We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Ok room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View Inn

Save Saved
You added Bay View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay View Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Harbor Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, Ok room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Dated motel, worn carpeting, old style TV, DVD player didn't work, if you like firm beds you will like this one...but still, you can't beat the location or price. Walking distance from wharf, and downtown and really when you're that close to the beach how much time do you spend in a room??

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    21
    23
    34
See reviews for
19
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dinuba
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My expecting wife and stayed at this hotel while several of my family members camped close by. During our stay while walking the shops close by I decided to walk to my room 3:00pm keep in mined to get a couple things before we went to the camp site with family for the day. Two other adults and three young kids went up to the room with me and others stayed outside at the road curb waiting. After about 5 min the manager came to my room and started acusing me of extra people staying in my room. Also while I was sitting in a chair one of the arm rest was weak and broke. When I checked out in the morning I told the manager about the chair, he had no reply so I left. About 20 min later he called my cell phone and started rambiling about the chair and too many people in room again so I drove back the hotel to discusss the chair. He was very rude and kept going on and on about too many people staying in my room. I had guest two times in two days during normal day time hours maybe 30 min one day and 10 min another day. The manager was very rude and was quick to accuse me of sneaking people in my room to stay the night and use the shower. I will never stay in this hotel again and I do not recomend to know one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location was great! Only one block from the bay! The room was small and clean. The bathroom was super small and the shower was clean, but a little scary. If you need a hair dryer, be sure to ask for when checking in because there are none in the rooms. No A/C, but there was a small window in the bathroom that we were able to open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we arrived around 4 p.m., we were told that our room was still being prepared and that since they didn't have a king bed as we had reserved, instead we would get a room with a view (222). We walked along the waterfront for an hour or so, enjoying the fresh, cool air before we returned to our room. Fortunately, the clerk's info was incorrect, and we did get a king bed. The furniture and carpet had been recently upgraded and looked fairly fresh. There was a gas fireplace (which we didn't need to use) and old-fashioned wall heater. Though there was no A/C, a ceiling fan helped to reduce the afternoon stuffiness in the room.

Wifi and cable tv service was good, and the room was quiet in the evenings but loud in the morning when guests started to wake up and depart (all rooms face the parking lot/courtyard). There is no elevator, so you have to haul your luggage upstairs. No assistance was offered.

The pillows are old and flat, and the 4 poster bed squeaked quite alarmingly whenever we moved. The shower knob is plumbed backwards and you can scald yourself if not careful. The towels were small and thin, but clean. The bathroom amenities (shampoo, lotion and soap) were definitely low end. To my dismay, there was no hair dryer, which is somewhat universal in motels and hotels of all price ranges. So we had to hang around the room for a little longer in the morning to let my hair "air dry" before we went out to breakfast.

I have posted 2 pictures of the interior of room 222.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the side facing the bay; our room 222 had a view of the bay and the Rock, though you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

from june last year to june this year nothing has altered, same freindly owner who allways gives us a good deal and choice of rooms,parking is right outside the door making it ideal to leave our rented motorcycle, its only a few yards from the pubs and eating places so we walk to roses resturant on the ocean side and have fish and chips and a couple of pints of the local brew, all in all we had another enjoyable stay and are comming back in november

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at this place for one night on the way back to Los Angeles after getting it out of one of those coupon books which are everywhere in the USA.
At the coupon rate it was okay value for a night but definitely would not have wanted to pay the full rack rate.
The motel is old and a bit knocked around and the rooms are pretty dark but they did seem clean and the bed was okay.
The breakfast was very basic but was okay and about what you would expect for this level of place.
On the positive side the owner was friendly and did his best to please.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were talked into taking a roomy room for our party of five. Holes in the wall, missing pictures and a general grimy feel made this motel a definite must not stay. Looks fine from the outside, but do not be deceived. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Inn

Address: 225 Harbor Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bay View Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Morro Bay
Bay View Morro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.