We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION, BUT ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Adventure Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$288 STAY/PLAY/EAT/WINE
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Winnsboro, Louisiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION, BUT ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Web-site says it is a "unique 16-room European style hotel. Most of our quaint rooms offer breathtaking unobstructed views of Morro Bay and its abundant sea life, famous Morro Rock, beautiful Estero Bay and the Pacific." -- It is a good location and Embarcadero is an interesting street, but the inn is tucked in a strip, part of it behind the restaurant, & a little difficult to spot. While I would not call the views unobstructed or breathtaking, you can see the bay and Morro Rock (at least from the upstairs window). And, instead of quaint, I think more of it as needing serious updating.

"In the morning watch the fishing boats coming and going while you enjoy a cup of coffee with delicious home made Cinnamon Buns delivered daily, piping hot from the oven of our onsite restaurant." -- You can watch the boats, but don't expect the cinnamon buns to be delivered, and don't go next door and expect to pick them up before 7:30 am.

There were snacks, bottled water & juice in the room. There were pop tarts & juice in "The Gallery" for b'fast.

The night we stayed was cold, and the only heater was a portable that stayed on only a couple of hours. It got very chilly in the room and freezing in the bathroom.

The (apparent) proprietress was nice and accommodating. The outside was neat & clean, but we were disappointed with the room. There was only a fitted sheet on the bed & it was maroon silk - not the norm.

We would not stay here again. We don't feel the cost equalled the quality. It was the most expensive stay of our 10-day trip, and definitely not in the top rankings.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
This guest booked online with booking.com for 1 night on a holiday weekend. They made late check in arrangements and went to their ocean view room 2nd story room on a weekend night. The rate they paid with tax was less than $100.
Morro Bay is an older town with lots of character, fishing boats in the harbor, and a general slow pace. Our hotel is in a fabulous location directly across from the harbor. Our property is also unique for Morro Bay because it is one of 3 that has a restaurant onsite...which is disclosed on the website.
Our rooms have breathtaking views from most of our upstairs rooms that face the harbor. The room that this guest booked enjoyed the views of fishing boats, the docks, the rock, water, and waves breaking on the jetty. Morro Bay doesn't have hotels on a sand beach. If the guest was looking for accommodations on the sand, Morro Bay isn't the place to stay.
Our heating system is by a portable heater which is on a thermostat. We have 24 hr. office help so if the guest didn't understand how to use the heater or set the thermostat the front desk could have been called and we would gladly help. We provide extra blankets in the room and a flat sheet.
We make up our beds in a European style with a fitted sheet then a duvet inside of the freshly washed duvet cover. We inform the guest about this when they arrive and it is explained in-room brochure which is in each room. As I stated this guest arrived late and we accommodated them by having the room open. There is a flat sheet and blanket in the room.
We are a fun property. Our continental breakfast includes Freshly Brewed coffee, Fresh local fruit, Hot Water for tea, Instant Oatmeal, and real brand Poptarts. Sometimes we even give our guests Moon Pies. This along with the option for the guest to get 2 freshly baked cinnamon buns to go from the restaurant next door. Our continental breakfast is set up daily by 7am. The restaurant opens at 6:30am. Our brochure indicates that these cinnamon rooms are available by 7am.
Sorry the guest did not find Morro Bay or our hotel to meet their expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    104
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
65
181
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We frequently visit Morro Bay for a couple of days at a time, and we always stay at the Bayfront Inn because it's always reasonably priced, very clean, and located walking distance from most of the local restaurants and Morro Rock. Sometimes we bring our puppy dog and they are very nice to dogs at the Bayfront Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This inn is right across from the rock on Embarcadero. Even though it is 'away' from Main St., you can easily walk to Farmer's Market and the shops nearby. As many have said already, the rooms are small. Also, the shower is small and the head is probably at 5 feet. Note that it is a '"European" style hotel and they put a duvet on your bed; and provide a flat sheet and blanket, but they are not placed on your bed unless you request it (or do it yourself). None pf these things were an issue for my husband or I, but I can see how it can be for others.

It was nice that they provided snacks and water in the mini-ref. Also, the rooms were clean and they provided ample towels. They allow pets and overall I didn't notice any disturbance from animals. However; the walls are THIN and I could hear doors slamming, TVs and people talking from our room.

Breakfast downstairs was skip-able, but use those free vouchers for cinnamon rolls next door. They were delicious! As other rooms in the area can be around $200, this basic place was quite a deal.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

An unpretentious inn, the last one on Embarcadero/Front St. before Morro Rock. Clean, comfortable, and good value for the money. Easy walk to harbor, the rock, good restaurants. Can hear the sea lions barking in the night, and see sea otters in the morning. Would definitely stay here again. Only negative was hearing the sound of the neighboring room's shower in the early morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our two dogs. We planned on staying three nights but we were enjoying ourselves SO much we stayed another night. The service was amazing, the cinnamon roles/food next store was delicious. Everyone was so friendly and the location is ideal. We highly recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: Its not luxury, but homey. We love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My wife, 6 year old son, my Border Collie, and myself stayed in room #9 March 18 & 19 2011. I had read every single review before I made the decision to reserve a room. Mostly great reviews with a few bad ones mixed in, and I really liked that the owners replied to the bad ones and explained their side. Knowing that the owners cared enough to respond to bad reviews is what made me finally decide on this hotel.

I was looking for a dog friendly hotel and this definately is. Upon entering the room, there were two dog bones wrapped in a ribbon, which my dog helped himself to and eat them both in about one minute. There was a watter bowl and a food bowl for him in the bathroom on a mat, and a blanket for him to lay on in the bedroom. Very nice touches indeed.

The first night my family went across the street for dinner and left our dog in a new portable crate in the room. An hour and a half when we returned there was a note on the door saying that our dog was bothering other guests and can not be left alone in the room. After explaining that he was in a crate and my understanding was that quite time was at 10pm, the owner appologized and simply felt bad for or dog. After that minor incident, I felt that the owner and night managers goal was to make up as happy as anyone possibly could...and they succeeded greatly!

This is not a motel where you feel like a stranger, they really make you feel like an important guest that is always welcomed back, even the dog who was called by name and offered more treats the whole time we were there. And we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

First off, we had to move our reservations 3 times due to work and they were so friendly about it.

We had out dog with us and when we showed up they had room all dog prepped including bowls and dog treats.

The women who run this place were so friendly it was like staying at a friend house.

The rooms were small but decorated very personally and felt like the owners guest rooms, complete with complimentary water and the best salt water taffy.

The view from the room was right across from Morro bay rock and very romantic.

Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quite romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.