We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should've booked two nights!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1050 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Full Bkfst or Lunch
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Should've booked two nights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Pre-booked a one night stay in Morro Bay. After visiting wished we had planned on a longer journey. Plenty to do in the area, and we are a family of 4 which includes two teenagers. Perfect amount of shops, restaurants, water and land activities. This hotel even offered two bicycles to use for guest which was a great touch! The breakfast vouchers offered lead us to eat at a wonderful beachside cafe too. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms clean. I would have liked more hooks, or shelves in the bathroom to hang all the towels and place toiletries though. Very peaceful location with plenty of parking. They even offer some comfy chairs outside with a gaslit fire pit to lounge by in the communal area of the parking lot. Nice staff. Also had a history/tourist book about Morro Bay which was an interesting read and great to supply visitors with. Would stay again....but for more than one night next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to add you comments about our little family Inn. I hope you come back again to Morro Bay and please call us when you return.

Enjoy your summer!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    64
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
155
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My only disappointment was we were only staying one night !

This was our favourite place that we we stayed in during our time in California- modern , beautifully decorated , clean and large - a small bathroom but we knew that from the description.
Outside seating space and a fire pit in the evenings - perfect !

Just one small point was the lack of safe but it didnt impact on our stay

Its evident a lot of thought went into designing the Beach Bungalows and it was worth it

We ate at Frankie and Lolas - great service and wonderful home cooked food - the interior does not give an honest representation of the quality of the food !

Wish we could have stayed longer and I hope we can some back one day .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Rebecca

Thanks for staying with us and I'm glad you both loved our place and felt at home. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about our little cozy inn and hope you come back again soon!

Happy New Year!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hunt TripAdvisor no more if looking for fab, modern, and tasteful accomodation in Morro Bay! The Beach Bungalow has a boutique quality and feel and not at all what you would expect at an Inn in Morro Bay. We are nearing the end of a 5 week roadtrip with a baby, a 4 and 6 year old and nowhere in our travels, other than Vegas, have we stayed in such fab accommodation for the price. Where to start ......super clean establishment, neutral and fresh colour scheme with minimal and tasteful furniture, hardwood type floor, quality fittings, 2 flat screen TVs, a baby crib free of charge, high thread count bed linen, super comfy bed, plush bathrobes and slippers, white french shutters instead of drab curtains, romantic gas fireplace .....not the 'kitsch' type but the 'tasteful, modern and drink red wine all night in front' type. We had a one bedroom king suite which included a full kitchen in a seperate room and a large pullout sofa bed (with a comfy sprung mattress and the bed was ready and made up for us) in the loungeroom for our kids. Bonus is that the property is one storey so there is no-one above you and we certainly didn't hear any noise from other guests. The garden is immaculate and all outdoor areas are clean and in mint condition.

The other BIG bonus for us was the voucher for breakfast (2 full adult breakfasts of your choice- anything from the ENTIRE menu and not one or two cheapo options, as well as, unlimited coffee). After 4 weeks of suffering or avoiding some horrendous inclusive 'continental' breakfasts offered at the hotels we have stayed in on our trip this welcome change for an inclusive breakfast was a highlight and amazing value. Breakfast is a short stroll down to Frankie and Lola which is set just off the harbour where the voucher includes any item from the tasty and fairly gourmet breakfast menu,as well as, coffee after coffee after coffee.... oh and great service (we stayed 2 nights and so ate there twice). Our kids shared a 3 stack of large light and fluffy 'made from scratch' pancakes and an OJ and the whole bill came in at just under $8 for us as a family for a huge breakfast that we are normally paying for ourselves each time we escape the drab compulsory inclusive 'continental' breakfasts in other hotels/motels. Great to also support a local business!

The motel is privately owned and operated. We had exceptional service as the hotel isn't run to churn guests through but operated with integrity, dedication and passion. Our Internet would not connect in our room for some reason despite having a good signal and when we mentioned this to Jim (the owner) he immediately called out a service technician and had this corrected within a couple of hours. We also needed to print and scan a document while we stayed and this was no trouble at all and Jim was only too happy to help us out by doing this for us. The hotel even had some beach toys (buckets, spades, frisbees) for our kids to borrow!

