We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundown Inn

Save Saved
You added Sundown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sundown Inn
640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
South Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very basic but clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you are passing through Morro Bay and need a room for the night the Sundown Inn is a good choice. It was by far the cheapest place we stayed on our travels from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We could clearly hear our neighbors in the morning so noise from the neighbors could be an issue. Although I didn't realize we had neighbors until the morning. Hope we didn't bother them when we came into our room at night.

Would stay again if I needed a cheap but very clean place to spend the night. Although if I was staying longer I might pick a different place.

If you are staying here for the Magic Finger's massage go elsewhere! My 16 year old put a quarter in but no vibrating bed for him!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    76
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
117
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alhambra, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed: 03/31/12-04/01/12

My significant other and I had 2 beds. We like to sleep that way since one of us move around a lot in our sleep. 1 queen, and the other is a twin. I guess that's how they have it that way for 2 beds. There is a cube refrigerator in the closet, a microwave, and a mini fan! No air conditioning, but there is a vintage (style) heater. The bathroom is designed like an 1950s-60s bathroom. We had a pink bathroom. There is the dispensable liquid soap/shampoo, but it always doesn't hurt to bring your own.

Don't bother to put a $0.25 in the massage machine. It just slightly vibrates, but it doesn't hurt to try it for many curious folks. I guess that's how they make their extra money by still keeping this device.

Room Tip: It's a few minutes to walk to some restaurants and shops. Then about 24 minutes of normal pace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The $39 Internet special gets you a cute, quaint, quiet and clean room just a couple of blocks off the harbor. Easy walking distance to town, harbor and state park. Ann, the owner, is on-site, friendly and helpful. We have stayed there several weekends and it now feels almost like family. We have tried several other places to stay in Morro Bay but this is our favorite and a tremendous value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a newly remodeled Hotel. The people who own this were very friendly and helpful. The room was decorated very nice plus there was a microwave and a refrigerator. It was very quiet all night and it had a wonderful shower. Stayed here twice and plan to stay there again. The best part was the price of $45.00 a night!

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Pulled into Morro Bay late after long drive. Plenty of accommodation choices. Sundown has clean rooms, free wi fi, in room tea/coffee and microwave & fridge. Definitely a ooh budget option.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

The owners take pride in making your stay comfortable.They keep everything neat and tidy.I think this is the best deal in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

A nice little hotel near the seaside tourist strip of Morro Bay (but just far away enough to not be inconvenient) that was a convenient stop between LA and San Simeon.

Pleasant and friendly owner (Ms. Lin).

WiFi, cable TV and electric "Magic Fingers" bed massager!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.