We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Get-a-way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Serena Inn to your Saves list
La Serena Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Garden Grove, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Anniversary Get-a-way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

For our anniversary (58th) we made reservations at the La Serena Inn in Morro Bay, CA. Our room was the suite on the second floor had a fireplace and its balcony overlooked the Morro Rock. It is located near the center of town, near many restaurants, and the embarrcadero. There are hiking trails, Hearst Castle, wine tasting and other small quaint villages within a few minutes drive.

When we arrived there was a botttle of chilled champaigne waiting for us.

La Serena Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We'll be here for your next anniversary celebration. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    91
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
98
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

To say we enjoyed a four day stay at La Serena - Morro Bay, is an understatement! The room was near the elevator on the 2nd floor, and, but for luggage being rolled across a tile floor during checkin/out, was serene and comfy. Large room, king bed and bathroom is tastefully decorated. We travel a lot, cross-country with our quiet, calm, non-shedding poodle Curly. He'd even give La Serena four paws up - except for the $28/nt pet charge(s). Friendly management, helpful staff, satisfying breakfasts, attractive landscaping, and cool covered parking are definitely pluses.

Room Tip: View rooms - 2nd floor and above. Small bay-facing balcony is great for sunset libations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
The staff of the La Serena Inn is so pleased to know you both and Curly had such a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again on your next trip to our beautiful area.
Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I stayed here on a trip down the coast last month via Groupon and it was such a good deal! The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the kids loved the waffle machines, and the location was great, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are happy to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and the best rate.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean and all the staff polite and helpful. Breakfast was awful. I appreciate they state it is complimentary but I would rather they did not offer any. I know it's down to personal taste but this was aloud of sugary rubbish on offer. Apart from that if returning we would consider staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
The staff of the La Serena Inn is happy to know your stay was comfortable. We apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding breakfast, we do try and provide something for everyone. We hope you'll visit us again when you come to Morro Bay.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Welcoming and friendly staff, rates were good. Great location, walking distance to ocean and Main Street. Our room was spacious and clean and the king bed was very comfortable. We will defiantly be coming back... Thanks for such a nice getaway :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It's our pleasure to know you had a lovely getaway, thanks for giving us the opportunity to provide you with excellent guest service. We look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to call us direct for the exact room type and the best rate.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last few years. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. The location is within walking distance to the water, beach and restaurants. They have a great, complimentary breakfast every morning. Keep up the great work, La Serena Inn and I will keep coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for another awesome review. We love to hear from our repeat guests and look forward to seeing you again.
Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Address: 990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Serena Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.