We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe

Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe
801 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442
805-772-4415
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 85 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
phoenix, az
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After being away for almost a year, I raved about this place and invited friends and family to breakfast this past week. We ordered. The servers were not very pleasant and the service was far below last year's great service. I ordered the cheese omelet hoping it had improved. It hadn't and even looked bad. Can't go wrong with the pancakes. Coffee needs to be upgraded. Also the dinnerware is looking it age. Lots of wear and tear. Needs some money pumped back into business. Oh, the views are terrific. Also the servers need a pep talk. Won't be back for awhile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    140
    38
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We lived in Morro Bay for ten years and this was our favorite place for clam chowder. On a visit back, we headed for Dorn's hoping it would be just as good as we remembered. It and the delicious sourdough bread were exactly the same - wonderful and so filling it makes a good meal without it costing a fortune. And did I mention the view? It's great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not the best experience dining out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The fried starters were both over cooked. My fish dish was very good and cooked properly. My wife's fish was under cooked and therefore not that great. She could not finish it but to the credit of our waitress, she took it off the bill. I would consider giving them a second chance if we go back to Morro Bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Central Coast Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I visit Morro Bay as often as we can (from the East Coast) and this is a "must do" for us. An old school seafood restaurant on a little bluff overlooking Morro Rock, the sunsets are beautiful. It is not fine dining but it is wonderful and in the tradition of the old days when movie stars passed through on their way to Hearst Castle from Hollywood. Very good chowder, decent wine list and full bar, and wonderful and well prepared seafood specials, including local catches. Best sourdough bread around, too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Out motel suggested Dorn's. I like the ambience, the waiters were friendly, and the view was great. I actually really liked the clam chowder. I had low expectations because of the reviews. The bread was delicious. My seafood platter was great . I would highly suggest this place for dinner. Not cheap howevr.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.