We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wine, cheese and sunsets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of STAX Wine Bar & Bistro

STAX Wine Bar & Bistro
1099 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
805-772-5055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 80 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Tapas, Vegetarian
Description: STAX Wine Bar& Bistro Featuring Gourmet Tapas starting at $6. Imported Meats, Cheeses, Olives, and MOre. Crositinis, Paninis, Huge Prawn Cocktail, OVER 120 Local and Imported wines. Wine by the Glass, Taste or Bottle. Live music Thursdays and Sundays. Morro Bay's Coolest Wine Bar!
Restaurant details
Description: STAX Wine Bar& Bistro Featuring Gourmet Tapas starting at $6. Imported Meats, Cheeses, Olives, and MOre. Crositinis, Paninis, Huge Prawn Cocktail, OVER 120 Local and Imported wines. Wine by the Glass, Taste or Bottle. Live music Thursdays and Sundays. Morro Bay's Coolest Wine Bar!
Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wine, cheese and sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Where else can you have wine, cheese, small plates and the sunset? I'm open to suggestions. We enjoyed good local wines, several small plates including a cheese board, a very crisp Caesar salad, and yummy porcine and portabello crostini with way too many tastes to list. Very friendly staff, nice ambiance, and a sunset...beach visiting at it's best.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend An Afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wanted to try Stax for quite awhile and finally went for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. Morro Bay in general was packed but Stax only had a few tables full. I hope that changes for them very soon because this was a great find! We decided on the wine tasting menu (5 wines) and started with a German Riesling and ended with a lovely red blend. We weren't disappointed by any of the wines and would have ordered a glass of any one of them. We also ordered oysters on the half shell (local and delicious!), the wedge Caesar salad, the Portobello crostini and the fillet mignon crostini. Everything was fabulous! Service was friendly and attentive, however tasting wine in 1oz. servings creates timing challenges for the servers, however, they were always responsive when we flagged them down for our next tasting. I would recommend that they give at least 2oz. servings with fewer wines perhaps (esp. when you're combing a meal with the tasting) so you don't have to flag them down at all. We'll definitely be back to try their Panini's and other tapas. We were tempted to join their wine club (3 bottles/4x per year) because they source the wines from over 100 local wineries so the variety would be excellent. Maybe next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great for bottle of wine and dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had some help selecting a really nice bottle of wine to accompany our dinner. They have a great selection of wine at all prices so you don't end up with high end when you are on a budget. We had the meat and cheese platters to accompany and it was all delicious. My husband tried desert too and was smiling so I guess it was good.

We did go back a couple of days later for a glass of wine and were a little disappointed. The selection of wines by the glass was pretty limited which is a shame when there are so many great bottles in the place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were on our way to Cambria but stopped here for lunch at Morro Bay. Try the grilled wild king salmon on toasted ciabatta bread...it was so tasty. And the caprese martini salad was delicious! Love the fresh bufula mozzarella and basil tossed in olive oil with two grilled crostini on the side. We did a taste test a white wine, and it was perfect. Very happy with the food here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“From a Morro Bay local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good ambiance and views, wide selection of wines to taste at reasonable fee, friendly service. Light appetizers and food offered. The food specials are typically very good. Rendezvous for hors d'oeuvres (too bad the French don't have words to express that thought).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed STAX Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to STAX Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage STAX Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.