We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embarcadero Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Embarcadero Inn to your Saves list
Embarcadero Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Sun-Thurs
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Little inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Nice rooms. Pleasant Continental Breakfast provided. Terrific view of Morro Bay. Reasonably priced, non corporate hotel. The owner says hello as you check in. About half an hour from Hearst Castle. Remember to have dinner in the local restaurants before 8:30 because they all seem to close early.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    113
    32
    7
    7
See reviews for
74
165
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 1 night stay at this motel. We booked it directly through Hotwire and got a fantastic rate for a fairly large room with a view of the Bay.

First, the positive...The view was beautiful from our room and the hotel is in a wonderful location in that it's walking distance from the 'scene.' The hotel staff were also very accomodating about letting us extend our check out 2 hours past the 11 a.m. checkout, which was much appreciated.

My main complaints about the motel is that it's outdated and showing signs of age. Think lacquer furniture..There was a VCR in the room too but come on..Who watches videos today, let alone brings them along when traveling?! My other complaint is that the walls were/are paper thin. It seems the beds back up to eachother on a shared wall, so unfortunately you can hear detailed conversations going on in the rooms next to you.

  • Liked — View was nice
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

This was our first stop on our family of four Spring break! It was a rainy cool day when we arrived, and I was a little nervous based on a few reviews doing my research. I was pleasantly surprised and all went well. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is an older property, but extremely well cared for, clean and pristine. The room was clean, we did not have much of a view, but we did not pay for the view. Beds were comfortable, we loved the free movie rentals, used the jacuzzi, and when we called for extra towels they brought them right up and would NOT take a tip! Breakfast worked well for us and even for the kids. The breakfast room has a wonderful view.

One feature that was very comforting is the security in the building. All doors and the elevator require a key to enter or use. We felt really safe and so did our two kids. (9 and 12)

We are fairly picky about where we stay. We travel regularly and for the value we felt like it was a great find!

  • Liked — As an older property goes, extremely well cared for and clean
  • Disliked — No wifi in the rooms, but available in the breakfast room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

We stayed one night at the Embarcadero Inn as we were travelling
along the coast and we loved it. We had a spotless, comfortable suite with a great kitchen, and an amazing view of Morro Rock.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno Ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Me and my sister and my daughter stayed their. I pick the place out of a traval book not sure what it would look like until we got there the place is out of this world, the book did give a lot of detail. The moment we got there it was a dream come true and I can't say or put words to discribes it. Must say we will be coming back again this year. And for thoses who did not like it miss the boat on this one. This is the place to get away for it all.Come one come all don't miss a place like this

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband in early March and we were shocked as to how we were treated. The hotel itself is very nice with nice views but the staff was something else. We checked in to the hotel and were not even greeted. The lady at the front desk was very short with us.

We asked questions about the area and dinning options and she just said there were several on the Embarcadero and they were all good. (not very informative from a so called local)

She was very short with us and did not explain any of the hotel ammenities. I had to find out from another guest that the hotel had breakfast in the morning (which was good) and they had movies you could rent.

Come to find out that this was the hotel manager that treated us this way. Yes this was a good hotel, but I would not recommend this place to travelers who want to be around friendly people.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrobayside, Manager at Embarcadero Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2007
We at the Embarcadero Inn take pride in the fact we stride for perfection in accomodating each and every guest. Our trained staff is very knowledgable about restaurants and places of interest. As the management I can tell you that we tried to contact this person who was so unhappy. We looked at each person who arrived on the date reported but had no one that matched the city given. We would have gladly tried to make things right if we were informed of any complaints during the stay. We look forward to meeting and greeting everyone. The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

View from our balcony was fantastic, staff was pleasant and helpful. Decent breakfast, good price for California. No charge for parking, right on the waterfront, fireplace in room to take off the morning chill. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — view
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embarcadero Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Inn

Address: 456 Embarcadero Blvd., Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Embarcadero Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1986, this completely smoke-free, 32-room hotel has all the amenities, including flat-panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Each room faces the bay, most with private balconies and many with fireplaces. Free deluxe FreshFirst continental breakfast and free WiFi through out the hotel. Several room types are available, including standard rooms with queen or king beds, suites and a 2BR Family Suite. A state-of-the-art stainless steel hot tub that can accommodate up to 8 people is a must-use during your stay. Secure access to rooms elevator and free, covered parking is available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embarcadero Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embarcadero Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.