We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morro Bay Charm - funky, comfortable, and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Adventure Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$288 STAY/PLAY/EAT/WINE
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Burbank, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Morro Bay Charm - funky, comfortable, and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I was very impressed with this small motel. It is well cared for, clean, and the location is perfect. It's walking distance to everything, slightly on the edge so you are not smack dab in the middle of all the touristy commotion. At the same time, it's right next door to a wonderful diner, and also there's a French bakery a few doors down. Every employee we encountered was extremely polite and accomodating, and we had the opportunity to also meet the owner - a lovely woman and artist who personally sees to every detail, and she is very helpful with any kind of information. The motel is located right on the Embarcadero, so the bay is right there in front of you with a great view of Morro Rock with access to the beaches also within walking distance. We couldn't have been more pleased, and plan to return there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    104
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
65
181
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Looking for that quaint "find" on the water? How about a quiet, family-run place, with great personal touches? WAnt a decent breakfast? We were, and based on some of the other reviews here we hoped this is where we'd find it. Not!!!!!!!! The inn is more Motel 6 than bed & breakfast. The room was tiny, ant-ridden, and hot as the heat was on in August without any thermostat. Our neighbors were loud (thin walls,) and the bedding was scratchy and torn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The Bayfront Inn is not a plush resort. It is not a place for the golfing elite who expect Egyptian cotton robes and aroma therapy. It is place is run by nice people who are upgrading as they go. In the morning, while the teenager slept in, I stepped out the hotel door and was greeted by a view of Morro Rock, which is almost directly across from the hotel. I went downstairs and collected my free cinnamon roll from Frankie and Lola's the restaurant next door ( which, by the way, has a killer breakfast menu). I came back to the Bayfront and helped myself to the free coffee located in the small pantry area. I then sat downstairs in the protected outdoor deck area and enjoyed the view. Soon I was chatting with an older couple who were traveling with their 2 dogs, which are welcome at the Bayfront in some of the rooms. Once my caffeine level was optimized, I walked across the street to the boardwalk. Shops, seals, fishing and pleasure boats in slips, restaurants, pelicans, art galleries, all just across the street. I scoped out the kayak rental place and by 10 AM, the teenager and I were paddling the Bay, amongst the seals, pelicans and otters. The Bayfront is clean, the towels are plush, the water pressure good. We had a mini fridge in the room. The mattress was a little stiff for my taste, the floor creaked a bit. All in all, I felt very comfortable, I was very pleased with the room rate, and would go back to the Bayfront anytime, wish it was tomorrow....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The only way to get closer to the GE plant than staying at the Bayfront Inn is to work there.
Ugh! The rooms are TINY. Although they say no smoking, my room, #8, smelled like someone was chain smoking 24/7. My children's room, #7, smelled better. The best I can say about this place is that it was clean. The only other thing to recommend it, is that it is
next to Frankie & Lola's, the best meal in town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

A very friendly, clean place - but rather alarmingly right next door to large power plant. Rooms were described as small and 'European' although this is about as American motel as I've ever seen (speaking as a European), and rooms a manageable size. Room was worth about half the $130 I paid, but Morro Bay was inexplicably full that weekend, so that would explain it. Motel very run-down, but lovely staff, and sweet touches like taffy gift on pillows and fan-folded toilet paper in an otherwise dilapidated bathroom! Also, check the weather forecast - it's rather bleak there when the fog is in (usual for summer).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Bayfront Inn is classified in Tripadvisor as B&B. It should rather be described as a small hotel/motel. This hotel is very nicely located, on the seafront in Morro Bay, close to the fishing boats. This is probably most interesting during other months than July/August. In this period, it seems that the coast often is covered with fog and you lose then a bit of the point with the view :-) We could however also hear the barking seals from the window!

You can easily walk from the hotel to a variety of restaurants from the hotel. We picked Galley which proved a brilliant choice - we had a superb fish dinner. We later discovered that it was also ranked 1st in Tripadvisor. Couldn't agree more.

We got checked-in quickly by a friendly receptionist at Bayfront Inn. The room was simple but comfortable and clean. The bed was ok and we slept well. Complimentary internet was good!

The breakfast offer (cinammon rolls) is nice... if you like cinammon/cakes for breakfast. Luckily for us (who do not like cinnamon...), we were a bit too early for the cinammon rolls (7:15) so we were offered some toasts instead with butter and jam - this is a good alternative which could be offered to all guests?

Overall don't expect anything very fancy but considering the location and the price tag, the Bayfront Inn is very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2009
This is a motel. Not a Bed and Breakfast. We do offer fruit and fresh brewed coffee in our Galley, and freshly baked cinnamon buns at the restaurant next door. We don't advertise as being a bed and breakfast -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Bayfront Inn. It was conveniently located on the waterfront in Morro Bay, and the room, while small, was very clean and had everything we needed. The management was very friendly, and we loved the free taffy and the cinnamon rolls! This place doesn't pretend to be a luxury resort. It's a very pleasant, old-fashioned motel, and it's close to everything you'd want to see in Morro Bay. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.