We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Serena Inn to your Saves list
La Serena Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This place is a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

This was one of our favorite motels during our ten-night vacation on the California coast. The room was comfortable and beautifully appointed, the "happy hour" (cider, tea and snacks)) was appreciated, and the complimentary breakfast was plentiful and good.
There were several details that made this motel a standout. Audobon pictures lined the hallways and binoculars were available at the front desk for bird watching. We loved having two sinks--one in a separate vanity area and another in the toilet/shower location. The two decks available for guests's use was an added bonus because we could watch the sunset or ponder Morro Rock. Truly, this was a unique hotel and we loved staying here.
By the way, a pool and Internet access were available at a sister-motel a couple blocks away.
Check out my blog for other trip details: http://www.tightwadtravel.blogspot.com

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
The La Serena staff thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. With the help of your comments we get closer to our goal of making every stay for each of our guests comfortable and enjoyable. Next time you’re planning a trip to the area we would be happy to provide you with another pleasurable experience here at the La Serena Inn.

Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    92
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
105
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ivanhoe, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed in a king room with ocean view. Our room was clean with nice appointments. Breakfast was a great plus. The breakfast room was newly remodeled and the outside patio area was scheduled to be finished soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
The La Serena thanks you for your nice review of our hotel. We are always eager to know what we are doing right and what we could do to improve our service to you. We look forward to providing you with excellent service and a comfortable stay the next time you are traveling through our area.

Many thanks,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here for two nights. Very nice motel that is more like a hotel in many respects. A superb huge room with lovely decor. Lots of helpful information about the area in the room. A great spot from which to explore Morro Bay and the area. The walls were a bit thin however and we did have a bit of a noisy night there - not helped by flapping awnings in an overnight storm ! Staff were helpful but a bit business-like, but really a very good quality motel and we'd stay there again without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
The staff at the La Serena Inn would like to thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. It is a convenient “home port” to go exploring the sites from. Being right on the coast it can get windy at times and our apologies for the flapping awning. We look forward to providing you with another pleasant stay next time your in the area.

Many thanks,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stubbled across this hotel by chance after a long drive from LA, the rate was reasonable. In a very quiet area of Morro Bay, just 5 minutes walk from the waterfront. Large clean room with a balcony. The best hotel we stayed in during our 3 week driving holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
The staff at the La Serena Inn thanks you for the nice review of the hotel. It is comforting after a long trip to be able to settle in to a comfortable spacious room for the night. It would be our privilege to provide accommodations to you again on your next visit to our beautiful coast.

Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had a one night stopover here after driving down Big Sur and before heading down to LA. On the whole it was ideal for us and positioned very well in Morro bay, and I'd recommend it to anyone doing the same thing.

The hotel is in such a good spot for walking down to the bay for restaurants and bars and it even has a bank next door with an ATM I so badly needed! The restaurants on the bay all looked fairly good and most focus on seafood dishes but serve meat based dishes also. Fish and chips seems to be very popular on the Pacific coast at the moment and most places in Morro bay seem to sell it as a main feature.

The room was large, clean and comfortable, had everything in it as you would expect, and as a strange bonus we had not 'one', but 'two' sinks in our room. Inclusive/free wifi was an important feature as during this part of our holiday we were booking each next hotel at the current one.

The included breakfast wasn't amazing and wasn't terrible either, but given that we had read the reviews here first it was exactly what we expected. On the plus side, breakfast is served on the 3rd floor and if you eat in the outside area you get a great view of Morro rock. If they're not going to make any major changes my only suggestions to the management are to add some yoghurt or fruit, and please replace the glass dispenser the orange juice is served from. The last pint or so wont come out because the tap is too high, so it never gets topped up by your staff. Thankfully the lady from the kitchen was helpful after seeing me struggle and quickly poured a fresh glass for me.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
The La Serena Inn would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. Knowing we provided you with a good comfortable stay brings a smile to our faces. Thanks to your comments we are inspired to keep focused on our continuing goal of providing each and every guest with a comfortable and memorable stay. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next trip to our beautiful area.

Many thanks,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spend one night at La Serena while driving down Highway 1. It was nicely positioned - just a short walk from town/restaurants, and had free covered parking. Staff were efficient and helpful and the room was pleasant. A nice touch was cookies and cider in the foyer late afternoon, and a continental breakfast was included. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
We here at the La Serena Inn thank you for the review of the hotel. It is a nice “home port” to go exploring from. We were very happy to have the opportunity to provide you with excellent service and a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the states.

Thank You,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Visited last year about the same time and liked Morro Bay and La Serena so much came back! Much the same as last year, main change is a revamped breakfast room and improved breakfast. Now treated to what seems like real orange juice, better coffee and residents can make their own waffles!

We had what I guess is the most basic room - booked online quite late for $99 - but it was very spacious, immaculate and the bed was very comfy. Everyone is just easy, it all works, it's all clean and painless; there's generally something in a hotel room, dripping tap, dirty corner, curtains you have to wrestle to close, shonky wi-fi, but at La Serena everything just works.

Morro Bay itself is a lovely laid back place, not much happening but a lovely health food shop/cafe (Sunshine foods/Shine Cafe) and lots to visit nearby. Only criticism is there seems to have been an oil leak, here and at all the beaches since Malibu we've come away with sticky tar on our feet; urgh.

Wish we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
The management and staff at the La Serena Inn is smiling after reading the awesome review of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your last visit. We are continually working on upgrades and looking for ways to improve the quality of our guest’s experiences here at the La Serena Inn. It would be our privilege to provide you with top notch service on your next trip through our area.

Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Address: 990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Groupon so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Serena Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.