We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slooooowwwww....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top dog coffee bar

Top dog coffee bar
857 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2117
805-772-9225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 80 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Merida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Slooooowwwww....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

After a brisk walk on the dog beach north of the rock, we drove to Top Dog for a hot coffee or chai. There were about five people ahead of us in line, which we figured would go quickly. We were wrong. We had time to read multiple newspapers while waiting for our coffees. The coffees when we got them were delicious and the place is charming, with indoor tables, tables on the street and some in the backyard patio. Overall we loved it but we think their barista needs to step it up a bit...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, CA
1 review
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great place for coffe and light breakfast. LOts of locals.. always a good sign

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Cappuccino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great little place for coffee and fresh breakfast! Returned two days in a row. One of the best cappuccinos too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templeton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Patrick is the coolest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

owner patrick is awesome full of energy, which means he's probably full of his delicious coffee

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I used to work out in Morro Bay a couple times a week for years, until I changed work locations. I was always excited on those days because it meant that I got to go by Top Dog (2 Dogs for those who remember) It's definitely one the best coffee shops on the whole central coast. Unfortunately, for health code reasons, dogs are not actually allowed inside. There are some patio tables where people can relax with their pals. Great atmosphere, and wonderful staff. Now keep in mind that it's a laid back town. So don't run in there at the last minute hoping to get in and out of there like some big chain shop. It's more for treating yourself in a relaxed setting. I still live just under a half hour away, so on certain days I love grab my doggy buddy and swing out there just before we hit the beach for a walk.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top dog coffee bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Top dog coffee bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top dog coffee bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.