We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Serena Inn to your Saves list
La Serena Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
woking
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to the harbour, shops and restaurants. The breakfast was fun too, we really liked making our waffles. The staff were helpful, and all at a good price too. We would gladly stay here again if in the locale.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We look forward to seeing you again and we'll have the waffle iron hot for you.

Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    87
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
95
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This mid-size motel is located about two blocks from all of the action in Morro Bay. The rates are great - king size bay view room for $104 a night (with a $15 off per night TripAdvisor coupon). My traveling companions had a double queen bed room for only $74. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a microwave and small refrigerator. Two sinks (one just outside the bathroom). Included is a full continental breakfast with waffles and eggs and late afternoon sparkling cider and snacks. A great bargain!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
The La Serena Inn thanks you for your nice review of your stay with us. We love to hear when everything comes together to make a wonderful stay for our guests. We hope you will come back and see us again.

Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We choosed this hotel for a stop on our way from L.A. to San Francisco. We were delighted by everything. Our room was quite big, perfectly clean, with the nice old style furniture. Free parking. Helpful staff at the reception. Breakfast included in the price.
In a room we found a booklet written by the hotel owner, who described how he felt in love with this hotel and Morro Bay. He recommended bird watching, as this area is famous for this activity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We at the La Serena were very happy to read of your enjoyable stay with us, thank you for the lovely review. Come back in January for the annual Winter Bird Festival we have here in Morro Bay.

Best regards,

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel once a month for 3 years and was always given a great deal. But yesterday I had to cancel my stay due to a change of plans. I was told the hotel was at 72% occupancy and so I would be charged for the room. When I called this morning I was told that the hotel was at 99% occupancy and since my room wasn't rented I would be charged. I understand that 24 hour cancelation policy is standard. You'd think that after 3 years of my business some exceptions would be made!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
The La Serena Inn would like to apologize for any inconvience you experienced as a result of the cancellation policy. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will be staying with us again soon.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I selected La Serena for a 2 night stay based on Trip Advisor reviews. My husband and I were not disappointed. Comfortable, clean and convenient location. We have been to Morro Bay before, so did not need a view of "The Rock". Our room was on the second floor and had a small balcony--great for having a glass of wine and enjoying the south facing view, which was okay, but nothing spectacular. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was standard, but view from the Garden room was great. All in all, a wonderful stay in Morro Bay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
The La Serena Inn thanks you for taking the time to post your review. We were so happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We will be here for you on your next trip through beautiful Morro Bay.

Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Loved it! Walked in without reservations after spending bad night in neighboring inn. Got a king fireplace suite for way less than other place for room 3x bigger with balcony & better view of rock & bay. Huge bathroom & had tempurpedic mattress! Also has DirecTv. Loved the amenities & very clean! Room faced street but didn't hear any noise; great wall insulation. Staff was soooo nice; even let us check out 3 different rooms so we could decide on which view..rock or south bay. Either is great! Evening reception refreshments and expanded continental breakfast with great view from eating area. Will definitely stay here again, as soon as we can get away again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
We here at the La Serena Inn were so happy to provide you with an awesome stay. We continually strive to make every guest's experience with us as pleasant as yours was. We are looking forward to providing you with another wonderful stay.

Best regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

La Serena is a three floor hotel. Not all floors afford a view. We chose a room on the 3rd floor with a perfect window facing the rock. This is a must have if you are going to Morro Bay. (Elevator, outside stairs and indoor stair available. Covered parking- have breakfast there- included; or walk two blocks to Carla's Cafe for great breakfast).
Room was large, very comfortable. One drawback, balcony not big enough or equipped with chairs. I think some 36 inch patio chairs would be a plus for the view rooms, but they would barely fit. Very clean- and enough space to move around if you just want to stay in the room for awhile and not feel cramped. I would go back to this hotel. Staff person seemed a little out of it, not super friendly, but didn't have to deal with her much. A caveat- memory foam beds. If you want to try one or have never slept in one, it IS different. 1st night wierd, by second night I wanted one at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the rock, spend the extra few dollars to enjoy the view or this become...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We were happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your input regarding the balconies and chairs. We are always on working improving the quality of our service. We hope to see you again.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Address: 990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Serena Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.