We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for dinner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocca's Surf Shack - CLOSED

Rocca's Surf Shack
945 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
805-225-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Rocca’s Surf Shack is locally owned and operated by Todd Collins and his family. Rocca’s Surf Shack is a surfer-themed, waterfront restaurant offering a spectacular view of the bay and Morro Rock. We specialize in fresh seafood, great burgers, refreshing salads, and most of all fun.Our killer fish tacos are out of this world and our famous Surfers Combo offers the best of both worlds–two pieces of our hand-dipped beer battered fish with our house made fresh potato chips along with our fresh and creamy clam chowder served in a fresh baked sourdough bread bowl.
Restaurant details
Description: Rocca’s Surf Shack is locally owned and operated by Todd Collins and his family. Rocca’s Surf Shack is a surfer-themed, waterfront restaurant offering a spectacular view of the bay and Morro Rock. We specialize in fresh seafood, great burgers, refreshing salads, and most of all fun.Our killer fish tacos are out of this world and our famous Surfers Combo offers the best of both worlds–two pieces of our hand-dipped beer battered fish with our house made fresh potato chips along with our fresh and creamy clam chowder served in a fresh baked sourdough bread bowl.
Mexico City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good choice for dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a day on the road, a friendly staff and a good meal are always wellcome!!! Soup was great and my seafood selection were good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun place, good fish taco's and Landshark Lager!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Friendly staff, great location and view and beach vibe setting too! Clam chowder is a little different but very good and the fish taco's we simple but tasty and more than enough to eat. Check this place out!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent and very fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The mussels were delicious and the broth so tasty I couldn't leave any. The mixed fried fish was ok but possibly a little heavy on the batter. Very friendly service and a great low key place to go

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fish is bomb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Fish and chips so good. Big crispy pieces. Fries are crunchy and seasoned. Clam chowder bowl is was delicious. Tartar sauce was okay. But overall I was very satisfied. Although I do think they need to open at 11am instead of noon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband loves seafood, so we made sure to stop here. The girls behind the counter made sure I had an awesome vegetarian meal that I would go back for in a heartbeat! (Ask about the black bean patty tacos!) The view is wonderful and the atmosphere is fun and relaxed. I'm told the fish and chips were delicious! We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocca's Surf Shack also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocca's Surf Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.