We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of James Dean Junction

James Dean Junction
Junction 41 and 46, Cholame NOT Morro Bay!, Morro Bay, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 Attractions in Morro Bay
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As an old movie buff this was a must see. I found it a bit sad that the memorial is in the parking lot of a restaurant and was funded by a private citizen of another country.
The actual site of the crash, or as close to it as you can get now, is marked with a few pictures on a barbed wire fence.
FYI, this is not in Morro Bay but at the eastern intersection where highways 41 & 46 cross on the way from highway 5 to Morro Bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Is this still a big deal?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We don't generally stop here when we drive to the beach, but I have to say the improvements to Hwy 46 are fabulous. It's the only way we go anymore.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“On the way to the coast coming from Bakersfield or Fresno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

It is a nice memorial that was put up to remember the site of James Dean's fatal car wreck from taking a corner too fast. The corner is visible. There is various memorabilia, post cards, etc and it is a quick stop to see and get a quick sandwich inside the cafe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is what I suppose you could call a dedication area at Jack Ranch Cafe on Route 41, but it's not really where the accident happened. I suppose if you happen to be driving by, it's interesting to check out, but not worth a special trip, that's for sure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Not in Morro Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I don't understand why Tripadvisor lists this as an attraction in Morro Bay...It's over fifty miles away from Morro Bay in the California coastal mountain range.

There's really not much here...there's a memorial plaque that talks about James Dean and his crash (which happened about a mile or so down the road). There's a nearby restaurant that has James Dean memorabilia.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Dean Junction also viewed

 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to James Dean Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Dean Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.