We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous - Malodorous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heron and Cormorant Rookery

Heron and Cormorant Rookery
Morro Bay, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 11 Attractions in Morro Bay
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Morro Bay National Estuary, this is a popular place to view a variety of birds.
St. George
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Marvelous - Malodorous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a very interesting stop for nature lovers. You can visit the little history museum, then walk to the rookery. The birds are bountiful, so you must just accept that there will be an associated smell. Do visit, just don't plan on picnicking there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“No Guarantee to See Birds - But Still a Precious Site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

You are not guaranteed to see lots of birds when you go to this site. This is a fenced off area of the coastline in Morro Bay State Park very near the Natural History Museum. I have been there on two separate occasions, once last August and again in January a few weeks ago. On one occasion I did see a lot of cormorants roosting in the trees, but most of my visits I saw very few birds. There may be more activity in the nesting season, which starts about now for the herons and continues into the spring. This site has been used as a rookery for many years. As a result, there has been a lot of bird guano deposited and many of the trees are already dead from the contamination. It is still a very precious site widely recognized for its history and purpose. Stop by Windy Cove right next door to view the shore birds.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Put some vicks under your nose and enjoy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is an amazing rookery of great blue herons and cormorants. Yes, when visiting a rookery (any ole rookery) one encounters smells. Keep vicks vapor rub handy and enjoy. My husband and I (locals) have the rookery on our "To Do List," from March to May.
Have I mentioned that great blue herons look prehistoric...?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family Vacation to Morro Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were able to see the Heron Rookery from our Half-day Kayaking trip with Central Coast Outdoors. We were able to see the Great Heron's from the kayaks and able to get really close.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Early At SunRise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Wonderful birds- warming themselves in the red light.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heron and Cormorant Rookery also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Heron and Cormorant Rookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heron and Cormorant Rookery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.