiFi is a big plus.No spa. No fountains. No room service...just an ice machine. and great location. Give 'em a try.

Room Tip: Check the web site for special rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I actually came here twice last year and it was a great value, clean rooms, a very clean bathroom (which are hard to come by) and a small fridge that worked well. Only downside is its not very close to the beach, but not many of the hotels are. On our first night of our second stay the couple next door was having sex so loudly it was awful -- I know that can't be helped by the owners or staff but it wasn't pleasant, so you can hear conversations or ... other activities.

We were comfortable and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were traveling through Morro Bay and reserved a room at the Sundown Inn based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews. We got a special online rate of $50/night so our expectations weren't too high. THE PLACE IS FANTASTIC! Friendly, on-site owners made us feel welcome. The rooms were so clean you could eat off the floor--and the owners had opened the windows prior to our arrival so we had fresh air in the room (a nice touch). The exterior was similarly well-manicured: nice landscaping, fresh sealcoat and striping in the parking lot, etc. I've paid twice as much for motels and gotten much less.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.