We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Morro Bay

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Morro Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   590 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Twin Dolphin Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had one night in Morro Bay as part of a road trip and whilst this is a budget hotel, it was hard to fault. We arrived early but check-in was a breeze and our room was ready. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated with a big bathroom and great shower. We had a view of the Bay and the complimentary breakfast was very tasty. The location is fantastic, a very quiet street and just one block from the waterfront and the quaint bars, shops and restaurants. The views out across the Bay to Morro Rock were fantastic, especially when the sun sets. I would return to Morro Bay again and would defnintely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear gftimes2,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the services and amenities we offered. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip out to Morro Bay. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Safe Travels,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    81
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
112
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Modiin, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our drive down the coast. Mattresses left us with a bit of a back-ache even though the staff said they were new. We also had to wait a bit for a luggage cart because they had only one and it was in use. Other than that, the stay was good. Free Wifi worked well, good free parking, and good free breakfast. Nothing too fancy, but it's above average for a chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Avishay789,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back in the states. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483

Safe Travels,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why this hotel is getting three star ratings. It's no Ritz, but it's only two blocks from the MB waterfront with secure parking, free breakfast and courteous service.
Our room was quite big, double queen with large flat screen TV and sitting area with a desk. Parking is below, rooms up top. Easy walking to Main Street businesses and waterfront shops and food. Would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Zwerski,

Thank you for your feedback and for the positive review. We are a mid scale hotel that is geared towards providing our guests value for what they paid. We offer completely renovated rooms which have 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, a hot breakfast and located just steps from the waterfront. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and saw value in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Best Regards,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the comfort inn for one night and had a great time. The hotel was clean and the rooms are big. We ended up checking in at the same time as 5 other groups and the front desk handled it great and let every person know she would get to them soon.

My only issue was the breakfast since they ran out of everything (including coffee) and were slow to replenish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Rani C,

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you were acknowledged by our staff and promptly attended to in an efficient manner. We value every guest and your business is appreciated. Our breakfast attendant does continuously check on our breakfast to make sure it is adequately stocked but she may have been very busy that morning. I do apologize about that and will bring that to her attention so she can make the necessary changes. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Sincerely,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here one night the last week of June. Selected this property due to TA reviews and price - which was about $114. for a king bedded room. In my opinion it should be well under $100. , but I do realize that June is the higher season.
Our room was quite large with a huge king bed with an obviously new comfy mattress which I thoroughly enjoyed. The room is painted in dark brown tones and generally had a dark feeling. Completing the room décor was a big desk with an equally large "executive" style leatherlike chair. There also was another upholstered chair and lamp in the corner. Toilet, and shower over tub separate from sink/vanity area. Vanity light very dim.
Besides the comfy mattress, I was most impressed by the very pleasant breakfast room. Lots of windows and light with a tile floor with tables spaced apart nicely. Clean and well attended to by a helpful and friendly lady. Another plus was the front desk clerk, Julie, who always remembered our names when we passed thru the lobby.
Don't think I'd stay there again unless I was looking for a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Alwaysonthego_10,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our accommodations and the amenities that we offered while receiving great customer service. Our hotel is the new prototype of what all the Comfort Inn's will be transitioning to so we are happy to know that you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Best Regards,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very clean, big room. Sink outside shower is always appreciated. Breakfast very nice. But why so expensive? This was the most expensive hotel of our 8 night stay in California, by far, which included mariposa, monterey and Anaheim.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Kevin K,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. I apologize that you found us to be expensive. We try to provide value for what you pay and price our rooms accordingly to the demand of the town. With it being peak summer and a coastal market, our prices do reflect that. During your stay it was a busy 4th of July weekend and our rates are higher during special events. However with that being said, we do stay competitive with our rates. Our winter rates do start in October and hopefully we can see you then. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Best Regards,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently opened as a Comfort Inn, just a short walk from the waterfront. Front desk staff very nice and friendly. The corridors were very hot. The breakfast area was a pleasant atrium with an adequate breakfast. Morro Bay is excellent for visiting Hearst Castle which was my reason for staying there and I was able to get a bus, although the last bus left the Visitors Centre at 5pm. Very pleasant and peaceful walking by the bay in the morning and you are able to walk around the rock just so far, passing sea otters and around the other side is the Pacific Ocean and surfers to watch. Morro Bay seems to be a 1 taxi firm town. I was travelling around on the train and needed a taxi to take me to the bus stop so I could get to San Luis Obispo to catch my next train and nobody answered so I had to drag my luggage up myself in the heat. i thought the town was lovely with lots of individual little shops and a couple of decent supermarkets at the top end should anybody need anything. A really nice little beach town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear 643Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our downtown location convenient to all the local shops and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Safe Travels,
Lacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Morro Bay

Address: 590 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Twin Dolphin Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Morro Bay 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 block up from the waterfront and within walking distance to all of the local shops and restaurants. We offer rooms King Beds and Two Queen Beds many of which have ocean views over looking Morro Rock. All rooms are newly renovated and have 40" TVs, microwaves, coffee makers, A/Cs, iron/ironing boards, free HOT breakfast which consists of freshly made waffles, scrambled eggs and meats, onsite fitness facility, and free WIFI. Most rooms have balconies. We are a 100% Smoke & Pet free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Dolphin Hotel Morro Bay
Twin Dolphin Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Morro Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.