We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location beautiful, staff good. Rooms average. Somewhat overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Adventure Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$290+ tax BON VOYAGE!
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
BRISTOL
1 review
“Location beautiful, staff good. Rooms average. Somewhat overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Bay Front has a beautiful location, looking out over the Bay towards Morro Rock. And the welcome is warm and friendly. But the hotel needs a major upgrade to justify it prices. They acknowledge that the rooms are small - and they are. But they are also separated by very thin dividing partitions, and the decorations are in need of attention. They are not dirty, exactly, but they are dowdy. The patio would be a nice place to eat breakfast if someone took the trouble to wipe the dew off the chairs in the morning. And, if you have a balcony room, it provides a lovely view over the bay... but the hotel's outdated decor takes the shine off the experience. If the prices were reduced this hotel would be good value. If the owners want to keep their prices at the current level they should seriously uodate the place.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room with a view of the Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Sorry you felt our Mid Century decor dowdy. We furnish our rooms minimally to give our guests more space. Our beds are new as we want our guests to sleep comfortably which is also why we use 600+count cotton and fitted sheets. We wash the rugs before every guest and pay great attention to cleanliness. Plus every guest is welcomed to their room with a lot of perks, as you indicated. Our location is excellent, sea side, which is desired by tourists. Our pricing is more than affordable for our location and what we offer. We are a little mom & pop owned and operated place, not a franchise, and one of the oldest establishments. We are continually upgrading but have to wait until season is over as we do not want to disturb the guests. Sorry your neighbors were loud, as are the seals. We can control the guests after 10pm but not the seals. Once our outdoor carpeting and painting the exterior is complete over this winter we will post new pics. Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    102
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
63
176
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Found the Bayfront while searching for somewhere to stay while attending Oyster Festival.Rooms are a tad bit small, but so full of charm, with all the special touch's...goodies, water, juice in the room. Very clean and extra attention to level of bedding very much appreciated. Certificates for wine tasting down the street included, & yummie cinnamon rolls from restaurant right next door! The location is awesome, with a super view and so close to everything to walk to.The rates are so affordable, check out other places and you will see how much you save. We have never been to Morro Bay before, had a great time and will come back for sure and stay here again. Enjoyed chatting with Leigh upon arrival and Jane when we checked out. Highly recommend this little place by the sea!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks so much for trying us out! Remember we have lots of specials and hope you will hook up with us when you return! Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Found this little place on tripadvisor. I would not have thought to get a place with such a cool view at the last minute. The weather happened to have been idyllic so our entire stay was wonderful. When we talked to Lee, at the desk and Jane later in the stay, they only served to assert that I will not hesitate in calling there first for our next stay in Morro Bay. Both ladies were filled with a sweet charm, very informative about the area and have been there long enough to have many coupons for their guests to fully experience the fun of Morro Bay.
Yes, the room was small, but we got the Jacuzzi tub room, which was absolutely decadent. The bed was perfection for us and the little bowl of sweet treats and coffees demonstrated a true gift of hospitality.
One thing I did find a tad difficult was the barking seals. They seemed to sleep during the day and bark their messages to one another across the water through most of the night. I was simply wishing that they had been nightingales. (winks)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks so much for staying here and for your positive comments on Leigh and Jayne. ( Me, being Jayne!) We work hard to please.
There's nothing we can do about those darn seals, which do add charm when we aren't trying to sleep! But, we do have ear plugs for our guests, some of our guests take them and say its for the seals when actually.....haha, I'll leave it at that. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Best location in Morro Bay, wonderful friendly people. Room small but adequate and clean, with superb view. Many freebies to enjoy, especially the wine tasting. Coffee Pot good for brekkies, Frankie and Lolas very busy. Want to go back again now! Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We try hard to please and are very disappointed when those that come don't have the best moderate experience ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent a night here but we could have stayed a full week.
Wonderful view, very clean, high level bedding, warm welcome at the office, good breakfast.
This is a perfect location, just park your car and visit the town, everything is so close, the rock, the restaurants, shops ....
The night was very quiet and we had a great great night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We love what we do and work hard at giving the best to our guests. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoPortland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I would just have to copy everything Amy S. had to say word for word. We only stayed for one night but we would definitely book again, for one night or longer.
The owners (?) were so friendly and accommodating. We called ahead to say we were going to be late and they made everything so easy. The room was all set, with the light on.
Plus all the little extras, pleasant surprise! Personal touches like these you don't find in big hotels.
We arrived late and when we opened the blind in the a.m., there was the Rock! Perfect.
And don't forget breakfast at Frankie & Lola's, it was excellent!
Again, a true gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much - yes you must have met the owners, we work the front desk, do the maintenance, and blend into the scene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were small, but very clean & very quaint! What a gem! Great location to everything. And VERY friendly folks both at the inn and throughout town. Lots of little extras within the rooms! Wonderful touch!
We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your unsolicited review. We try to make the travel experience the best. Being an independent and owner run, we really care about every detail. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.