We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy room but way overpriced. ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Morro Bay to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   590 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Twin Dolphin Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy room but way overpriced. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on our travel down the West Coast.

I booked the room about two weeks before we stayed and they charged me $256 for a night's stay, which is more than double what the hotel is actually worth. I paid extra for a sea view too. It's a slight stretch to call it a sea view as you're no where near the sea.

The rooms are large and clean and the bed was comfy, I can't fault that, but for that price is expect nothing less.
Breakfast is included and its appalling. I mean really poor.

My wife is 7 months pregnant and I requested a room away from the noise of the elevator and restaurant.
When we got to the room it was right next to the elevator and opposite the restaurant where breakfast is served. When I say opposite, I mean 4 feet away.
Really disappointed in that. What's the point in asking for a request.

I wouldn't recommend staying there in the hotel or Morro Bay. I'd drive another few minutes and stay in San Luis Obispo. It's ten times better.


Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    125
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
84
163
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean room looks new, or just newly renovated checked in late, check in no problem very near actually very short walk to embarcadero where the restaurants are price for the size of the room is worth it we got the room with 2 queen sized beds check out also was also a breeze all of the staff were friendly and kind and willing to help. Will recommend to anybody

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel was perfect! Walk down the street towards the ocean where Morro Rock erects wonderfully. We ate at Windows on the Water overlooking the infamous Rock. What a view and meal! From local oysters, soft shell crab etc. great wine! Awesome experience! The breakfast was included and food however we had to go looking for someone to fprefill, coffee thermos. Parking was free and as wifi. Excellent find!

Room Tip: Our balcony overlooked the Ocen and Morro Rock. Awesoem view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Az
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a room online and expected a typical Comfort Inn..$107. Coming in from the parking a pile of old washers and dryers and drapes ? were by the doorway...still there when we left next day. We went to our room on the third floor...the hallway was hot and stuffy and the room the same. Turned on the AC at 4:00 when we checked in, room was the same when we returned at 7:00 PM...AC did nothing to cool or refresh it. The sink drain would only drain very slowly...wait a while and eventually... So we called the desk. The night clerk was nice...but no room change, no fix at all for sink...and as I insisted, he checked with the manager and offered a "portable air conditioner"...which he brought up and it was a fan which did not work. He said we could get another room for more money...we declined. There was no coffee available and breakfast didn't start until 07:00 AM ...no exceptions !....we needed to be on the road by 7:00 so we left. What a second rate zero service place. The bed was comfortable even in a tacky room and hotel. Comfort Inn isn't what it once was.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Tulafaye,

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations during your stay at the hotel. We never want our guests to feel the way you did during their stay. The items in the parking garage are from a room being renovated and will be removed. Aside from the room under renovation, the entire property was renovated with everything brand new only 2 years ago. As for the non-working items in your room, I am truly sorry those problems were overlooked and not fixed before the time of your arrival. It is true the coffee is not available in the breakfast room before 7:00am, but that is why we offer coffee makers in the guests rooms so that they may have fresh coffee available at anytime. Your feedback is very valuable and will we use it to make sure to prevent things like this from happening in the future.

Sincerely,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At check in we were greeted by a nice young lady who did not advise us it was 4 hours before we could check in...she promptly checked our rooms and let us know they were almost ready. When inquired she showed us up to a room that resembled ours. We asked about a room with a different view. Without question or hesitation she found us two rooms next to each other with a view! One was already cleaned and she let us check in with keys to both rooms and sent us up with a complimentary bottle of wine for "all of the trouble"!

We were so impressed with her customer service and willingness to see we were completely happy! I have not had hospitality like this in a really long time.

Rooms were as expected. all amenities were in good working order. Bedding clean and very comfortable. The breakfast choices abundant and impressive.

We walked to local artisan shops and dinner.

Highly highly recommend this Inn :)

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room with a view of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location. Close to restaurants and shops making it easy to get around. Hotel very clean and good breakfast.
Beds were very comfortable and had a great view of the Bay.Would stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Had room facing the Bay. Very scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here earlier this month on assignment. Reserved room was not to our liking and the staff went above and beyond to make the necessary changes. Simple but delicious breakfast included. Whats not to like. Reasonable price, great staff, clean rooms and free breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Morro Rock when making reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear tom_treddless,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you with the room you were looking for. We try to accommodate all guests to the best of our ability. The complimentary hot breakfast is a popular bonus with scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, pastries, cereals, etc. Again thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in California.

Best regards,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Morro Bay

Address: 590 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Twin Dolphin Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Morro Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 block up from the waterfront and within walking distance to all of the local shops and restaurants. We offer rooms King Beds and Two Queen Beds many of which have ocean views over looking Morro Rock. All rooms are newly renovated and have 40" TVs, microwaves, coffee makers, A/Cs, iron/ironing boards, free HOT breakfast which consists of freshly made waffles, scrambled eggs and meats, onsite fitness facility, and free WIFI. Most rooms have balconies. We are a 100% Smoke & Pet free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Dolphin Hotel Morro Bay
Twin Dolphin Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.