We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, with a view of the Rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1050 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Full Bkfst or Lunch
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place, with a view of the Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We wanted an economical place to stay, with a view of the Rock. We stayed in the Peregrine room, and it was superb - a spotlessly clean, cheerful room, with a nice little porch.

When we checked in, Morro Bay was socked in with fog and there was no rock in sight. They told us, "Trust us, you'll see it." We woke up the next morning to brilliant sunshine and the Rock looking like it was almost in the front yard.

What a sweet place to stay! Friendly people, great view, perfect setting. If you're hungry, you can walk just a block and eat at the Hungry Fisherman - yum!! I would love to go back and stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are really happy the weather was perfect for you for your visit and you experienced the ROCK of Morro Bay. We appreciate your business!

We hope we see you again in the future.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    76
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
180
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went on our baymoon to California and decided to drive down the PCH from San Francisco to LA. We picked this place based on the reviews and its proximity to the midway point of our route. As the reviews state, the outside doesn't reveal how nice this inn really is. That being said, there is a cute little fire pit situated in the middle of the parking area that we used to enjoy a pizza from Sabetta's. We knew we would be showing up late and the staff actually called us to let us know how to get our room keys so we could get into the room. When we arrived we opened the door into a cute little room that had a gas fireplace glowing as we entered. The pictures of the rooms don't do them justice. The bed (and pillows) were super comfortable, the heat (since it was cold) was controlled by automatically turning the fireplace on and off, the bathroom was spacious and clean. They have DirecTV on a decent sized flat screen and are a 5 minute walk from the waterfront (we never did find a beach close by though). We also received a voucher for breakfast or lunch at a few local restaurants where we could get a free entre and coffee. We chose Frankie and Lola's for breakfast and were not disappointed.

The one downside is that the office closes at 6pm and doesn't open again until 8am. It was not a problem for us since we like to explore on our own and we arrived too late to really enjoy the inn anyway. From my observations though, it seems like most of the hotels/inns around the area practice similar hours of operation.

Overall, a great little place to stay while in Morro Bay. Quality, comfort, and value were exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar, except for bed sizes/numbers. We stayed in the one right next to...
See more room tips
Green Features: Dog friendly, with a cute little dog house and water set out for your pups.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Scooter

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your visit to the Beach Bungalow and Morro Bay area. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again.

Take care,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a one night stopover enroute to San Fran from LAX. Outside looks a tad dated but don't be fooled, the rooms are renovated, spacious and well appointed. Lovely comfy bed in quiet area. Only 5 mins walk to waterfront. Good wifi and very obliging staff. Also received a breakfast voucher which we used at Frankie and Lolas Diner. Highly recommended. Great stopover if looking for a half way stop.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Tony

Thanks for your great comments and we are so glad you had a great trip along the coast. Come back and see us soon.

Cheers!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This motel was just a delight, after a number of shaky hotel experiences. It was clean, welcoming, and very comfortable. The evening turned chilly, and we used the fireplace, which gave the place a charming ambience. The hotelier was extremely helpful and friendly. They provide a voucher which can be redeemed for a complimentary breakfast at a waterfront diner called Frankie and Lola's, or a wine tasting experience, or the option of something else which I can't remember. We took the breakfast option. The motel offers free onsite, undercover parking. Such a pleasant place, we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, we really appreciate your time and valuable input.

I hope you come back soon, enjoy the rest of your summer!

Thank You....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked one night at this Hotel, travelling from Los Angeles to San Francisco. How we wish we had longer than 1 night. We stayed in the Pacific Suite and it was great for me, my wife and our adult son. We had a king size bed in the main room and our son had a double bed in his own bedroom. We both had separate doors to the bathroom, where there was a shower. The room was well equiped with televisions in both bedroooms, coffee making etc and was very clean and comfortable. We were given good tips from the very efficient lady we met at check in, who recommended a great local restaurant. Breakfast was included in one of three local restaurants and we chose to eat in the Hungry Fisherman, which was also excellent and just a short walk from the Hotel. We had a good nights sleep and spent a precious few hours in this wonderful resort and so wished we had at least another two nights to explore or relax further.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so happy you enjoyed some great times with the family.

Come back and see us again!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a ride up the coast and the only regret we had was that we couldn't stay longer. This was a fabulous place. Motel style as is everything in this fishing village town. But the staff (probably owner) wa super accommodating! Wow. Most friendly ever. Beds in the double were queen and rooms were recently renovated and super clean. Gas fireplace in our room too. And they gave us free breakfast coupons for a place in town. Frankie and Lola's QA fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Bucks County Family!

We are so glad you and the family enjoyed your stay at the Inn. Good luck with the school year and we hope to see you soon. Thanks for taking your time to add you comments, we appreciate it!

Cheers!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed 1 night on our way from Carlsbad to San Francisco. Cute place. I found this motel and it was exactly as described. We stayed in the Blue Butterfly Suite. It was very clean and had everything we needed. Used the fireplace as it was a little chilly. All went as planned. Had breakfast at Frankie and Lola's the next morning.......it was great!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Amy

Thanks for staying with us and I'm so glad you had a wonderful visit.

See you soon!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Address: 1050 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 14 room property that is located in a lovely down town location on the primary path to the beach and bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms give you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by with all of the luxury of a modern experience. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from your garden patio. The beauty of the hard wood floors and cleanliness of the rooms will permit you to forget the world you left behind. The unique garden setting will enhance your stay and you may find yourself enjoying a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening while you listen to the sounds of the ocean waves. In the morning you may choose to meander to numerous local restaurants which are a brief and relaxing walk from the Beach Bungalow. Once there you may enjoy a selection from their full menu courtesy of the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites. Again, we welcome your visit and are pleased to serve you. We're proud that you chose to rest at the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, Morro Bay.*Kitchenettes in suites only (El Morro and Abalone Rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.