Morro Bay is a sweet seaside town to stop at for a night or two and without hesitation we as a family would highly recommend staying at the Beach Bungalow!!! Thanks for a great stay Jim and family!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Abalone room which was on the end and so this meant only the lounge room and kitche...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great that they support quality local businesses with their breakfast or lunch voucher!!!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We really liked our overnight stay in this reimagined 60s (?) motel in a laidback fishing/surfing town. Were shown to our unexpectedly stylish and very comfortable room by the proprietor's daughter and soon had the 'fire' going to ward off chill. Small problem - wireless reception in room slow but fine on taking laptop to reception area. Local wine shop very good and if you buy wine there you can BYO bottle to The Galley restaurant for (yum, Maine lobster tail) dinner and watch the sun go down over the rock, wonderfully accompanied by barking seal background music. Can recommend Frankie and Lola's for voucher breakfast on a sunny morning, again overlooking the rock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I originally wrote a review for the Beach Bungalow, after a weekend stay. I was honest in my review about what I liked and didn't like. The location of this inn is great, near the waters and walkable to downtown. They allow pets and give you treats and poop bags when you arrive. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I mentioned two things we had problems with. 1) Our room was very small for the price we paid. 2) We got a handicap room without your knowledge. So I originally gave this inn 3 stars. After we arrived back home, I received a call from Jim, one of the owners. At first I thought I was in trouble for pointing out things we didn't like, but just the opposite, he thanked me for taking the time to write and really wanted to apologize for the things we weren't happy with. I have written a lot of reviews for hotels in other states and countries, this was the first time someone had contacted me. He wasn't trying to get me to change my review or harass me about it, I could tell that they really care what their customers think about the place. For this reason, I deleted my original review (which is not easy on Tripadvisor, you have to email them to delete it for you!), and I'm now writing this new one.

One of the reasons I picked this inn was because it's not a chain. We try to support local businesses when we travel and I'm glad we did. I try to be honest with my reviews so other travelers have a better idea of what they are getting. I still want you to know the things we had trouble with but also know that the staff really cares, and to me that counts for an extra star.

In my original review, I said you should do your research and maybe you could find something with better value. I take that back now, you should give this place a try, the people alone are worth your business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been frequent visitors to Morro Bay, but had not stayed here in the past. We stayed only one night at the end of a 15 day cross country journey with our dog.
We found this listing on petswelcome.com and were so pleased.
The place has been remodeled and was done very nicely. The attention to small details are what made this special....a nightlight in the bathroom, a doorstop to hold the door while unloading suitcases, robes and slippers, water, and a lovely journal for each room so that you can share a moment and see what other folks have experienced when they stayed in that same room. Also the bed and pillows were quite nice, tv and cable great, and the place was clean and very quiet, despite many pet guests during our stay. And another highlight, since they don't have a restaurant, they gave us a pass for a free breakfast at 3 choices in town. We chose Frank & Lola's which was amazing!!!! We will be back to both places!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Beach Bungalows for 3 nights at the end of April. We did not get to meet the owners during our stay but the lady who checked us in was very helpful. In spite of the looming smoke stack we loved Morro Bay and would return. It is also a great location to explore other nearby sites. I think the room we stayed in was called Sand Dollar. it was facing the street but there was no traffic noise.
Pros - Nicely decorated and clean
Wooden floors
Comfortable bed
Bathrobes & slippers provided
Cozy fake fireplace
Great breakfasts at Frankie & Lola's

Cons - Small bathroom with very little storage space
No bedside lamps
Noisy mini fridge
Noisy toilet which took forever to completely flush

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Address: 1050 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 12 room property that is located in a lovely down town location on the primary path to the beach and bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms give you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by with all of the luxury of a modern experience. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from your garden patio. The beauty of the hard wood floors and cleanliness of the rooms will permit you to forget the world you left behind. The unique garden setting will enhance your stay and you may find yourself enjoying a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening while you listen to the sounds of the ocean waves. In the morning you may choose to meander to numerous local restaurants which are a brief and relaxing walk from the Beach Bungalow. Once there you may enjoy a selection from their full menu courtesy of the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites. Again, we welcome your visit and are pleased to serve you. We're proud that you chose to rest at the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, Morro Bay.*Kitchenettes in suites only (El Morro and Abalone Rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.