We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1050 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Full Bkfst or Lunch
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cerritos, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Third time I've had the privilege of staying here. A quaint "retro" motel completely refurbished. The accommodations are great (although we think there could be more table/shelf space to put stuff on in the bathroom). We improvised by moving one of the small nightstands into the spacious bathroom. Hailey greeted us upon our arrival and personally escorted us to our room to explain the amenities. Jim (I believe he's the owner) was there for our departure and was nice enough to lend me some tools for a minor car problem. Everyone affiliated with this first class operation was super friendly, from the owner to the maid! Although they don't have a restaurant, they include breakfast at one of 3 or 4 local establishments. My favorite is Frankie and Lola's - a short 2 block walk down by the water looking straight at 'The Rock". looking forward to staying again next trip up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Captain Dale

It was great having you and several of your friends stay with us this past week. I'm really glad you all enjoyed our place again and we really appreciate your business. Thanks for your great comments about Haley too, I will pass them on to her today. I hope all went well with the car trip home.

Until next time, I hope you have a super summer!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    68
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A little bit of vintage seaside charm with all the modern conveniences most of us want nowadays! The location is perfect; just a few short blocks from the beach and main street of shops and restaurants. I can't remember the name of our room, but it was modern, clean, roomy and very comfortable (lovely large bathroom too).

You get a coupon for breakfast which is a good add-on (we used ours at Frankie & Lola's for a delicious start to the day).

Great value for a little seaside town. We would absolutely stay here again if we're in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Rebecca

Thank you for your nice review on the inn. I'm very glad you enjoyed our place and loved the breakfast too. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about our cozy place.

Safe travels back home....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Jim at Beach Bungalow was phenomenal in helping us arrange rooms for our out of town guests coming into town to celebrate my husband's 40th bday party on the 4th of July weekend.. The rooms were very clean and contemporary with the most comfortable feel. The breakfast that was included was a pleasant surprise and all of our guests we more than pleased . Would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Brenda

THANK YOU for the great comments! Boy, it must of been a great surprise 40th birthday celebration for your husband over the 4th of July because all your guests had big smiles on their face all weekend. Thanks for letting us take care you all and we really appreciate you choosing us to be part of your special weekend.

Have a great rest of the summer and we all hear look forward to seeing you again.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights in June as a home base for exploring the Central Coast area of California. We really enjoyed our stay at Beach Bungalow. We like a quieter place to crash at night and had all of the amenities we required. The breakfast coupons are a great added feature that we enjoyed as well. We are now big fans of Frankie and Lola's...amazing breakfasts! My wife actually left some jeans behind and Jim was more than accommodating in getting them back to us at home. Our only negative (small) is that the Estero room we had is somewhat noisy in the morning due to the cleaning staff working on the back side of the building directly behind our room. Again, a small detail but if you like to sleep in at all you might want a room further away from the main office. It is a quaint and laid back place with great charm and the hospitality is second to none.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the office are a bit noisier in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Good Morning Smiths!

Thanks for the great review and we really appreciate you staying with us. I'm glad you loved many things about our inn and Morro Bay. Thanks for the note on the noise and I apologize for the inconvenience. I have fixed the problem to insure our staff waits until later in the day to conduct any general hotel or grounds maintenance on property near the building in the future.

It was a pleasure meeting you during your stay and glad the jeans got home.

Warm regards,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Morro Suite which was very lovely! From arrival to checkout everything was great, the staff very friendly! The Morro Suite is more like a high end apartment, it had a full kitchen, living area, bedroom and 2 bathrooms which was nice. I stayed during the week and the price was very reasonable for such a high end boutique B & B especially in the summer time! I would highly recommend staying here over big hotel chains! They have a nice seating area and fire pit outside that you can sit and relax by. Everything was excellent! Will be staying here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi there Maacah

Thanks for staying with us this past week and also passing on your personal experience from your visit while staying at the Beach Bungalow Inn. It was a pleasure meeting you for the short time while you were here and I'm really glad you had an enjoyable night in one of our King Suite Guest Rooms.

I hope you have a terrific 4th of July in Morro Bay and please enjoy the rest of your summer!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We just stayed here for one night but were pleasantly surprised by how peaceful and quiet it was. I am a light sleeper and usually use earplugs while traveling, but, without earplugs, my daughter and I slept until 10:00 am! Quite unusual for me as whatever noises going on outside usually wake me up much earlier. The room was very clean and the linens were nice. I really liked the wood floors because you know they are really clean as opposed to most hotel carpets. The place is pet friendly but there was no odor of pets in the room. The bathroom is small and old, but that was expected, and we weren't staying there for the bathroom. There was a ceiling fan in our room which I loved! As well as a fireplace, which we didn't use, but it added to the ambience. We spent an hour or so by the fire pit listening to the fog horn and sea lions bark and in the morning headed over to Frank and Lola's for a fantastic breakfast after which we drove down to the rock (literally 30 seconds away) and got out and watched about 10 sea otters playing and doing their thing in the water right offshore. The staff was very nice, but be aware that they are gone at night and not back until the morning (not a problem for us, our nice Coloradan neighbors had a wine opener). I would definitely stay here again and I am quite picky about my overnight lodgings, even if it is for just one night. If you have kids, make sure to ask the staff about dog beach a few miles up PCH. It's covered in sand dollar shells and sand crab shells.

Room Tip: You can view the rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello!

Thank You for staying with us and sharing all your outstanding experience with others regarding your visit to the Beach Bungalow Inn. It sounded like you and your daughter had a terrific time in Morro Bay and you enjoyed the serenity of our little inn and nature at its best!

Come back and see us again soon and I hope you have a terrific summer!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a lovely place to stay, so clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and parking right outside your door. We were shown to our room and told how to operate the gas fire. I was amazed how it worked - turn the thermostat up and the fire came on - I want one at home !! We took a walk down to the waterfront and ate while watching the seals playing in the water. Enjoyed breakfast at Frankie &Lola's using the breakfast vouchers we had been given at check in. We were only there on night, but if we find ourselves in Morro Bay again we would stay here again only for longer. We met Jim when we checked out - he was so nice - would definitely recommend Beach Bungalow Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi there!

It was a pleasure to meet you when you stayed with us, sorry it was just the one night. Thanks for telling others about your guest experience at our inn and I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and the tasty breakfast.

Take care and we hope to see you again!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Address: 1050 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 14 room property that is located in a lovely down town location on the primary path to the beach and bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms give you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by with all of the luxury of a modern experience. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from your garden patio. The beauty of the hard wood floors and cleanliness of the rooms will permit you to forget the world you left behind. The unique garden setting will enhance your stay and you may find yourself enjoying a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening while you listen to the sounds of the ocean waves. In the morning you may choose to meander to numerous local restaurants which are a brief and relaxing walk from the Beach Bungalow. Once there you may enjoy a selection from their full menu courtesy of the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites. Again, we welcome your visit and are pleased to serve you. We're proud that you chose to rest at the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, Morro Bay.*Kitchenettes in suites only (El Morro and Abalone Rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.