We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view with wonderful food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Off The Hook

Off The Hook
833 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
805-772-1048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 78 restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view with wonderful food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We happened the owner, George, right before departing in a bay cruise with our granddaughter. He mentioned he owned a few local restaurants in town in addition to bring a City Council member. He invited to try Off The Hook after our cruise & we are very glad we did! My husband & I shared the calamari appetizer, all strips with an excellent sauce. He had the clam chowder in a rosemary bread bowl which we all tried, fabulous chowder & the bowl enhanced the flavor. I had a specialty roll, very tasty & inventive....our 5 yesr old granddaughter had the kids Mac & Cheese, she ate it all, enough said? Excellent views of the Morro Rock, sand spit & bay.....enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    15
    19
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was good, the service was friendly and it had a great view. The clam chowder was a bit potato heavy for my taste, but the sushi was pretty good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Got great food and great service. We had seafood pasta and their own burger. Good beer - will recomend the Tapit IPA.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Seafood & Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Location of restaurant is good, near the main street and backs onto the beach area with views of Morro Rock. Service was good, my issue was the food, the price was very good, no doubt about it, but a lot of batter, deep fried. I think the calorie count was pretty high. I think restaurant could build on some solid foundations by making menu a little more-healthy? I am not a health nut. There were a lot of locals coming here, they like it.
I ordered a dinner of fish, shrimp, prawns I think, it was just so much I could only eat about half of it. Maybe offering broiled versions? Less batter?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, great location, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place overlooks the water, luckily for us both the seals and the Herons were feeling sociable that day.

As we were watching the pennies we filled up with clam chowder before looking at their Sushi Menu. The Chowder was the best I have ever had. The Sushi was reasonably priced, and they do amazing Cocktails.

PS: They love children in there too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off The Hook also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Off The Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off The Hook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.