We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, nice views, quiet & convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Serena Inn to your Saves list
La Serena Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, nice views, quiet & convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night in late June 2014. The location was convenient to the downtown shops and the wharf. The room was clean, the staff was great. The rooms had coffee, microwave and small fridge and were quite large. The bed was comfy. Breakfast was make-your-own waffles, hardboiled eggs, cereal and pastries in a nice room with a patio looking towards the harbor.

We would definitely return here. It was a great place to stop on our way from SD to get an early start for Hearst Castle, which is a short drive from this quaint hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are pleased to know of your wonderful stay with us. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. We look forward to seeing you again.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
45
92
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scappoose, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I agree on this: we have found a new 'home away from home' when wandering through Morro Bay. Quiet and peaceful. Very helpful front desk and friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Thanking the hotel for their attention to detail!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to know how pleased you were with your stay. It would be our pleasure to provide you with another wonderful stay when you visit Morro Bay.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed two nights,hotel and staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was quiet and we felt safe,would definately return to this hotel. Rooms were clean,had coffee, microwave and a small fridge. Parking was easy and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. We look forward to seeing you again.
happy Travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

For our anniversary (58th) we made reservations at the La Serena Inn in Morro Bay, CA. Our room was the suite on the second floor had a fireplace and its balcony overlooked the Morro Rock. It is located near the center of town, near many restaurants, and the embarrcadero. There are hiking trails, Hearst Castle, wine tasting and other small quaint villages within a few minutes drive.

When we arrived there was a botttle of chilled champaigne waiting for us.

La Serena Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We'll be here for your next anniversary celebration. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

To say we enjoyed a four day stay at La Serena - Morro Bay, is an understatement! The room was near the elevator on the 2nd floor, and, but for luggage being rolled across a tile floor during checkin/out, was serene and comfy. Large room, king bed and bathroom is tastefully decorated. We travel a lot, cross-country with our quiet, calm, non-shedding poodle Curly. He'd even give La Serena four paws up - except for the $28/nt pet charge(s). Friendly management, helpful staff, satisfying breakfasts, attractive landscaping, and cool covered parking are definitely pluses.

Room Tip: View rooms - 2nd floor and above. Small bay-facing balcony is great for sunset libations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
The staff of the La Serena Inn is so pleased to know you both and Curly had such a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to our beautiful area.
Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I stayed here on a trip down the coast last month via Groupon and it was such a good deal! The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the kids loved the waffle machines, and the location was great, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are happy to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and the best rate.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean and all the staff polite and helpful. Breakfast was awful. I appreciate they state it is complimentary but I would rather they did not offer any. I know it's down to personal taste but this was aloud of sugary rubbish on offer. Apart from that if returning we would consider staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
The staff of the La Serena Inn is happy to know your stay was comfortable. We apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding breakfast, we do try and provide something for everyone. We hope you'll visit us again when you come to Morro Bay.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Address: 990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Serena Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.